Builders FirstSource Employee Reviews

Found 216 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Panel Assembler (Former Employee) –  MarylandJanuary 16, 2017
Panel assembler laying sheets of plywood cut to specification on pre-built houses for clients

Management were very linient
Co-workers friendly
the look on clients face when the houses were completed was priceless
I learned how to help clients get a home
Pros
The clients look on there face
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Buda, TXJanuary 11, 2017
Very stressful job, the hours are long and if you have any kids you will miss plenty of time with them. Mangers do what's best for company very little for their employees no raises or bouneses, and please don't get sick because it's the end of the world. They ask so much of you with nothing inn return and you make enough money so don't ask for a raise.
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Bad mangers
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive Love & Company
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Taft, FLJanuary 5, 2017
Find love and productive company never had any problems with this company I was injured on the job company came out to the hospital and showed love this company is very family oriented
Pros
401k paid vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was let go with no explanation
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Brooksville, FLDecember 8, 2016
good place to work if you dont make too much money was let go with no explnation after working long hours for five years. at least they gave me coupon for a free turkey or ham
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Assistant Supervisor - EWP Cut Line (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, NCDecember 3, 2016
With the housing market as it is, this place is OK to work. Job security is not always there.

A typical day is dealing with customers.
I learned nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Punta Gorda - Production Foreman (Former Employee) –  Punta Gorda, FLDecember 1, 2016
The Company is large and stable. The pay is decent. The overtime is frequent. Management is courteous. The work is physically demanding. requires knowledge in carpentry
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Worked on the yard (Former Employee) –  Doraville, GANovember 24, 2016
Nice work environment but I was terminated with no reason given to as of why,an I met hard working people that have been there 2 - 4 years and are stills temp.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pressure tense enviroment
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 16, 2016
Probuild was acquired by BFS and the personnel left behind are losing their jobs, Therefore, It was a high tension, hostile work environment. Submitted bi-weekly payroll for over 10k employees. Updated personal information, commissions. The hardest part of the job was trying to get everyone on the same page to achieve one common goal , getting people paid. The best part of the job was the people that worked around me. Friendly, and very knowledgeable. There is nothing more to add. There was no support on the manager side, which made the job that much harder to due. Very little communication with in the group, I have nothing else to add
Pros
The People I worked with
Cons
The fact that to them the end was near and they no longer cared
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, nice environment
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GANovember 4, 2016
It was a great place to work, the management made sure if there were any difficulties and problems that they were taken care of in a timely and professional manner. The staff was great and very pleasant to work with. The pay was manageable. I enjoyed working there.
Pros
Managers bring in lunch for employees at time. paid vacation
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Employee (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 27, 2016
Very Poor Management. They Don't care about you, they just care about company more than the employees. The management keeps putting down their employees and say disrespectful things about you. Very hostile environment.
Cons
Lack of structure, oversight, and accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Builders First Source was fine
Inside Sales Coordinator and was able (Former Employee) –  Pelham, ALOctober 18, 2016
On a typical work day you're basically combing through emails and scheduling shipments for that day while answering phone calls and helping walk-in customers
Pros
Hour lunches and company discounts.
Cons
Coordinators don't have much of a voice to be heard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and staff.
Administrative Assistant - Credit Department (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 10, 2016
This was a great company to work for. I liked the fast pace and demands of staying organized and efficient to keep up with my duties. However, this fast pace changed after a few months of employment due to bad economy and the loss of customer accounts; which lead to several employees, including myself being laid off.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Business slow down due to the economy and customer account losses.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good respectful work
Builder/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Hillsborough, NCOctober 7, 2016
Easy to do work, hours are great and security of the job is what I was looking for. Good people who help you when help is needed. Great team work everyday to get things done.
Pros
Fun work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was a little unorganized but the bond between fellow employees what's strong. we had great team work together
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Newark, DESeptember 20, 2016
Management seemed to be young and inexperienced ,but they did work well with us on trusting our intuition. I would apply again though.
Pros
Grape benefits and over time.
Cons
Inexperienced management.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this employer
Panel Home Designer (Former Employee) –  Emmitsburg, MDSeptember 13, 2016
I went to school for AutoCadd and got this position. Always wanted to be a draftsman. In 2008 when the world took a dive, so did my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work . garbage managment.
yard worker (Former Employee) –  Arlington, WASeptember 10, 2016
STAY AWAY. DON'T DO IT. Better off in fast food .Management is horrible. They Don't care about you, they just care about company more than the employees. Very little training, and you get yelled at for not coming into the job knowing everything (even though it's entry level.) They'll write you up for anything they can, including using the bathroom for too long. No, I'm not joking.
Pros
none.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company if you like slow paced good ol boy style
CDL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Ridgeland, SCSeptember 7, 2016
This job is for the few select people who are friends of friends and if you are an outsider they find ways to make your job difficult and find reasons to lay people off.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just to much drama
Glass Handler (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 29, 2016
To much drama and it is kinda difficult to get there from where iam staying its boring its not hard work it just something i like to do i rather be going all over houston in a company truck working getting my hand dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a solid company to work for
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 28, 2016
Not a very cohesive relationship between departments and just not a good fit for me sitting behind a computer almost all day.
Pros
regular working hours
Cons
sitting at a computer all day
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone should have to go
Customer service (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 25, 2016
Teaches respect, discipline and order. I recommend the Army to all, there is great satisfaction in serving your country.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Builders FirstSource. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 219 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.0