Bureau of Reclamation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Civil Engineer (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 26, 2016
Pros:
Flexible hours
Opportunity to work from home

Cons:
Lack of mentoring and training
Lack of managerial skills by supervisors
No opportunity for bonuses or awards with monetary value
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Officer
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTSeptember 10, 2015
I worked with a variety of employees and managed the Human Resources Division for this governmental organization. It was a wonderful place to work. The managers (of which I was one) were very supportive and work was always challenging and rewarding. The red tape and politics were expected, due to it being a governmental agency. But most things had a work around and with good support staff, the job got done.

I enjoyed the job and workers.
Pros
Great workplace and atmosphere, good managers and coworkers
Cons
Sometimes tedious and frustrating due to government red tape
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hydroelectric Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Coulee Dam, WAJanuary 28, 2016
One of the better agencies I have worked for through my civil service career. Diverse work force, great training, great benefits.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Out of state work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fisheries work
Biological Technician (Current Employee) –  Glendive, MTSeptember 25, 2015
I would electroshocking and trammel nets for Saugers and Green Sturgeons. We surgically placed radio telemetry units into these fish in order to track their movement and distribution throughout the Yellowstone River.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Assistant Intern
Engineering Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 10, 2015
The average day consisted of general admin, REDS digital drawing database uploading, drafting using Auto CAD for mechanical engineers, filling, use of Microsoft word, power point,excel, and outlook. Worked directly with engineers in management of engineering drawings.
Pros
treated fairly, decent pay for intern, once sufficently trained little to no supervision
Cons
internship ended
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy at times
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMay 5, 2015
Worked there for 6 months doing a internship for school as a file clerk. The staff at that time were nice and willing to show me the rope.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary p.t.
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Boulder City, NvMarch 19, 2015
worked there for two summers on someone's vacation learned about the dam and lake mead, receptionist work, co-workers were nice, not being able to work full time. able to work as a Sr.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people and good experiences with the workplace and location.
Biological Technician (Current Employee) –  Socorro, NMMay 26, 2014
A typical day of work start fairly early, around 5am, and ends from noon to 2pm depending on site. I learned how to maneuver through vegetation in order to get to a waypoint from the GPS, learned to follow specific protocol for the Southwestern Willow Flycatcher and the Yellow-billed Cuckoo, and learned a lot about the wildlife and birds that live in the areas I worked. The management during my job was done well. There were overall leaders and leaders of each crew so things were kept in order. The hardest part of my job was learning how to maneuver through the thick vegetation in the sites. The most enjoyable part of my job would be the people I work with as well as the fact that the job was always outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division Head Secretary
Head Secretary (Former Employee) –  Boise IdahoMarch 1, 2014
Answer multi-line phones, type correspondence, payroll, making travel arrangements, scheduling and setting up for meetings, large and small. Attending public meetings and collecting data to present at these meetings.

I learned more about the ins and outs of the government and the workings of their employees. I learned a tremendous amount about the Safety of Dams.

You had your good managers and not so good ones. I was lucky to work for several great people.

I was the secretary for 80 engineers and made many great friends.

The most enjoyable part of this job was the people, we were a family and took care of each other.
Pros
great job and people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like walking on egg shields
EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Byron, CAMarch 27, 2015
Tension filled with lousy management. No operation support. Fishing for the Biologist was great and lots of of wild life
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position working with GIS data
GIS Mapping Specialist - Contract (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTMarch 19, 2012
I enjoyed getting the chance to work with the Bureau of Reclamation in Billings MT. It was really hard for me to get laid off after I completed my contract. I have been trying to stay in touch with my boss for the possibility in a position becoming available.
Pros
great experience
Cons
temporary, no benefits, low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job but Management was weak.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  L:ake Shasta CityNovember 14, 2014
It was a term position. They changed our schedule from a 4/10 to a 5/8 without any regards on how it would affect the employess. The guys I worked with were great. Pay was low. Challenges and growth in the work place lacked.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goverment Postion
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durango ColoradoJanuary 18, 2015
Great nice people to work with. Lots of learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Secretary / Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 27, 2014
I have been there four and a half years, and there is no room for growth.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no room fro growth
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Student Trainee (Former Employee) –  Denver Federal CenterMarch 17, 2013
This was a very professional environment where a lot of customer interaction was required. Coworkers were great to work with and fun. I learned a lot of desktop repair and desktop support skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 8, 2013
Overall, this is a great place to grow and receive career development and advancement.
Pros
government job
Cons
subject to congress passing a budget and being funded
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Administration & Office Support (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 27, 2014
Managing the environmental commitment program was great to help improve database and spreadsheet skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun outdoor job
Biological Science Technician (Former Employee) –  Socorro NMDecember 9, 2012
studied birds on rio grande. lots of being outside, early mornings, good group to work with and fun times for a summer job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with friendly people
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Boulder City, NVJune 2, 2013
I loved it there! I made a lot of friends. I learned I could take initiative and how rewarding it was.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive hard
Plastering Student (Former Employee) –  Taos, NMJanuary 15, 2013
long hard days working out in the sun work with good people. make sure you are able to keep up with work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture