C&S Wholesale Grocers Employee Reviews

Found 744 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was horrible
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDJuly 21, 2017
When I first filled out the application it said I would be getting paid 11-14 dollars an hour that only lasted for the two weeks of training then I was being paid on how fast I would get the trucks done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work culture
Senior Buyers Assistant, Procurement Analyst (Former Employee) –  Keene, NHJuly 20, 2017
C&S employs a lot of people but it is a revolving door as they can not retain good employees.... You are overworked and underpaid and if you are a female this is not a conducive environment for personal and professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible plave
Selector (Former Employee) –  Baldwin, FLJuly 20, 2017
would not recommend company to anyone. no worklife balance. no real training provided. managers are not willing to work with you to ensure that you are able to have the work life balance you need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo seguro muy organizado y mucha disiplina
Selector (Former Employee) –  Hatfield, MAJuly 19, 2017
Es genial saber que cuando tu ponchas ya tienes un reto como trabajo ya que basicamente cobras de acuerdo a la producion mientras mas hagas mas cobra y eso es fantastico
Pros
Seguros medicos hollyday bacaciones muchos beneficios buenos
Cons
Hay q trabajar duro pero es genial de eso trata el trabajo y la producion no puede parar
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Money gets you in shape
Lift Operator (Current Employee) –  Westfield, MAJuly 11, 2017
good job they are always hiring benifits could be better they have have Cigna for insurance. Not really personal as everything is so fast paced and production oriented
Pros
always hiring easy to get in
Cons
hours have to stay till all work is down got hired for 6 to 430 and usually get out around 630-830
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK company, not so great overall
Compliance Analyst, Inventory Control (Former Employee) –  brutalJuly 11, 2017
I worked in one department doing several different jobs over the course of my year and a half there. The management was OK, depends on who the supervisor is. The supervisors boss for IC was great, and very serious about her job. Pay was rather low for my position (which started as a temp job).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and fastpase workplace, with equal opportunity to advance, with a competitive pay rate.
Backhauler (Former Employee) –  Chester, NYJuly 11, 2017
After punching in, I sit in for a daily brief/safety speech, start stretching out the muscles in order to prevent pulling, and staining anything, then I find a stand up power jack, start with my first truck orders, which included locking the trucks out, unloading the trucks, braking down the pallets to fit the slots in the isles, and label the pallets, fill out the paperwork for the truck order, wrap the pallets, and run them to the correct isles, facing the proper direction, hand in the paper work to the office. clean up the work area on the dock. also used fork lifts, and clamps to separate the pallets as well. Management is easy to work with, they will work with you, are caring, and understanding.
Pros
Great starting pay, chance to advance, and move up in rank
Cons
It is hard work, and sometimes thr trucks can be messed up, which would make it a little hard to unload, and brake down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place sucks
Reach Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJuly 10, 2017
Used to be there they say a stand up forklift operator yea ok that's a lie .They make you select and then if you are not up to par they get ride of you with no warnings stay away from this place please I beg you .. you'll be sorry
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job great management
Lumper (Former Employee) –  Plant City, FLJuly 1, 2017
most days we were very productive and able to make some good money I learned how to use every piece of equipment we had got very great and fast with learning how to break down the trucks only hard part was the trucks that came in with only 20 pallets to make sometimes in between 80-120 pallets
Pros
Good paying for a while
Cons
short breaks benefits and 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
order selector to help provide trailers (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTJune 30, 2017
worked as an order selector to help provide trailers with the correct items that need to be shipped out to the respective address of our customers. Helped in the process of Cutting off tractor take off times by over-achieving my incentive goals by 20% every week with some weeks as far as 30%. Physical demands go as far as picking up 25,000lbs worth of merchandise daily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Lead Claims Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Westfield, MAJune 29, 2017
depending on your job it could be very long hours, extra mandatory days, pay not that great. hard work. some people great to work with.................................
Pros
some people
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical warehouse job
Warehouse Receiver (Former Employee) –  Chester, NYJune 28, 2017
A typical day at work usually entails "work until the work is done". When coworkers call out you will work the extra hours until the work is finished. Decent benefits, around $14/hour to start. Do not expect to see too many smiling faces, its a job to pay the bills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment was old and processes outdated.
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newburgh, NYJune 26, 2017
A fast moving environment with forklifts the probably in use too long or improperly maintained. Many employees worked at a pace that I felt was unsafe.
Pros
Opportunities to make more money.
Cons
Unsafe work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Suffield, CTJune 25, 2017
if you are a hardworking individual that is motivated and physically strong then this is the job for you. A typical day consists of building pallets to be shipped to grocery stores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of the job
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTJune 22, 2017
The people that work there are all good people. Every holiday the office puts together a big lunch for everyone to enjoy. This makes things a little more enjoyable during the busy seasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift driver
Presents Forklift driver (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCJune 22, 2017
Received my Certificate to drive a forklift. Only have to work 4 days a week and you get 5 days off in a role monthly. Learning new stuff everyday and enjoy working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for C & S
Wholesale Senior Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2017
This is a great place to work within a team. Everyone there is friendly and is willing to help all new associates in getting used to their new job. The leadership there is great to work for and very nice to the people that report to them.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
cannot think of one
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and clean and awesome people
Selector (Former Employee) –  North East, MDJune 19, 2017
It was fun and the trainers where good and patient they work well with others the pay was good they had a nice break area and overall was one of my favorite jobs made friends there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no compassion
Incentive Selector (Current Employee) –  Chester, NYJune 19, 2017
managers are a joke..they say we get 15s they give us "time" for our 15 minute breaks really only get a lunch..no breaks after 2..even if we're there till 10pm its slave labor..OSHA should be contacted
Pros
they supply us with water
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay hard job
Incentive Selector (Current Employee) –  Suffield, CTJune 14, 2017
great py hard jobOutstanding reliability, excellent communication skills, a team member, and keen dedication to stability and commitment to high quality results. Intelligent fast learner who welcomes new challenges, and a self-starter with proven ability to adapt
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at C&S Wholesale Grocers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 749 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2

C&S Wholesale Grocers Reviews by Location