Find companies:
Buffets Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
315 reviews

Buffets Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was very fun
Server (Former Employee), Crystal, MNSeptember 14, 2014
A Typical day at work was very long. I didn't learn anything. Management was not very good. co-workers were very fun. the hardest part of my job was trying not to burn my self with the pots. the most enjoyable part of that job was talking to the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to earn experience
Carver (Current Employee), Milford, CTSeptember 9, 2014
If you enjoy working in a moderate paced environment and serving customers this is an ideal place to work. The staff has diversity and majority of the customers are pleasant and give decent tips. There are no benefits, no promotion in the company and no full time hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday's with guest
Food Prep (Former Employee), Fremont, CASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: free food from attended events
Cons: supplied uniforms
Over all it was a fare enough job to have as an income and also gave the ability to learn communication skills for any next up coming job you land. While working there i learned patience and strong awareness skills. The management varied on a daily bases because there was always a different team assigned as a group for each event attended and that gave – more... the employees the chance to deal with management in several ways you'll come across when working. Working alone is going to be hard and as you continue to do it you'll learn how to make the right decisions best fit for all actions. Being a good employee is always the hardest in general to myself for the fact you always want to be your best an show improvement to your fellow co-workers. I enjoy meeting people and learning something by observing as an result. There was always something to expect when working since everyday resulted in meeting new people from different places. Jobs turn into careers so keeping one or two is always a benefit for the future you see for yourself. Taking the time to remain with a job is only going to lead you in the right direction and that's why i put my best effort into any one i land so ill know exactly what it is i want to do long term. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A NICE FAMILY TO WORK FOR.
Prep Cook (Former Employee), Colonial Heights, VASeptember 7, 2014
Pros: learning alot of medical skills and treatments.
Cons: job ended, both patients passed away.
A TYPICAL DAY THERE WAS A VERY TECHNICAL DAY.I WAS TRAINED TO DO KIDNEY DIALYSIS TREATMENTS,INSULIN SHOTS,PASSED OUT MEDICATIONS,PREPARE MEALS FOR TWO PATIENTS,AS WELL AS LIGHT HOUSE KEEPING AND RUN ERRANDS,ALSO YOU WERE THEIR CONFIDANT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy fast paced serving job
Server (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILSeptember 6, 2014
Old Country Buffet was a different type of serving to learn. Mostly just picked up plates from finished tables and brought customers their drinks and, restocked buffet items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very low waged
Cashier (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: no benefits/low waged
Cons: nothing at all
Again I look forward to work everyday but its time for me to look for something meaning and advancement toward my self. I was there to long I need some change to my career not just job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work
Dishwasher/Food Prep (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 30, 2014
I worked a variety of jobs from factory to food industry seen's i was 21 years of age just out of high school. Do to family problem's I have been in and out of jobs. within the past 7 years i have been living in Tennessee off my grandfathers inheritance to me and taking care of my mother. I just recently moved back into Syracuse with my wife and my – more... family is here. Thank you for your time and consederation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Independence, MOAugust 27, 2014
Enjoyed working with hometown buffet it just wasn't enough hours nor pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place was a very horrible place to work.
Line Assistant (Former Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 26, 2014
Working at hometown buffet was disgusting, it was so unorganized and dirty. Coming into work you had no idea what you were going to be doing, there was always complaints on the floor and not enough people doing their job, the coworkers were racist and made it very uncomfortable working there. Managment was having relations with the underage workers, – more... it was a very foul enviroment. The best part of the job was the free lunch, the worst part was the coworkers being so rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prductive, busy, fun work place
Cashier/Floor Manager (Former Employee), Burbank, ILAugust 19, 2014
Working at Old Country Buffett was an fun experience, greeting customers, being respectful & helpful was my duties. Ive learned to be patient, team player, responsible. Management was very helpful, & understanding. Co-workers were team players, helpful, & respectful. The hardest part of the job is when the resturuant is full and there is an hour waiting – more... time. I enjoyed making customers happy and felt very welcome to Old Country Buffett. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wish they were still open
Line Cook (Former Employee), Orange, CTAugust 18, 2014
If hometown buffet was still open I t would still be my place of employement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Deptford, NJAugust 17, 2014
Pros: get along well with everyone
Cons: not enough hours; not enough pay for the work being asked to do; no opportunity for advancement
I enjoy working with all of my co-workers. Family oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Aurora, COAugust 15, 2014
typical day at work would be coming in getting your money and greeting the guests as they walk in. the hardest part about the job is the cleaning of the drink station at night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Meat Carver (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 11, 2014
Old country Buffet was one of my first jobs. I loved it. I first discovered working with people was one of my passions. very good experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy working environment
Cashier/line server/server (Former Employee), saint paul, mnAugust 11, 2014
Pros: working around a family orientated business
Cons: short breaks, low hours, and minimum wage
as a cashier I would ring in orders refund money keep my beverage percentage up by making sales, explain the receipt and keep the walk way clear/cleans. As a server I would make sure all food put out by me was fresh and hot. I would make cotton candy for the kids and carve up specialty meats for the adults. As a waitress I would listen and communicate – more... with customers to ensure that their stay was satisfying – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and a overall good starter kind of job
Dish Washer (Current Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: work hard and your good job shows
Cons: hours arent consistent
6 hour shifts, washing dishes nonstop always on my feet. The hardest part of the job is the schedule, I am currently looking for something with a consistent schedule or at least 25-40 hour work week, i'm good at anything I set my mind to so the type of work that is required of me can be from a wide variety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting New Customers
Cashier/Waiter (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNAugust 5, 2014
Every day I meet and greet customers and that what i enjoy the most bby helping them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where Careers go to die!!
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Texas City, TXAugust 2, 2014
I have been in the hospitality industry for over 28 years, and this company zaps your life, your dreams of a quality of life, and is a company that will channel thoughts into your mind of ending your hospitality career. The senior level executives are penny pinchers and will not authorize repairs or building upkeep until either someone is injured, made – more... sick, or a complaint is filed to the health department. In the 3 different locations I have worked or assisted at, there is rampant black mold growing, faulty equipment, and an attitude of doing the bare minimum to keep the operations clean. Those in the hospitality industry with a high sense of morals and ethics are advised to seek a career with a more solid company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
DISHWASHER/ PREP COOK/ LINE COOK (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no benefits
I REALLY ENJOYED WORKING AT HOMETOWN BUFFET, I LEARNED SO MUCH AS A BAKER, PREP COOK, AND LINE COOK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace.around lots wonderful people. great enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 21, 2014
Pros: discounts for family and friends for lunch and dinner
Cons: no healthcare provided
A typical day at work for me starts off as greeting wonderful customers getting to know them as they enter, I meet a new customer just about everyday. I've learned dealing with the public can be hard, that's the hardest part of the job but that's all apart of dealing with the public, the enjoyable part Is I love my job and the individuals I come across – more... everyday. I enjoy working with both my co-workers and mangers because I know I can come to anyone at anytime in need. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Buffets Inc

In addition to over 360 buffet restaurants, Buffets, Inc. and its subsidiaries operate Tahoe Joe's, a steakhouse restaurant chain. – Read more