BTD Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 8 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workspace
production welder (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNMarch 29, 2016
I learned from this job you don't get payed more to work unsafe and work faster. very clean welding shop very fast growing company
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company in the wrong region
Materials Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILFebruary 26, 2015
BTD bought Miller welding in 2008 and have no idea how to run it. The job itself isn't too bad. Good pay, nice benefits, but they believe the facility in Washington, IL should run the same as their facilities in Minnesota, which is a success. But their attempts at making the facility down here profitable have lead the whole place to ruin. They have laid off 2/3 of their workforce since September 2014. I would not recommend this place to a friend.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workaholic
Production (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNJune 30, 2015
who needs friends when you can work all the time. terrible work/life schedule. No chance for advancement unless your a friend of management. Hard work is not rewarded.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Outside Purchasing Representative (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILNovember 19, 2014
Loved working with my customers and co-workers was very fast paced
Typical day started and 7 am and ended at 3:30
Hardest part of the job was that management is based out of Minnesota
Most enjoyable was the people I meet and forged friendships with
Cons
management is based out of minnesota
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with-BTD management do not care
Cleanup Crew (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILDecember 29, 2013
when Miller owned the business, they cared about their employees. They did the best they could to keep people employed. But, when BTD took over they didn't understand the business or this area. The business is from Minnesoda. They didn't want to listen to anyone that knew what they were doing. Then it came down to my age-they let me go along with allot of people with 20+ yrs. That way they had newer hires and people they could pay less. I feel they felt I was too old to do my job. When I had many times surpassed the quota for that day and took pride in my work.
Pros
good supervisors & co workers
Cons
unfortunately many supervisors & co workers have quit
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Machinist (Current Employee) –  Detroit Lakes, MNMay 19, 2013
very reliable workplace with competitive wages. 8 hour work days mainly with some overtime and all three shifts. Big on Safety, Quality, and Efficiency.
Pros
friendly, good wages
Cons
mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Research & Development (Current Employee) –  Detroit Lakes, MNAugust 29, 2014
Great team to work with, Good family support, benefits are not as good as they used to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 8 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture