Butler Machinery Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diesel Service Mechanic
Diesel Mechanic Technician (Current Employee) –  Rapid City & Aberdeen, SD,November 3, 2016
Helpful and experienced coworkers, high quality in-Company training with excellent instructors, good management, top quality safety practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Truck Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, NDJuly 19, 2016
Pay is low in comparison to other shops and It is a stepping stone shop with high turn over. Nobody takes blame for there mistakes and it gets blamed on some one else. Management at the Dickinson facility tells you your doing great one day and gives you six write ups for issues over 2 months prior.
Pros
Nice facilities
Cons
Terrible management and high turn over.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great benefits
Customer Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJuly 16, 2016
A growing company worth looking into. Great management and people to work with. Freedom to create relationships with your customers. No micro managing involved within this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Administrative (Former Employee) –  FargoJune 21, 2016
Too many hands in the pot. If you are not high up on the chain of command you're nothing. Not to mention the legal issues that they've put upon people that have turned out to be false. My time here with this company was less than enjoyable. I was glad to find elsewhere to work.
Pros
Casual work envirnoment
Cons
Compensation isn't that great, so much backstabbing and small talk, micromanaging
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with managment to so much
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJune 9, 2016
When I was interning there I was trying to keep busy by cleaning shop or helping another technician, so it was very slow. Then they wanted you to work on something that you had little to no experience on in a timely manner. The employees there were great but some people in management could bring the moral down. The shop doesn't have adequate ventilation, so when there is a couple engines in the shop running it gets hazy very fast.
Pros
great pay, people are great to be around for the most part
Cons
short breaks, management sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Butler machinery
Shop Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDApril 27, 2016
as i enjoy my profession, i did not enjoy all the time working at this establishment. Not given any type of formal training for the type of brand name equipment proved to be a challenge and often prolonged projects. i did however have a good work experience with all my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job.
Diesel Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDNovember 23, 2014
Ok company to work for if you want to do the same thing over and over again.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay long hours no social life
Caterpillar engine/ truck technician (Current Employee) –  dickinson ndJuly 9, 2014
just as the title says great pay but long hours, management has bad attitude brings the shop down.
Pros
great pay
Cons
short breaks poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Butler Machinery Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.0
Culture
3.4

Butler Machinery Company Reviews by Location