Find companies:
C & S Wholesale Grocers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

C & S Wholesale Grocers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was great but people came and go. No job security.
incentive selector (Former Employee), Bethlehem, PaOctober 7, 2014
The pay was great but people came and go. No job security. Hours were unbalanced week to week. Pretend to care about your safety but set goals for you to pick high percents until you make a mistake while picking fast you get fired real quick
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, about family and their employee's
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: appreciation of their employee's
Cons: long days
I enjoyed working there. Some day's more than other's. This company did more for their employee's than any other company I have ever worked for since I graduated. They done a lot of thing's to show that they appreciated their worker's and what they done for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Avenel, NJJuly 14, 2014
Pros: workouts
Cons: short breaks
cold place .. i like loading unloading trucks quick ..good pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work out
Fulfillment order filler (Current Employee), Plant City, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: interactive
Cons: money
Love the job, just doesn't give hours. I have bills to pay. They keep promising more hours and work is coming but in my situation I can't afford to wait.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C & S Wholesale Grocers
Warehouse Selector (Current Employee), 85912 Hanua Street, Kapolei, hiApril 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches during various times, union company
Cons: management didn't prioritize properly
As a warehouse selector, always needed to fill out an pre-shift equipment checklist to make sure heavy equipment is safe to drive. Managers always have a meeting to discuss topics of what's been going on as with environment of warehouse, fire drills, etc. Hardest part of the job was accomplishing the case count quota needed to fulfill at the end of – more... the day. The most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers and team work throughout the warehouse amongst other selectors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with room for advancement
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Westfield, MAApril 5, 2014
good place to work, constant change keeps you on your toes and ensures that you don't get bored. a very fast paced environment, with the ability to earn some good money, as long as you are not scared to work for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team to work with
Food Inspector (Former Employee), Avenel, NJFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: taking up examples and eating on the floor
Cons: moved out of state
I started doing my audits in twenty four aisles to ensure proper rotation and accurate inventory. Once finished, started my Inspection on the floor which consist of eighty doors.
I have learned many types of perishable food products. Including produce, meat, poultry, fish, dairy and deli products.
Management and co-workers where proficient in a fast – more... operation which received over one million cases weekly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good competitive work environment with room for advancement in pay.
Incentive Selector (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYDecember 20, 2013
I loved this job while i was here, great pay, guaranteed overtime, great place to have your work out while making money. Nice fast paced environment, supervisors push you to do great confidence and performance wise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work.
Data Entry Clerk / Audit Processor (Former Employee), Brattleboro, VTDecember 13, 2013
Pros: four day work week
I worked in a very busy department. There was a lot of data entry involved. Wasn't a big fan of being in a large room with a lot of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a good work enviroment .
Procurement Analyst / Buyer (Former Employee), Avenel , NJDecember 9, 2013
Pros: people made the job worth going to work everyday.
Cons: nothing bad to say
C&S was a great place to work. We all worked hard but at the end of the day we still had time to be social. I was trained in every aspect that was done as a wholesale warehouse. From being a shipping / receiving clerk to a grocery merchandiser. C&S had us ready for everything to help the customer .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Miami, FLDecember 6, 2013
Tell us about:

a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, great money making opportunities
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), North Hatfield, MADecember 5, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: rough on the body
My day involved fast paced selection of products for customers. A very physically demanding job. Hard on the body.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and safe place to work
Perishable/Frozen/Dry Grocery Forklift operator (Former Employee), birmingham alNovember 19, 2013
the job was a safe and fast pace enviroment. fun to work at times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast enviroment with a lot of great benefits for hard work
Lift Operator (Former Employee), Chester, New YorkOctober 9, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
I started working at C&S back in 2005 at the age of 19. I was put into an environment unlike none other. I loved what I did because the harder I worked the more money I made and the more opportunities opened up for me to advance into what I truly wanted to do. I learned that had work and dedication will get you places there and management always helps – more... the employees on trying to get them to better themselves to be more successful. The people there are great to work with, its like a big family and we"re all in it together. The hardest part of the job for most people is the extremely fast paced environment and long hours. the most enjoyable part is the great pay and the rewarding feeling for hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive distribution center
Supervisor - Inventory Control (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 2, 2013
Productive distribution center
Great management
Great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Warehouse Selector (Current Employee), Chester, NYJune 28, 2013
Pros: not a stale environment, something new everyday
Cons: work hours not gauranteed
Every day is something new. I could be a selector one day or working forklift. I go up in the cage 13 tiers or 46 feet up. Other days I am given a team to re-organize a section to make room for new or seasonal merchandise coming in. I have been with this company 7 years and enjoy the atmosphere. I have learned every aspect of this particular warehouse – more... and would like to expand my training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a good place to work
Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 12, 2013
A typical day at work is quiet, my manager tauch me to do thing on time and efficiency, about my coworkwerks they were nice to me, a great team to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi task a must, fast paced fun environment and good people.
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Stockton, CAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: large transportation and warehousing needs great place to excel and shine, showing all my combined knowledge.
Cons: 12-16 hour days 5-6 days a week
Typical day started with coordinating trailers and doors. Then getting order selectors ready with quick start up meeting. Then a more detailed meeting with loaders and reach drivers. Confirming all third party shipments, cross dock, organic, and eggs are on loads with selection pallets and in system for invoicing. The rest of the day consisted of managing – more... people, coaching, teaching and praising. Monitoring pallet construction, safety, load quality and gate times. As well as putting out any fires that may come up during any ones typical day to day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, but work/life balance degraded per advancement
Regional Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee), Stockton, CAJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: pay, benefits, holiday time, people
Cons: long work weeks & days, management environment
In my 25 years there were many great days and celebrations for accomplishments. The things that lagged were the communication and collaboration skills used between department and warehouses. Simply improving this would greatly improve overall quality and satisfaction of a job well done. One of the hardest part of 1 of my jobs was communicationg to a – more... manager/supervisor on proper SOP and them not understanding the job that was in subject matter. The best part of the work was the people and I think one of the best assets of the company as a whole/Team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
c and s
Warehouse Coordinator (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYOctober 24, 2012
it was very plain , the work load was crazy some day. very under staffed.