Burson-Marsteller Employee Reviews in United States

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burson-Marsteller is a great company but Internal Culture Could use a Facelift!
Recruitment Manager, Western Region (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 26, 2016
It was a great experience. Overall good people. New York HR folks (managing director) were a bit overly aggressive. SF office had a few few snobby account folks.
Pros
Great clients, good benefits, good pay
Cons
Internal culture is a bit snotty and competitive. A little gossipy and primma dona-ism
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It!
Client Executive (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 14, 2015
My favorite job thus far. I learned so much. Team and clients were amazing. Wish I could return. There is a lot of bureaucracy, but every company has that. Salary is lower than competition.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start out, but don't see it as a place to make a career
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 27, 2014
Burson is a great place to work at in the beginning of your career. They represent some of the world's most recognizable brands. You get to work with people across the country and sometimes in other countries.

Co-workers are usually pretty great -- all smart, talented and loyal. My biggest complaint would be with management -- they don't do a good job balancing what accounts employees would like to work on/where their talents lie. In addition, there isn't much training to help you learn more -- you are pretty much left to your own.
Pros
taleneted, eager, friendly people
Cons
management could be more in tune with employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for with worldwide exposure
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 29, 2015
A typical day at Burson-Marsteller for me includes checking emails, preparing briefing documents, making sure all correspondence is up to date and looking at the month ahead and seeing what meetings or events need to be further planned and responding to all client requests in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, enjoyable staff.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 20, 2013
• Provided day-to-day support to the Vice President, CFO, Managing Directors and Directors.
• Responded to internal and external correspondence in the absence of the Executives.
• Coordinated meeting schedules for Executive and Senior-level management
• Worked on financial reports for monthly and quarterly fillings.
• Created spreadsheets, presentations and correspondence for Executives and staff.
• Responsible for taking minutes at meetings, transcribed and distributed to executives.
• Maintained and reviewed client contracts.
• Maintained and prepared weekly and monthly client/billability reports.
• Worked directly for Director of Human Resources, Western Region, supporting 200+ employees.
• Processed all new hire paperwork for Western Region and conducted new hire/benefits orientation.
• Recruited exempt/non-exempt level personnel and checked references on prospective candidates.
• Provided human resources support to Western Region employees.
• Provided guidance to employees regarding HR policies and procedures.
• Direct contact for all Western Region employees for payroll, benefits and other changes.
• Coordinated training workshops.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burson-Marsteller is an excellent company
Financial Administrator (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAAugust 2, 2013
I have really enjoyed working here. The culture is amazing. They engage in all kinds of fun off and on-site activities. Work-life balance is incredibly easy to achieve.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job for someone with no work experience
Financial Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2014
Not for me. Seems too relaxed, employees can't tell time. I got the job through a temp agency and horrible pay is an understatement. Taking nearly a $50,000 pay decapitation. It pains me as I have been eating fast food, feeding my dog garbage food, using candles instead of lights and biking everywhere to save on gas.
Pros
1 hour luch, easy work hours, room for growth
Cons
1 hour lunch unpaid, hours are too short, advancement in title, but not pay
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company introduced me into the Mac world
Production Artist/Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee) –  230 Park Avenue South New York, NY 10003-1528March 9, 2012
Very good company with Summer Parties, Holiday events, everything to let you enjoy working for them.
Pros
quality company
Cons
management change not good
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vice President, and Practice Director, Healthcare
Vice President & Practice Director (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 28, 2014
Developed award-winning PR and marketing communications programs. I was given an opportunity to be an entrepreneur within one of the largest worldwide Public Relations agencies.
Pros
the freedom to be entrepreneurial, with the back-up of an international agency.
Cons
during my time at burson-marsteller, the economy was challenging for new business development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Point - But Little Possibility For Growth.
Financial Associate - Client Accounting (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 16, 2014
Good as a starting ground, but do not expect to advance professionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job wasn't as diverse as I thought it would be.
Admin. Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 26, 2012
I worked in the Healthcare Department supporting the Global Department Head and her team.

The job consisted of travel arrangements, expense reports, PowerPoint Presentations and extensive incoming/outgoing fax transmissions.
Pros
a new industry.
Cons
a boring industry - my skills weren't being utilized.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly efficient, professional
Translator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 12, 2014
I worked as an interpreter for foreign consultants. All staff was highly professional and educated, young staff
Pros
creative, free spirited
Cons
tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Harold Burson Summer Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 3, 2014
Great environment to work in. Everyone is extremely hard working and smart. Several employees exceed my expectations and are definitely industry leaders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Challenging
SENIOR EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT TO VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 5, 2012
Great place to work, grow and learn. The work is very challenging, but exciting at the same time. You work with a team of loyal employees and always have a support system with projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool agency
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 30, 2013
Everybody is well vetted, very smart workforce. Great agency to start out in and cool client list to choose from.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency training ground
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2012
Super smart people, very driven, highly collaborative and team-oriented environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People make the difference
SAP Global Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 3, 2013
Overall I did not enjoy this job very much but it was the team I worked with that made my work days enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Executive assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2012
Great working and learning experience. Burson-Marsteller values its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4

See more Burson-Marsteller reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture