Find companies:
BUPA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

BUPA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUPA is not a good place to work.
housekeeper (Current Employee), ManchesterOctober 4, 2014
Pros: work mates
Cons: bad pay, long hours, no sick pay.
I used to be a senior carer but due to personal health I had to step down, now I'm a housekeeper and the job is hard. I have really bad knees and now they got me working 10 hour shifts without sitting down except on my break. Minimum wage. No sick pay. Can't even request a day off when you need one... I'm looking for different jobs. I will not stay – more... longer than I have to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day to day role
Deputy Sales Manager (Current Employee), StainesOctober 3, 2014
• Managing and organising my time smartly for maximum efficiency
• The ability to keep myself and my team calm in a highly regulated, competitive and high pressure sales environment.
• Leading a team of front-line sales representatives for new and existing business.
• Worked in an inbound and outbound team with the ability to exceed targets on both – more... teams.
• Targeted on sales, cross sales, conversion ( Leads x Quote to Sale), work time and dials per hour – exceeding all
• Ability to more than often close sales with a first call resolution
• Matching products to an individual’s needs
• Ability to provide world class customer service and treat customers fairly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Registered home manager (Former Employee), MidlandsSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: private health insurence
Cons: training is poor and delivered in house
No support is given to the manager or the team.
The provider takes no responsibility and tries to blame nursing staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company i have worked for!
Care assistant (Former Employee), North eastSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: long hours, poor pay, badly managed, no sick pay, no compassion, complete lack of communication
the bupa care home i worked in certainly didnt care for the care home itself poorly maintained. bad communication between day staff/management and night staff/management. pay is ridiculous, no sick pay, couldnt care less about the staff or the residents they will let you run yourself to ground working stupid hours for stupid pay. The worst part is definatly – more... management there horrible and carless people. I lasted 2 months!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Care Assistant (Current Employee), Ayrshire, SCTSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: long hours
I enjoy working in the nursing home but become to stressful and can be very hard working in the I do all personal care and continence need and helping to dress the elderly with it some times not a nice place to be it is very stressful place to be assistant with meal times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bupa, Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee), SalfordSeptember 3, 2014
Opportunities in the majority of departments to progress.
Great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client centered and a fun atmosphere
personal carer (Former Employee), Adelaide, SASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: staff get rewarded with personal best draw
Cons: the loss of residents
Working for Bupa was a very positive rewarding task. Everyday i felt that i was valued and listened to, Management have an open door policy and are willing to help with any situation whether it be work related or private.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have gained a wide variety of knowledge during my time with the company.
Manager (Current Employee), ENGAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, free parking higher management support, sick pay
Cons: hours over contracted hours eg 60 hour week, nurse cover
the only reason i am looking elsewhere is because i now wish to reduce my working hours and cannot do this in the position i hold.I have a very good team of nurses and care staff with the support of a good ancillary team plus administrator.Hardest part of the job for me is taking time away from the service group.I wish to get back to nursing the client – more... group, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUPA
care assistant (Current Employee), Leeds, ENGAugust 7, 2014
Pros: talking to the residents
Cons: losing a resident.
i love my job at bupa, it is a calm enviroment.you can sit and talk to the residents. i had training for everything and i learned so much. i get on well with my co workers. i think the hardest part of the job was losing a resident when they pass away
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a carer looking after people
Bupa nursing home, care assistant (Former Employee), Devizes, ENGAugust 4, 2014
I didnt like working for Bupa the management was not intrested in what happen to the clients i put in a complaint about the workers which was solved in the end but i left didnt like the way they treated people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee), Cobham, ENGAugust 2, 2014
Pros: free lunches, paid break, free training
Cons: long hours, poor transportation facility.
It is really good place to work . Whole team is really good very co-operative . It is real fun to work with team .

This place taught me how to deal with extreme cases of dementia .

Hard part of the job is dealing with resident when they get aggressive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Health Care Assistant (Current Employee), Oldham, ENGJuly 30, 2014
bupa is a ok place to work, lots of training and learn new things, management ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over worked and underpaid ...poor management
Chef (Former Employee), GlostershireJuly 25, 2014
Cons: some residents relatives treat staff as servants
Bupa is not what use to be ,staff keep living ,and they advertizing every day for jobs ,not the best place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vile company
Care assistant (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGJuly 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: long hours, poor pay, badly managed, no sick pay, no compassion, complete lack of communication, corruption, putting profits before patients!
Hated this place ridiculous pay, badly managed, bupa are only interested in profit!!! End of! They say on tv it's a non profit company? B***s***!! Why do they charge over £600 a week for residents to live there then? They are a joke! No bonus no weekend pay no sick pay!? No nothing!!?? 3 days compassionate leave? it's discusting!! liars is a understatement – more... , So sad they don't care about any staff any residents! Expect you to kill yourself with awlful wages?! So corrupt it's unbelievable!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
local pub
Care assistant bupa liverpool (Current Employee), Liverpool, ENGJuly 14, 2014
I enjoyed working here as it had its regular local customers and all the staff I worked with was lovely and also the managerment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working environment
Work Experience (Former Employee), Derby, ENGJuly 12, 2014
A typical day at work would involve environmental monitoring plate reading, micro ID and possibly QC of chemicals used. My co-workers were all extremely helpful, even alongside attending to their own tasks.
I learned the above mentioned QA laboratory tasks alongside a few others such as sanitisation challenge testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for
Care Assistant (Current Employee), Netherton, ENGJuly 3, 2014
You're constantly scrutanised, bullied and ridiculed.
The residents needs aren't considered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, interesting and pleasant
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Salford Quays, ENGJuly 2, 2014
Pros: welcoming environment and interesting
Cons: long hours and sitting at a desk for a long time
I spent a week at Bupa Salford Quays for my work experience. My role involved moving around into different departments to get experience working in various parts of a large business, opening post, sorting & scanning, photocopying, indexing claims using computer software and other general office duties.
My co - workers were helpful and friendly - I was – more... always welcomed with a smile each morning.
The hardest part of the job was working long hours and sitting at a desk for a long time.
The job was enjoyable as it allowed me to meet many different people and have a taster of many different jobs that are involved in running a large and successful business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VERY SATISFIYING JOB
HEALTHCARE ASSISTANT/ (Current Employee), Dartford, ENGJune 29, 2014
Pros: knowing you have made a difference to someone
Cons: long hours
PAY IS NOT BRILLIANT, BUT ENJOY MY WORK AS A CARE ASSISTANT, WORK WITH A GREAT TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Customer Services Officer (Former Employee), London, ENGJune 4, 2014
BUPA is a private medical insurance company operating in the UK.

About BUPA

BUPA is the UK market leader in health and care with a strong international presence. It has 8 million customers in 180 countries – Read more