Buzzi Unicem USA Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
HR Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PADecember 29, 2016
No opportunity for growth. Wages are not competitive with most local businesses.Good workforce. Flexibility of work/life balance. Provide good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you dont mind getting dirty & the weather
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pryor Creek, OKNovember 23, 2016
Heavy Industrial Site Mining Limestone to convert to cement. Pay is extremely good for the blue collar Union employees. Dirty Dusty Environment and have to be willing to WORK rotating 12 hour shifts. Good stable job if you come to work on time, limit your absences and are willing to do hard labor for a while. Many opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Advancement Opportunities
Cons
Harsh Environment, Rotating Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Yard Serviceman (Former Employee) –  Maryneal, TXNovember 15, 2016
Buzzi is a cement plant in Maryneal TX. Its a good job with good pay and I enjoyed my employment at Buzzi in the two years I was employed there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, co-workers, management and benefits
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 6, 2016
A typical work day was very busy and I enjoyed the various duties.
Management was very fair and listened to any grievances anyone had. They were easy to communicate with and asked opinions about things at times.

Most of the co-workers were pleasant to communicate with and be around. There wasn't really a hard part of the job. I would have liked to learn more of the different aspects of the software if time had allowed.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to do various duties and also to communicate with vendors and employees.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a temp and on job two months.
Customer Service Temp (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 29, 2016
Only been on the job two months. Difficult to give an accurate review from such a short time. Appears to be an employer that values their employees. Provides challenging and varied work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with lots of learning opportunities
Silo Tender/ Laborer, (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, INApril 4, 2014
I take care of the shipping and storing cement silos. Making sure the different types of cement are not contaminated with another. Measure silo levels 2x daily and record the data.

I have learned the process of making cement, how to run heavy equipment, do basic repair work. I have had the ability to learn skills outside of my job classification (e.g. stick welding and torch cutting) Everyday there is something new to learn if you are willing to learn.

My shift Foreman have been essential to my learning and advancement within the company, making sure I spend time with co-workers in higher job classifications, to learn more about the plant and our operation. My co-workers have also been very influential in my growth as an employee at Buzzi.

I love working here, getting to do different work on a weekly basis has been a great experience. The hardest part of the job is the environment we work in
Pros
learn skills that can be applied to every day life. good pay and benefits
Cons
extreme conditions, dangerous environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty place to work
Industrial Electrician (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, INNovember 6, 2013
its an average place to work. they could treat the employees better.
Pros
work at your own pace
Cons
extreme weather (hot and cold)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my ideal job
Terminal Operator (Current Employee) –  Milton, FLOctober 24, 2013
A typical day at work consists of loading tanker trucks, unloading rail-cars and maintenance.
I've learned some leadership skills by taking on new responsibilities
Management was hard on me at first until I proved myself.
Co-workers don't understand me
The hardest part of my job is connecting with Co-workers because we have different interests and personalities.
The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to be home every night.
Pros
Home every night
Cons
Dusty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventurous never the same work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Maryneal, TXSeptember 16, 2013
One day I could be fixing the side of a material elevator, then the next day operating the mobile crane changing a drum on the overhead crane. Well managed and safety oriented. Co-workers were like family. Hardest part of the job was my 65 mile one way commute. Most enjoyable was the environment
Pros
Union work
Cons
Union work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work if you do not intend to make it your life
supervisor maintenance (Former Employee) –  MOJuly 10, 2013
great people, extreme rigidity in safety . Harsh work environment. Hard nosed management to employee relationship upper management. does not care about employees only the product out put.
Pros
great personell
Cons
management expectations and constantly changing rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report

Want to know more about Buzzi Unicem USA?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tense workplace with rigid deadlines
Intern (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMarch 12, 2013
I spent most of the day at the computer reviewing data or entering information. There was a fair amount of physical exertion in the job (moving files; etc.), and sitting for 8 hours was difficult.
Pros
opportunity to learn
Cons
lack of direction; little interaction with coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience for my career.
Paralegal Intern (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAFebruary 28, 2013
This was an internship position as a paralegal in which I worked in many areas of the law from real estate to contracts. I learned the hands-on duties and tasks conducted by a paralegal. The hardest part of the job was finding the precise, specific information requested by the attorney. The most enjoyable part was the atmosphere and the legal matters I was involved in everyday.
Pros
gained hands-on work with legal documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.Seldom ever a layoff.Union plant.
Process operator (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, INSeptember 13, 2012
Productive,educational and professional.Learned to operate different equipement.Kept busy all the time.
Pros
learned to operate different equipement.
Cons
outside work year round.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a high level for working on equipment
Terminal Attendant (Former Employee) –  MemphisJuly 25, 2012
Operated wide variety of equipment including power saws, sanders, grinders, cranes drill press, forklift and basic hand tools
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice older office building. New kiln being built. Popcorn afternoons.
Environmental Engineer (Former Employee) –  Festus, MOJune 14, 2012
Excelent staff and good workers to get along with. Great atmosphere.
Pros
free popcorn afternoons.
Cons
dirty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Buzzi Unicem USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3