Find companies:
Burke Williams Day Spa
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Burke Williams Day Spa Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities, No good management, No good benefits
Guest Service (Former Employee), HendersonJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: guests are great to talk to
Cons: no benefits, high school like atmosphere, no advancemen, a fun, open, and creative company culture is not encouraged. so many idiotic rules, rules that larger companies don't have. high turn over, no one is happy working their for too long. most current employees are looking for other jobs
The management is extremely high school. I learned that if I want to advance in this company I need to go elsewhere, . Love my coworkers they are great bunch of people. The hardest part of this job is dealing with the supremely idiotic rules that are in place, that most larger companies don't have, but if they did you would be more able to understand – more... it. There is an extremely high attrition rate, most people quit in training or soon after coming to the floor as the training is very inadequate.

Benefits are sadly lacking. When interviewing for positions they will choose the person they like the most and not the most qualified candidates. Management is very unprofessional, they have you say the Burke Williams motto everyday during training like the it's the pledge of allegiance while saying we are all about PRIDE & GRACIOUSNESS. No where is graciousness seen, especially when it comes to the management.

II would not recommend this company to an enemy as a job prospect, let alone an actual friend. There's not a good company culture most adult who have been in the work place would expect a lot more and would be extremely disappointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities, No good management, No good benefits
Guest Service (Former Employee), HendersonJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: guests are great to talk to
Cons: no benefits, high school like atmosphere, no advancemen, a fun, open, and creative company culture is not encouraged. so many idiotic rules, rules that larger companies don't have. high turn over, no one is happy working their for too long. most current employees are looking for other jobs
The management is extremely high school. I learned that if I want to advance in this company I need to go elsewhere, . Love my coworkers they are great bunch of people. The hardest part of this job is dealing with the supremely idiotic rules that are in place, that most larger companies don't have, but if they did you would be more able to understand – more... it. There is an extremely high attrition rate, most people quit in training or soon after coming to the floor as the training is very inadequate.

Benefits are sadly lacking. When interviewing for positions they will choose the person they like the most and not the most qualified candidates. Management is very unprofessional,

I would not recommend this company to someone that I didn't like to work at this company. There's not a good company culture most adult who have been in the work place would expect a lot more and would be extremely disappointed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
THEY DONT CARE, THIS PLACE SUCKS
Guest Services (Current Employee), Henderson, NVJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
I work there still. This place doesn't offer anything. Nothing but health insurance, they offer dental but you pay 100% of it. THAT'S IT! I cant tell you how many people have quit since they have opened the new contact center here in HENDERSON. Management has quit, employees, people not even out of training have quit, the only trainer quit. You cant – more... move up unless you suck up to the craziest managers around!! They run this place like the army and no one cares about you or any issues. I hate going to work because I have to deal with so much bs daily. Something new everyday, new rule new something everyday. RUN RUN RUN far away from this place. They make it seem like the greatest thing since slice bread--ITS NOT!! No whatever it says on the website is wrong,They act like they care and act like they are your friends but they are all fake females around!!! "We are family" , ALL LIES!! If you want a paycheck for $11 bucks an hr then apply – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work until the economy tanked.
Massage Tech (Former Employee), Orange, CADecember 7, 2012
Pros: free spa use. great co-workers who look out for each other.
Cons: they pay is low for the price they charge. management will throw you under the bus.
The economy really affected this company because they did many paycuts. Generally, people left good the tips but then the tips even went down because the services are so expensive. They only pay you $15 per massage when they charge over $100 for the massage! They also became really hard on therapists when thier were any 'discounts' or complaints from – more... clients. They have one of the highest employee turn-over rates I have ever seen, for a good reason. You won't make enough money to live. They used to care about thier employees but they don't anymore. I think they are just trying to survive right now. I wonder how much longer they will stay in business. Honestly, I'am surprized they are still in business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It served its purpose
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Santa Monica, Ca.December 3, 2012
I loved working at Burke Williams for the time I was employed. I worked with great people and had great clients. However with 2 company pay-cuts within 18 months, I was worth more than what the company was willing to pay out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Spa Attendant (Former Employee), San Jose, CANovember 27, 2012
Pros: free spa services
Cons: not enough hours
i enjoy workin with people hands on and the women are in a very relaxed environment which makes it easy to do ur job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible general manager who only cares about himself
Distributor/Customer Care (Former Employee), CANovember 26, 2012
Pay isn't great. Your they over work you and pay you crape. General manager doesn't like when you talk to.co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it seems
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), HendersonNovember 8, 2012
Pros: simple job with pleasant callers.
Cons: poor management, poor training, inconsistent leadership.
BE AWARE - the only benefits offered for the Contact Center in Henderson is Medical. The company DOES NOT offer Dental, 401k, or even paid time off - NO sick time or vacation time. They tell you there are spa benefits, however, all the locations are in CA so you have to be there to use them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Spa company: Results Oriented, Great coworkers!
Corporate Hiring Manager (Current Employee), Los AngelesOctober 16, 2012
Pros: family owned business- close contact to direct supervisors, executives
Cons: wish there were more opportunities for financial growth and hard work recognized
This is a great company to work for. I have been with the company for almost 3 years, and in that time was able to successfully grow into a leadership position at the corporate office. I began, at the most entry level position available- a seasonal employee- I worked first hand as a front desk associate and spa concierge, catering to our clients' needs. – more... The environment is fast-paced, fun, challenging and keeps you on your toes. No two days are the same at the spa, but everyday is a new adventure- which was a lot of fun. I learned a lot about working with people and providing elevated customer service. Great opportunities to shine, IF you are willing to step up. Growth potential recognized!! I was able to grow into a managment role at the spa facility before moving to the corporate office- all within 1 year. In my current position, I am incredibly fortunate because I work directly with the executive management team and have close contact with the decision makers in the company, many of which have been with the company from the get go (close to 30 years ago!!). The atmosphere is creative, organic, yet structured. Great coworkers along the way.. fun, creative types and a good mix beetween "corporate" and "ma & pa" small business. Elegant and professional Customer service is at the root of absolutely everything in this company. Overall, I've been able to find a great fit here, and can say that I have some direct input in the shaping of the future of this great spa company. – less

January 7, 2013

You have a plush, cushy job at Corporate~of course you're going to review the Company well. Nobody wants to work there since they cut the commission.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Front Desk (Former Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 28, 2012
not to mention driving all the way to culver city for training for 3 weeks. also was told there would be a "set" schedule....no such thing. huge joke. dont waste your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Wellness Program
Front Desk/ Guest Services (Current Employee), Culver CitySeptember 17, 2012
If management was on the same page this would be your ideal workplace the most enjoyable is talking to all sorts of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to grow and learn
Management (Current Employee), Los AngelesSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: growth opportunity, beautiful enviroment, friendly staff, spa use and free monthly massage
Cons: pay is average, little support for new managers, parking, company has not opened new spas in awhile, major salary gap between middle managemen and upper
Burke Williams has been a part of my life for almost a decade.

I appreciate all the obsticals and challenges that I have encountred through the years. They have made me stronger and more resilient in the face of hard times. I have to say that greatness takes work, dedication, commitment and vision. If you don't have those qualities than you can't work – more... for Burke Williams.

I have been in multiple positions, first as a technician and then as a manager... each position had it's obsticals and taught me something about myself and the business. I came to Burke Williams to learn as much as I could. When I stop learning then I will move on.

I truely beleive that attitude and intension is very important to succeed in this company.

There could always be improvements in any business, Burke Williams has made many changes..some good and others not but in my experience they have tried to learn from their mistakes. – less

May 21, 2014

Just curious, what do you think has kept you there for 10 years? And what type of support would you like to see for new managers?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very positive place to work
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Orange, CASeptember 2, 2012
Pros: staff was able to massage each other, and staff was able to bring in private clients into the spa
Cons: health benefits
The staff and management were awesome. We taught each other new skills and kept each other positive. The management was supportive and always there to solve any problems. I loved working for Burke Williams
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really bad culture to work in
Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 29, 2012
Pros: fellow non upper management staff very friendly.
Cons: upper management are a group of friends playing business, they have no real knowledge of how to run the place, company just trys things out as they go, they create a culture in which growth is not promoted and the status quo reigns supreme.
A lack of training, low pay and a high school crowd like upper management that likes keeping you in the dark regrading everything made this the worst employement experience ever. Run by friends trying to keep their positions and the companies money in their pockets without a care for the growth of the company or you.If your not a therapist do not waste – more... your time working here, you can do better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent part time job for full time students
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2012
Pros: managers are all mid twenties to mid thirties, decent employee discount (40% off services/products)
Cons: 3 different general managers in 9 months, high employee turn over rates, issues with facility (ac, damaged jets in tub, old jacuzzi)
At the front desk you regularly interact with people of all ages, occupations, and personality types. Incentives are offered for membership sales and product sales. Health insurance is very affordable - but you can only sign up 3 times per year: at your 90 days, at your 6 months, or on your one year anniversary. Management does not send out memos or – more... emails reminding you of the dead line - no extensions to sign up for health insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it!!
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Culver City, CAJune 21, 2012
Pros: lots of hours are given to those that want it, their training is extensive and meticulous.
Cons: everything else
When I was first hired there, it was a pretty good place to work and in the year and a half I was there, it went ALL DOWN HILL. Management slowly took incentives away from employees and allowed absolute power to corrupt absolutely!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Santa Monica, CAMay 22, 2012
Pros: relaxing environment
Cons: bad parking
General practice of swedish and deep tissue massage and body treatments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some Good, some not so good... depends on what you can withstand
massage therapist (Former Employee), Orange, CAMay 20, 2012
Pros: extremely supportive staff, all supplies and work shirts provided, use of spa, beautiful philosophy and theme, can bring in personal clients on discount
Cons: out of touch middle directors, barely enough time to wash hands and use restroom, expected to do "firmer" massages all the time
The ambiance, philosophy, training, all supplies provided, and some benefits, and fringe benefits, (like use of the spa), are welcoming. Free bananas in the staffroom were a plus. Available computers for us to check our schedules/clients were provided, expected to be used, and helpful. We could (at that time) bring in our former personal clients on – more... a discount, which I never used, but served others well. Use of the spa and one free massage a month was a plus. I only used that once, because after my shift, I really just wanted to go home.
It would have been nice to have baffling to absorb outside noise, or other clients' conversations; sometimes we could hear conversations, and some clients think it's our fault, or we were expected to turn up the music or take action, which of course we are going to try to do if it's a problem; occasionally, we have to knock on the door or wall to give a friendly reminder that voices are to be kept low. The other clients can think that is stifling... and results in a problem. I was trained to give massages, not to be an ombudsman, but we were catapulted into that position anyway. More stress on us. No extra pay. Here's another story for you: One very busy Saturday, where the men's side was turned into the "totally silent spa" and the whole spa only open to women until about 3pm, I was making a quick beeline to either use the restroom or pickup my next client. A lady stopped me and asked me to get another pair of slippers for her since hers were too small. I wasn't sure where the shoes were, since I was not a spa attendant, but summing it all up, I told her that I'd be happy to quickly get the spa attendant for her, and that I'd be right back. "But why can't you get them for me?" she wailed. I immediately asked her for her shoe size, got a reply, and turned to go find someone... fast. It was then that her friend realized that my name tag stated I was a massage therapist, and chided her friend, and tried to stop me. I countered "No it's okay, really..., I'll be right back"... figuring I'd be late anyways, so I may as well do the right thing and enjoy myself in the process. I went to the usual women's side, thankfully got a kind exchange from a sweet attendant (they really all were), and headed back. The ladies were full of apologies, I told them no problem, just wanted them to have a wonderful experience, but so was I full of apologies for being late when I went to greet my client. Politeness, doing what's right, and giving our best were always the rules of the day. Like Disney. Regardless. The clients are usually clueless as to US and what our lives are like. Again, no extra pay. Just be aware of it.
We were often trained in special techniques, and came equipped already with certificates and licenses in massage; the daily management staff was VERY supportive and friendly, but the higher directors (not the owners) lacked proficiency and understanding of day-to-day workings (like the stories above), such as the fact that 10 minutes between clients is never the norm or enough for us to rejuvenate and return refreshed for the next client to get our "best" or for us to feel centered; it is more like 2 minutes, a rushed 2 minutes, because clients who are now very relaxed, and are there to saunter through the day, cannot and should not be expected to jump off the table at the end of the massage; they saw little need to change that to be respectful to us as therapists or people. I was really shocked at that ignorant disposition after the niceness that welcomed me in. As massage therapists who are physically working, we are expected to take care of our bodies, and are taught in school to be careful, stretch in between, and drink water, thus need to have time to do these things, especially use the restroom, in between, but there was barely enough time to do that, let alone wash our hands, which is a CDC requirement. There is antibacterial hand gel in the rooms, which we were told can replace the washing of hands, with which I disagree. In fact, it burns the skin, and can cause worse problems in the long run. If I was a client, I would want that person to use soap and water before working on me. Because of the beating my hands took from heat, oil, soaps, and chemicals, my skin broke out in a rash of dots in certain places, not to mention being stressed at not being able to go to the bathroom if it was going to run me late, and being hungry and thirsty. Even though there were different levels of massages, we were expected to always give a "firmer" massage, and some clients would switch it up on us and ask for it deeper and try to not pay for it. We could inform them it was more, but sometimes, they squabbled. It was very trying and tiring.
Getting back to nourishment, I tried to eat a good meal before or grab a bite of protein bar in between, but it is just not practical, because on the busy days (which were a blessing for the business overall), there was no time to even breathe. I saw fellow therapists eating burgers at 8:15 am. One lady did Cokes all day. That's not very healthy, and does not lead to wellness, and here we are catering in the wellness business. What a satire. Add to that the changing of sheets and prepping the room for the next client. If it is switch time between shifts, that adds to the rush. It ran smoothly, but only because we "ran", i.e., moved our butts to make it happen. It was very stressful. Thankfully, we all did our best to be supportive. The dim rooms and environment mimic dusk, which cause the body to produce melatonin, which in turn causes sleepiness, so we were often tired. I would try to remedy that by spending time outside or in the bright break area if I did not have a massage.
Because we all shared and understood the same predicament, we as "groundwork" staff were EXTREMELY supportive of one another, and everyone really pitched in to make the whole work smoothly and like clockwork. Because of proprietary B.W. training before our job began, we were all on the same page when it came to etiquette towards clients and mostly each other.
Another thought: I was paid at least $5 more per massage at another company I had worked for in the past. An additional thing I think was funny/odd is that they began an incentive program where we would be paid more under certain circumstances (like a repeat client within a specified time frame); most of us did very well, in fact so well, that they figured they were paying us too much, (as we are motivated to work well anyways); so then they scaled it back. "Tsk, tsk, can't earn too much..." was the message. I wouldn't want the company to go broke, but it was a test for them, as much for us, maybe a test to see our performance under such circumstances. I was grateful to be doing the massages and have the work, in spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, but I think they could have paid more. Not everyone tips, because the charge overall is expensive and mainly goes into overhead, and some clients believe that we are paid well and do not need tips, which is false.
If you share the same name with an existing staff, you are expected to choose a different name from theirs, like a nickname or something, so tips can go to the right people. And with tips, it is trust, which can be broken. I wonder how many tips don't get to the right people, because the front desk staff may not deliver them properly, though during my time there, all I could do was be grateful that supposedly I was getting my correctly delivered tips, and trust the ethics of the desk staff. I never had a problem, but others think they did. The most thoughtful clients maybe understood this, and gave us tips right after the massage. The laundry staff were incredible people. They were often seen fixing the wash/dry machines and improvising better ways to help us help the clients. Amazing staff.
A lot was expected of all of us, and most of us did our best to deliver. The owners and creators of B.W. (top people) are very gracious and thoughtful people, and once a year, treated ALL the staff of ALL locations to some sort of gala event. I truly wish them well, in spite of whatever suffering I underwent; but I see no need to subjugate myself to it again because of the tremendous toll it takes in its overall effect. I would not recommend working for them unless you are a Viking or a masochist. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee), Culver City, CAMay 9, 2012
Burke Williams was poor;ly organized. Management was very controlling anf unsupportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVVVVVVED
Massage therapist (Former Employee), Pasadena CaMarch 5, 2012
what a great bunch of people to work with, in a relaxing envoriment and just overall amazing staff. If you are looking for a great massage this is your place. If you are looking for an amazing place to work with flexable hours then this would be the place

About Burke Williams Day Spa

Burke Williams was founded in 1984, based on the sole idea of providing professional massage in a clean, safe and luxurious environment. – Read more

Burke Williams Day Spa Photos