BUY FOR LESS Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy Buy For Less because of customers interaction
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 16, 2017
I was a Front End Lead at Buy For Less within 2weeks of hire I ran the front end where I helped customers with issues of grocery items and or purchases . I also directed cashiers and courtesy clerks to their assigned job duties and sites.
Pros
no lunches were provided
Cons
breaks was assigned 15 minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Cashier/ Bakery Clerk/ Deli Clerk. Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKJuly 5, 2017
The company that I used to work for no longer exist. They have changed they way everything is run. They say you get 40 hours but thats only if you are a manager,
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very oraganized
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKJuly 5, 2017
I liked working for Buy for Less because they allowed me to take my creativity with decorating cakes to another level. I liked that could work at my own pace and get the job done in a timely manner. I took initiative to do what needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 27, 2017
I was a deli clerk. I cashiered occasional but mostly I setup the food line and helped served food to customers. Then I cleaned the line after the shift was over
Pros
a pay check
Cons
they closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen trabajo
Cajera, Servicio al Cliente (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 30, 2017
Lo que más me gustó de mi trabajo en la buy for less es el ambiente de trabajo y la amabilidad
Cons
No ay suficiente descanso para comer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started as a bakery clerk & then became baker at Uptown which is owned by Buy 4 Less
Baker (Current Employee) –  Edmond, OKMay 18, 2017
I've been at Uptown for over a year now & I loved my job. Management change has taken its toll on everyone there. But it is a great place to work! Its fast paced & hard work but very rewarding. They are willing to work with you on hours & time off, etc
Pros
Meeting fun new people.
Cons
Some bosses aren't very pleasant to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  OKC, OKMay 12, 2017
This was a very slow paced job that was repetitive and most employees only got part time hours. The pay was ok but there was no discounts at all. Free ham at Christmas
Pros
Easy
Cons
Borinf
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 3, 2017
Favoritism is played a lot in this company. No growth with in unless you are close with managers. More opportunities at Wal-Mart them buy for less. Wouldn't go back
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OKApril 22, 2017
Although Buy For Less is no longer in business, my employment with the company was a positive experience.

A typical day for me at this job was interacting with customers as I checked and sacked their purchases. The responsibility of balancing my drawer at the end of my shift and verifying with one other employee before turning the drawer over to the manager to be put into the vault.

I gained experience in using a cash register, counting currency and giving change.

Management worked with me and allowed flexible scheduling with the care of my husband and special days that I requested off.

The most difficult part of the job was during the slow periods of my shift. I couldn't leave my post and the candy display could only be straightened so many times

The most enjoyable part of this job was the people I worked with and interacting with the customers
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Standing the entire shift. Dealing with difficult customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my employment
Deli Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 22, 2017
I enjoyed my job and management was easy to approach when I needed guidance or mentoring to be a better employee. Great service and opportunities to grow in store
Pros
Good job
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good companies to attend
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 20, 2017
Produce was a very good experience because I learned how to order inventory and make schedules and manage employees. and Also teach you something new everyday. Long hours and successful communication.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it.
Cashier/Produce Stocker (Former Employee) –  OklahomaFebruary 16, 2017
Good gourmet burgers some of the food are free you get discounts the food is expensive but its a good job pays every week flexible hours and usually easy people to work wirh.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 13, 2017
i enjoyed the coworkers from this place. The only think i dont miss about this place is the rude customers that no matter what we would do we could never seem to satisfy them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and simple work place
Scanning Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bethany, OKNovember 25, 2016
On a typical day of work I go in, pull batches, organize and hang up tags. I check emails throughout the day, organizing and balancing invoices. The hardest part is balancing time for efficiency. The most enjoyable part of the job would be communicating with customers and helping them find what they need.
Pros
Morning Shift
Cons
Far drive from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buy for less
Stocker (Former Employee) –  MwcNovember 18, 2016
It's a good place to work lot's of room for growth lot of management opportunities they have good 401k plan's good health insurance plans
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 14, 2016
This company is one of the best companies to work for. The owner is one of the caring people out there,. He cares about his employees. I would work for them again if given a chance. The job with them is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be busy but also fun with a bit of stress
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 22, 2016
Typical day could start off slowly, few trickle of customers, so one could get other things done, stocking, cleaning etc. I learned a lot about the grocery business, that I never knew before, from produce and where it came from, inventory, scanning, and the way sales work. I had a good personal rapport with my manager, but professionally he didnt want me to grow in the company, I was too valuable to him store level, so I felt stagnant. Like most any job, you have the good ones, and the ones like stirred up drama. The hardest part was knowing my manager didnt want anyone to grow, and wasnt very positive at times. Enjoyed my regular customers and some of my co-workers they were great.
Pros
Had decent insurance options, HR tried really hard to take care of their employees. We were paid weekly..
Cons
Short breaks, not enough pay raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OKAugust 9, 2016
Shifts varied, sometimes there were assigned tasks other times employees were just to help where help was needed, management could use improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Midwest City, OKFebruary 6, 2016
-A typical day at work
-I learned how to cashier at buy for less
-my managers loved me
-my coworkers were nice
-the hardest part of the job was cleaning the bathrooms and pulling carts
-the job was very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy all day long, meet a lot of new people
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 23, 2015
My typical day at work is greeting customer, asking them about their needs and charging groceries. I have learned how to manage clients so they can feel satisfied with the service. We work as a team and when there's no job to do, they help others. The hardest part of the job is when items prices are not register on the cash register computer. The most enjoyable part of my job is when customers are happy and appreciate your service, knowing people from different part of the world is really interesting.


What I don't like... just a few hours I can not pay my bills. As a single mother I have to cover all my bills by myself, and in addition you as an employee has to buy the uniform they require you to wear. I talked to them about the type of job I was able, they said full time but I don't think 28 hours a week is a full time job. 15 minutes to buy and eat.. sometimes I have to throw to the trash half of my food cause I don't have time to eat it all.
Cons
Too short brakes, no lunch hour, lunch hour is unpaid12, 700
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BUY FOR LESS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 57 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6