Find companies:
Buffets Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
306 reviews

Buffets Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prductive, busy, fun work place
Cashier/Floor Manager (Former Employee), Burbank, ILAugust 19, 2014
Working at Old Country Buffett was an fun experience, greeting customers, being respectful & helpful was my duties. Ive learned to be patient, team player, responsible. Management was very helpful, & understanding. Co-workers were team players, helpful, & respectful. The hardest part of the job is when the resturuant is full and there is an hour waiting – more... time. I enjoyed making customers happy and felt very welcome to Old Country Buffett. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wish they were still open
Line Cook (Former Employee), Orange, CTAugust 18, 2014
If hometown buffet was still open I t would still be my place of employement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Deptford, NJAugust 17, 2014
Pros: get along well with everyone
Cons: not enough hours; not enough pay for the work being asked to do; no opportunity for advancement
I enjoy working with all of my co-workers. Family oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Aurora, COAugust 15, 2014
typical day at work would be coming in getting your money and greeting the guests as they walk in. the hardest part about the job is the cleaning of the drink station at night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional
Meat Carver (Former Employee), Rochester, NYAugust 11, 2014
Old country Buffet was one of my first jobs. I loved it. I first discovered working with people was one of my passions. very good experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy working environment
Cashier/line server/server (Former Employee), saint paul, mnAugust 11, 2014
Pros: working around a family orientated business
Cons: short breaks, low hours, and minimum wage
as a cashier I would ring in orders refund money keep my beverage percentage up by making sales, explain the receipt and keep the walk way clear/cleans. As a server I would make sure all food put out by me was fresh and hot. I would make cotton candy for the kids and carve up specialty meats for the adults. As a waitress I would listen and communicate – more... with customers to ensure that their stay was satisfying – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and a overall good starter kind of job
Dish Washer (Current Employee), Tracy, CAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: work hard and your good job shows
Cons: hours arent consistent
6 hour shifts, washing dishes nonstop always on my feet. The hardest part of the job is the schedule, I am currently looking for something with a consistent schedule or at least 25-40 hour work week, i'm good at anything I set my mind to so the type of work that is required of me can be from a wide variety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting New Customers
Cashier/Waiter (Former Employee), Maplewood, MNAugust 5, 2014
Every day I meet and greet customers and that what i enjoy the most bby helping them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where Careers go to die!!
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Texas City, TXAugust 2, 2014
I have been in the hospitality industry for over 28 years, and this company zaps your life, your dreams of a quality of life, and is a company that will channel thoughts into your mind of ending your hospitality career. The senior level executives are penny pinchers and will not authorize repairs or building upkeep until either someone is injured, made – more... sick, or a complaint is filed to the health department. In the 3 different locations I have worked or assisted at, there is rampant black mold growing, faulty equipment, and an attitude of doing the bare minimum to keep the operations clean. Those in the hospitality industry with a high sense of morals and ethics are advised to seek a career with a more solid company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE
DISHWASHER/ PREP COOK/ LINE COOK (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no benefits
I REALLY ENJOYED WORKING AT HOMETOWN BUFFET, I LEARNED SO MUCH AS A BAKER, PREP COOK, AND LINE COOK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace.around lots wonderful people. great enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 21, 2014
Pros: discounts for family and friends for lunch and dinner
Cons: no healthcare provided
A typical day at work for me starts off as greeting wonderful customers getting to know them as they enter, I meet a new customer just about everyday. I've learned dealing with the public can be hard, that's the hardest part of the job but that's all apart of dealing with the public, the enjoyable part Is I love my job and the individuals I come across – more... everyday. I enjoy working with both my co-workers and mangers because I know I can come to anyone at anytime in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time.
Dishwasher/Baker/Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Coon Rapids, MNJuly 19, 2014
Pros: usually pretty easy to request and receive days off outside of holidays, most of the managers are good, co-workers are great
Cons: corporate is worst ive ever had to deal with, they will cut anything they can including your wages and hours, constantly asking you to do things beyond your job description, not close to competitive wages, if you need to support anybody including yourself you wont make enough, every day you have off they will try to call you in, virtually impossible to call in sick or leave work sick, rarely get breaks
If your in high school and just need a first job to get some experience this is a good choice, but if you need to support yourself or anybody else its not worth working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow restaurant
Baker (Former Employee), Redding, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: growth opportunites
Very slow restaurant at times and to many workers, so lots of people standing around and management hiding in their offices. Sanitary issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job!
Cashier (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJuly 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, great staff
Cons: little room for advancement
Old Country Buffet is a wonderful place to work. They allow flexible schedules, your co workers are the absolute best, and the management is friendly and willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, great co-workers, and understanding
Line Server, Cashier, Server Assistant (Current Employee), Merced, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: reliable co-workers, communication and priority skills
Cons: hard to stock when busy
A typical day at work consist of filling food on the food bars and salad bars, provide customer service, clean, sanitize, and store foods properly.
While working with this company, I learned how to successfully manage my time, the ability to work in groups and individually, adapt to new environments and changed menus, alternate priorities, and work – more... efficiently under pressure. Furthermore, I learned how to speak my mind when necessary, ask questions when unsure, and to have a positive behavior.
My co-workers are awesome. They are very helpful, understanding, and reliable. Their communication is excellent.
The hardest part of the job is to keep the food bars full and floors clean when busy and under pressure.
The most enjoyable part of the job is working with not only co-workers but reliable friends as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive place to work
Utility Specialist (Former Employee), Forsyth, ILJuly 9, 2014
A typical day included washing dishes, cleaning floors, taking out the trash. I learned how to work hard while I was working at olive garden as well as the importance of time management. I had great co-workers I got along with everyone and made friends with a lot of people. The hardest part of the job was sometimes working hours past closing time. The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was having the independence to get the work done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Computer tech (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAJune 29, 2014
good people good customers very good place to shop and reasonable prices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain skills. Often are cross trained in multiple areas. Great staff!
CASHIER (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 26, 2014
Working at Country Buffet has given me the opportunity to learn and work on skills. I enjoy that employees are often cross trained in positions such as: cashier, server, line server, cook, etc. Co-workers are great and always willing to lend a hand when help is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good
Line Worker (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNJune 22, 2014
great job
fast paced enviornment
great managers
hardest part of the job is the cleanup after hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Server
Server/ Cashier (Former Employee), Rockford, ILJune 20, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: getting messy
During your shift you make sure that the tables are clean for the customers to continue eating or to for customers to sit. You make sure your area is cleaned not only on the tables but your bust area and the floor. We get customers what they need if they ask. I learned how to juggle up to 50 tables at one time and how to properly handle a server tray. – more... The management was always kind and curtious and were willing to help out when needed. The workers there were always smiling and great to work with. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Buffets Inc

In addition to over 360 buffet restaurants, Buffets, Inc. and its subsidiaries operate Tahoe Joe's, a steakhouse restaurant chain. – Read more