C.R. England Employee Reviews

Found 557 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review a
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMay 14, 2014
I've went to England truck driving school, and all in all I had a really good experience. They hired me on right after my training was completed. I did notice that there wasn't to much concern about home time during the over the road training but I was happy to have a job so I paid it no never mind. Once I completed my phase 2 training I went out solo OTR and I was really enjoying myself. I was asked several time to take on a second seat driver but I wanted to get the miles under my belt alone. I really didn't want to take on another personality while going out on my own truck for at least 3 months but I was was intending on linking up with a driver who started training after I did and we were going to go teams. I answered a messaged on my quilcom machine asking me to pick up a phase 2 trainee in Houston and at first I was reluctant to do so, but did anyway. I felt a little pressure as a solo driver to get loads in on time as expected, but nothing compared to once I took on a second seat. I wasn't use to driving during the hours of 3-5am but one instance I had to drive due to a layover at a drop-off that had us there for 13 hours. I was tired and to make a long story short I swerved to avoid hitting an animal in the road and ended up on the median which by the way was muddy do to rain so I got stuck. England didn't take to kind to this as I was terminated due to the cost of what it took to pull me out. I really didn't get it. I was due to make them more money then what it cost to pull me out, but they felt different I guess. But that's not the part that disturbed me. It was  more... how I was treated after getting terminated. All of a sudden I couldn't get anyone I had contacted several times before on the phones or email. They tried to charge me for a lumper fee and expected that I just wouldn't say anything and regardless of me not receiving a citation from police, they still considered this and accident even-though there was no damage to vehicle or state property. Oh well I'll just seek employment elsewhere. But England has some kind of a stronghold on other companies, and me being an honest person can't seem to find work because of this incident. I know that I'll be picked up sooner or later, but it's pretty disturbing to find out that once you are no longer with England for whatever reason they seem to want to make it difficult for you to find employment with any other company. I've been told by potential employers that I should not disclose my reason for no longer being with England. But first of all I am honest and second, how am I suppose to not mention England when they are the only company that I have experience with in order to be qualified to work for anyone else. I don't have any I'll feeling for CR England as most of the people I've run into do. I just want those of you who are considering going to England please realize that you are nothing more then revenue to England and you are expendable for pretty much anything. And no matter what they are still in your pocket. The tuition cost is minimal it's the interest that's gonna cause you problems. But if you are desperate to drive trucks as I was your gonna sign that contract without even realizing that you are signing a contract with a very high interest rate. I'd like to mention that one company told me that I couldn't be hired by them because of this contract. So please be aware.  less
Pros
very good school
Cons
they don't really care about your personal life outside of the job duties
Was this review helpful?Yes100No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  CA, NVJanuary 20, 2016
I went to England to get started into trucking. Family is full of drivers and I've always be fascinated with big trucks and machinery. Their school literally teaches the bare minimum basically to move the truck, you have to hope you get a good trainer in order to actually learn anything which I lucked out with. Placed on a dedicated Walmart account right out of training but it was a fleet out of another state which meant even though it was dedicated, I rarely saw home and my family. I made good money there and the other drivers were fun to hang out with on my off time but the office staff didn't care about anyone's personal life aside from the night shift which didn't really have any pull. I had to quit to finally get home and transfer to my local dedicated Walmart fleet with them. I made even better money here, home most every night, and had a decent truck. That was until my load planner quit my first month in. The main load planner filling in was a complete moron. Playing favorites was a major problem with him. My weekly pay checks went from averaging $1000 after taxes to averaging $300-$500 and my miles went from 2500 to barely breaking 1000 per week. I was switched into a truck with major brake issues, steering problems, and air leaks. It took them a month to finally fix the brakes, a few weeks to fix the steering, and over 2 months to address the air leaks. Mind you, I kept reporting the issues and put that truck into their shop after each load I did. Because I was constantly complaining about the truck, and rightfully so, my DM and load planner decided to create false  more... stories to place me on safety holds and make everything out to be my fault. It wasn't long till most of the office was against me event though their stories had no proof or solidarity. I have never been more consistently disrespected than with this company. I was a hard working 14 hour using employee, never refused a load, never had a late load, never failed an inspection, and never had a single accident, yet I was treated like a lazy, idiotic child. Some drivers have good luck with them while others have experiences like mine. If you want your license then apply with caution.  less
Pros
Great pay on dedicated account
Cons
Incompetent office staff (DMs, load planners, safety, etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont do it!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 8, 2012
1st.Long story long.... just immigrated from canada, I had my cdl there for 20 years management for 10 of those. Anyways when I began the process of becoming a citizen of the u.s my ca cdl was no longer valid. So I had to go back to school to get it, went to there school (pathetic) pretrip training consisted of watching videos and pointing to the parts, I promise you 90 percent of the students cominng out of there have no idea how many brake shoes are on a drum, or even how to set them.
2. I have been with this company for a few months, the only reason I stay is because im tied to them for 6 months other wise I have to pay back 2995.00 for there training lol.! Paroll has gotten my check correct twice in the past 4 months, paid weekly you do the math.
3. Pushing people in leases, telling them how much money they can make, read the fine print on the lease agreement, I did and that's why I went company. 14 cents permile for variable cost, oh I don't think so! 12 cents for a mantenance cost then on top of that there fuel rebate program is b.s! They tried to sluff off refer fuel as fuel for his truck. (I caught that one).
4. Phase one trainer claimed he had 10 years driving experience, yes perhaps but it was in his car. My ears are still ringing from the gears grinding. Phase 2 trainer 8 months driving experience seriously people! He was a great guy but I didn't sleep at all in that truck
5. Did a favor for the company, took a load that was in mira loma c.a, 22 mile round trip ended up taking 12 hours, with 2 drops, the kicker is you get detention pay after 3 hours, I was 5 hours
  more... at the first place so I got 2 hours pay the other one was 6 hours waiting so I got 3 hours. This was all for the same company but diferent locations. Even if everything had gone the way it should have it would have been 2 hours at 90 cents per mile less variable costs maintenance at 10 cents then fuel..... are you getting it. 11 hours ideling 85 degrees that night, est on fuel for that job 9 gallons at $4.00 per gallon lost money on that, live and learn!  less
Pros
got my cdl
Cons
look above!
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN AND NEVER LOOK BACK
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 7, 2012
I am a brand new driver. I went to their school in Cedar Hill TX. They are extremely unorganized. The sent me to three different hotels. The first two were booked and the last one I never found. Lucky enough I live within 50 miles so I drove back and forth everyday. They dont pay you during your time at the school earning your CDL. Then you either wait at the hotel or at home in my case for a trainer to call you, you wait and wait and wait....They dont get in a hurry about anything. My first phase 1 trainer was a nightmare. I am a nonsmoker with lung issues and they put me on a truck with a chain smoker. He also had me sleep on the top bunk which is against policy and drove so rough that I was almost thrown from the top bunk several times. I ended up having someone pick me up at a truck stop becuase after three days of no sleep I just couldnt take it anymore. I went to the school (in Cedar Hill TX) to tell them about my experience and they stated "We dont need to hear your drama we will get you another trainer", they also said this same thing to the trainer of the truck I was on. How is anything ever going to get fixed if they never want to hear about it. They are all about safety supposedly but when you go to talk to them about an issue they dont want to hear it. Then I sat and waited another week for a new trainer. They told me they would pay me while sitting at home since it took so long waiting for the second trainer. But it never happened. My experience with the second trainer was wonderful. He showed me a lot of things and if their company had more people like him they  more... would be okay. After Phase one was complete I went to the school again for a week for the upgrade, they didnt tell me what time I needed to be there so I was an hour late. I got there at 8am, class started at 7am. After in class training was over I waited yet another week for a trainer. My phase 2 trainer was mediocre, he slept most of the time. I drove and drove and drove and he slept. of the 4200 miles that we drove I personally drove 3300. Then my trainer proceeds to tell me hes going to drop me off at the school in Utah because he has a class he needs to go to so I will wait for another trainer or wait for his week long class to be over. So now im stuck in Utah not earning any money again waiting on another trainer... again...this whole process is a nightmare. CR England should be ashamed of themselves for putting people through this.  less
Pros
newer trucks
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes58No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mileage allocation controlled by manager with low ethical standards
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 30, 2012
My Driver Manager told me that he did not try to get me better mileage and prevent me from spending non-productive time because "i've never liked you."
This relationship seemed to be one of maintaining a certain percentage of failures losing their assets and becoming delinquent fiscally while trapping them in a setting which was difficult to break out of, i.e. the leasing mechanism. Via the leasing option, one would suppose that mileage would be allocated so as to facilitate the driver's propensity to pay off that lease and still make enough to handle their financial obligations in order to encourage continuity. I was given many loads that delivered with a delay of from one to two days and many others that did not pick-up in a timely manner causing me to lose financially and take home negative amounts on several occasions while still being tied to the truck and its associated expenses. My Dm insinuated that this was a personal situation as opposed to the professional situation which it should have been. I never delivered late till right at the end of my 6 month lease (twice based on lack of remaining hours), never refused loads, the majority of which were swap loads to get other drivers out of problematic situations and save the company money and never disrespected any of my company staff. I did not understand why I was being targeted but found out that there were plenty of others who suffered similar fates. CR England was good for getting my CDL but it is very hard to recommend that path to anybody else as they may not be able, as many were not, to complete their 6 month obligation
  more... after having the schooling paid for them due to a lack of viable mileage by wihch to take home a suitable weekly salary.  less
Pros
the opportunity to learn about the trucking business and the organizational structure
Cons
not enough home time without monetary penalization, lack of professional ethics by my dm and some of the planners, many phase 2 trainees were inadequately trained and lacked respect for phase 2 trainers.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't walk, run away!
Driver trainee (Former Employee) –  Wyoming areaApril 28, 2014
Went to their trainer school in Indiana. The classroom was a joke. They know nothing about teaching (I have taught for 12 years) They would give assignments and never go over them, had lots of busy work and often gave answers to tests that you needed to pass. It was rumored that they get $5,000 from the government for each person they train. And your charged about $3,000 for the schooling. If you work with them for 9 months you get that money back. Some of the driving trainers were okay, but a few fell asleep while a student was driving! Waited 2 weeks after getting CDL for a trainer for a month of driving. After 2 weeks they sent about 30 of us, by Greyhound, to the Salt Lake City terminal. Waited there a week before I got a driver. Got a lot of experience in 30 days. It was a lot of mountains and snowy roads and backing into Walmart stores. Went back to SLC for upgrade. For a backing test, the tester told each driver exactly what to do while walking by the truck. Didn't have to know jack. The driving test was insane. As I started to make a turn the tested started screaming for me to watch the trailer. When I turn I check the mirrors plenty and cleared everything by at least 5 feet.End result she said I failed it and was an unsafe driver! They sent me home. I found out later that she failed over 50% of the drivers. No review, no talking to my driver trainer! I had driven over 10,000 miles and never even so much as drove over a curb. Biggest compliant of my trainer was that I was too timid. Also found out that they were having trouble getting trucks for the upgrade drivers and  more... sent a lot of people home. They have 5 schools that chug out about 50 students a week with CDL's. That's over 12,000 new drivers a year for a company with less than 5,000 trucks. Look at the company magazine and almost nobody stays more than 2 years. ENGLAND = Every New Graduate Leaves After Ninety Days.  less
Pros
got my cdl very fast.
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes73No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company!!! STAY AWAY
OTR Trucker (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 24, 2013
Stay away unless your just trying to get your CDL get some experience and scram!!! TheY bring hudreds of students out every week. The don't verify your emplyment history or background information until you get there. They charge you a $100 non refundable administration fee before they check anything. Then then send dozens of people packing because they don't qualify. They promised me a local position and the last day of orientation the told me they couldn't verify one of my previous employers so I was forced to go out with a trainer. The trainer they sent me out with only had about 6 months total driving experience while I had 2+ years. Then they tried to place me on another trainers truck and she only had about 3-4 months total driving experience. They allow there drivers to be trainers right after coming out of training for 2 months or 30,000 miles. It takes a student driver 10 day to get there license. They then go out with a trainer for 30 days. Then they go out with another for 4 weeks and then they can become a trainer. Thats like the blind leading the blind. How can you train someone and you dont know the industry yet??? They try to force the trainers into there lease program. If you wanna be a company driver they try to sell you the script that they only have lease trucks available. So you either have to lease or stay on a trainers truck and recieve trainee pay of .12/mile "Until a truck becomes available". There are never any company trucks but they have a lot full of lease trucks. DO NOT, I RPEAT DO NOT LEASE A TRUCK FROM THEM!!! They just take the repoed trucked and  more... re lease them for the same spiked up price they would lease a brand new truck for. True story, a guy I know recieved 7 negative payed checks out of 11 pay checks from England a lease opereator. The Trainer I was with had a NET of $10,000+ for 2 weeks worth of trips paks. He only saw $1,100 of that money.... He pays taxes annually so England took all that money from that mans check smh... Dont be a fool...  less
Pros
you can get your cdl if you can't afford to pay out of pocket
Cons
the company period... stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes45No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad but Grateful!
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma,CaNovember 5, 2013
It's been about 8 years my dad has been trucking and training students for CR. England.Numerous family events,practices,games,and special moments he has missed in order to haul cross country&provide.My father is a very hard worker and devoted to his work especially to the people he trains!This past week he recently announced that he's no longer going to work for CR. England.A shock for us all,because he was as dedicated as they come.As we sat and listened to him speak,speak of words that were so saddening yet grateful for the work he was given.To me,it is so sad that my father works so hard for this company,yet they don't care to acknowledge the work that is done.The health coverage they provide is close to almost nothing,you would think they would get top of the line benefits for being on the road so much.Always on time,no accidents,no tickets for 8 years and still,CR England fails to help their truckers.My father takes pride in his truck that he now owns and is leasing another.When the leased truck broke down my father had to pay for the repairs which were by the way very costly and out of his own pocket NOT CR. Englands.Every time the truck breaks down,its a sitting truck and that means no money is being made and when he has to pay for the repairs himself its just creating a bigger hole that we have to climb out ourself with no help from CR england.I just wish CR. england would take better care of their truckers and even though it is their job and duties to complete the long hauls,it is a very stressful and demanding job.Driving for hours takes commitment and showing acknowledgment  more... of a job well done is all it takes.Provide better health benefits to take care of your truckers and your truckers will take care of your company CR. England!All in all,my father is so grateful for the opportunity to work there,he's met wonderful people and made friendships that will last a lifetime.But i see it in his eyes that it is time to move on&how sad is it that CR England probably won't even notice that a good man has left their company...  less
Cons
healthcare, management, leasing contracts, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes93No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traininig
Phase I Driver Trainee (Current Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXSeptember 23, 2013
I don't understand why people always complain about home time. You have to understand that Over The Road (OTR) means making money while moving the tractor from point A to point B. You have to start somewhere. You cannot get to the top of the stairs until you start from the bottom.

Currently I have driven 7000 miles in my Phase I training and still have 13,000 to go before upgrade. The school in Waxahachie, TX was better than I expected and I learned more there than when I went to truck driving school 8 years ago. You can learn if you want and the trainers and staff there are more than helpful and available when you need them. After my 10 days of refresher, I only waited 3 days before going out with my trainer.

Currently I had to come off the road for a family emergency and I didn't have any problems getting home. The trainer I had was very helpful in teaching me how to navigate over various types of grades and what gear to use. He also explained to me when to shift so I would not grind the gears and move the truck smoothly.

I have a lot to learn and this would hold true to any company I worked for but I believe C.R. England's training is better than what I have experienced in the past because you don't drive to get your miles and then a truck but during your OTR training with a trainer, you have to complete exams, quizzes, tasks, and safety meetings before you move on to Phase II.

Although we are not supposed to discuss what we are paid, I am more than satisfied with my salary. As long as you don't take advance payments you will be fine.

In my opinion, I don't believe the
  more... 30,000 miles is enough for a new driver before being put into his/her own truck. I would say the minimum time should be three months. One of this company's strong point is safety and they always remind you of their five core values.  less
Pros
safety and traiining
Cons
have not been here long enough to experience what others are saying.
Was this review helpful?Yes44No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job for someone who wants to travel around the country
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CAApril 12, 2012
Working with C.R. England, an employee is expected to have completed his/her daily vehicle inspection, accurate and updated logs and efficient trip planning before starting work. I've learned many things from this line of work, especially things like time management, on spot decisions and attention to more details. This job definitely helped me acquire a higher level of sense of responsibility as well.

As for the management in C.R. England, I can only tell you that it's not always the best, nor is it the worst. It's expected to have some give and takes with work of such nature. My fellow co-workers would surely agree with that. And through this company, have met some of the finest personalities. It's always a humbling feeling to run into them on the road.

Perhaps one of the hardest, if not the hardest, part of this job would be facing the winter roads at the peak of winter season. From topping up with anti-freeze to having to chain up due to extreme conditions, the job can have it's fair share of challenges. But, besides all that, it's enjoyable for the most part. The new places gone to or people met on a daily basis will always ultimately have a positive effect on me. What I really did enjoy though, were the occaisional long trips during the vastness of night under a full moon in the middle of a lonely highway while driving continually until past the break of dawn.
Pros
flexibility in decisions and choices, healthcare, income potential, stability
Cons
away from home all the time, equipment failure, accidents, subject to traffic penalties
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a good opportunity, if not for major flaws
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Nationwide and DedicatedAugust 18, 2015
There are few places these days that will train you up from ground zero, help you get your CDL and hire you on the spot. Sounds good. That's what I thought, and with their focus on safety, I was really happy with the prospect. But the training is minimal... if you are relatively smart and self-sufficient you will get thru the program as I did, and with some less than perfect habits... because they don't train them out of you... not during the training phase. So when you have a small mishap, like I did... where I drove thru a driveway that wasn't made for trucks at 3AM to turn around... and got the landing gear hung up on the driveway... and you tell them you can't afford to not get paid for a period of retraining, that COULD last a week or two... They fire you!! No options, no ultimatums. Just FIRED!! This doesn't even scratch the surface... for instance, when I changed from one fleet to another it took five calls to fuel to get my fuel card to finally work... So many problems, I'd skip it, if I could do it over again!
Pros
They get you thru the process of getting your CDL
Cons
Hard to get home time in beginning, When you do- it takes forever to get back on the road, Administrative is screwed up, You need to stay on top of paperwork, and every other thing you need to do your job, Fire you at the drop of a hat!
Was this review helpful?Yes117No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good first choice.
Over The Road Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, PAJuly 14, 2014
A typical day depends on whether your a Dedicated Route Driver or a Long Haul Driver.
Dedicated Route Driver:
Wake Up
Get Dressed and go Kiss your loved ones goodbye.(There usually isn't any time for breakfast or being social with them.)
Drive to work, stop along the way for coffee and some sort of breakfast.
Get to work 30 minutes early so you can login to your driver account and give your truck pre-trip inspection. Call or text your DM and get ready for your load assignment for the day.
When you pick up your trailer or drop it off, inspect it thoroughly for damages and anything that needs replacement.
From there its a safe race. Get as many loads done in a day as safely, quickly and efficiently for the next 14 hours.
Your DM will run out your hours and push you to go for one more load.
The difference between this and over the road or long haul is that instead of waking up in your own bed and your own home, you wake up anywhere in the country in your truck.

I wouldn't pick this school first. Two weeks is not enough time to learn everything you need to know. And for paying as much as you do, you should eat least get three squares a day with the room they provide. But you'll make it out by the skin of your teeth if your lucky.
Pros
warm beds to sleep in, great price for the chiropractor, great dental plan
Cons
prescription plan is terrible, hours are terrible. good luck making it home for your kids birthday.
Was this review helpful?Yes50No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Train Not to Stay
OTR Team Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 30, 2014
CR England can teach you a lot in a few days. Got my CDL in 14 Days!!! And that is where you should stop. Me and my wife went on OTR training and it was good a few days in then it went down hill from there. Our 1st instructor tried forcing us to drive in unsafe conditions and almost ended up jack-knifing the truck down the mountain!!! What is unsafe conditions? 2inch tall layer of ice on pavement in mountain+ snowing while driving at night. We got to a safe rest area to pull over and there is when the instructor thought it would be nice to take over because we refused to drive. She did half a jack-knife and she did not know how to use tire chains and on my first experience i figured it out and put them on. Then she kicked us out of her truck and told company we left. After we got back to company grounds they said they had no record of incident!!! I don't know how this is if we reported her and they sent another driver to pick us up that was near the area. Then we got our 2nd instructor. Now this instructor was a true professional. He taught me and my wife very well, but after the first experience, I realized what kind of company they were and will not recommend anyone to work for them long term. Maybe temp and earn experience. We couldn't take it when pay dependencies started to occur. Wish others luck.
Pros
initial training
Cons
company behavior to drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes55No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driving... nothing more
Second Seat Driver (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CAMay 29, 2014
England has paid driver training, while you train your paycheck goes toward your tuition so you don't really get a paycheck, they also help you with California air brakes endorsement as well as obtaining your CDL. That being said the training is way too short, the instructors are rude and offensive, if you are not proficient in truck driving within a few days they will degrade you and go so far as to call you names in front of other trainees. Once training was over and I had obtained my CDL I was still totally uncomfortable driving a truck and knowing that I would have to drive on the road was totally intimidating. Also as soon as your training is done cost for "training" are still deducted from your paycheck, training is about $6000 dollars. My training driver was ok his truck was a real P.O.S it had a bad transmission, the route that I was to train on was between Los Angeles and Salt Lake City Utah so there were a bunch of hills in between, I have never been more scared when driving, I called management in Los Angeles a few times for a different driver, I was constantly given the run-around, I was eventually told that I did not have the right to ask for another training driver, a few days later I quit. I love to drive and knowing how to handle a big-rig on the road is fun but England made it a bad experience. If you can not find another job or you don't mind life on the road then maybe give England a call.
Pros
driving....maybe
Cons
pay, life on the road, truck stops, poor equipment, management
Was this review helpful?Yes83No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN AWAY!!!!
driver (Current Employee) –  everywhereMarch 15, 2014
As a current driver for CRE, who joined the school and career through the VA program. CRE has been lying from start to finish. I'm still currently finishing my 6 month obligation, at which time I leave having already been offered local, better paying driving jobs.
CRE, failed to honor phase 2, .25 cents per mile, instead discloses .12 cents for phase 2 after your contract of 5k for tuition is signed. if you get stuck with a regional driver at 1k miles a week @.12, that only 120.00! for all that driving and 100 bucks is all you earn? you'd have to be an idiot to think thats fair, especially the price for food at truck stops !!!!!
PLEASE HEED THIS WARNING!!!!!!
CRE tells you what you want to hear making empty promises, all the while willfully attempting to rip you off.
While attending the school, I actually had instructors on the backing range in Ut, tell me to take my license and run!

I come to you fellow readers as a decent human being, stay away from CRE, AND avoid the stress of no money, and the sense of being taken advantage of. I don't have time to go into detail the subsidaires CRE recieves from the attendance, paid by the USG...BUT U won't see a dime!
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes89No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Believe Anything They Tell You During Recruitment
Almost Employee (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTNovember 1, 2013
The things I was told by my recruiter turned out to not be the case. When I arrived and went to orientation, I was told "Your recruiter lied. It's their job to get you out here any way they can." I was stuck at their facility in the middle of nowhere trying to figure out what to do. The one thing I knew was that I would NEVER move forward with any company that lacks integrity. They admitted their recruiters out and out lie to recruits to get them to come. Once you get there, you find out the truth and then you're stuck. If you go, make sure you have bus fare home because they do NOT provide it. They pay your way out there but don't expect a paycheck. Even if your recruiter says your employment starts that day, it's "Unpaid" until you complete your school. Getting it in writing makes no difference. I got several confirmation emails about my Driver Job, but when I got there, was told I would not be paid until I completed my training.

Run as fast as you can in the other direction. If they are dishonest and lie to you up front, there's no way they will change that once you finally do go onto their payroll. You'll be in for a long, hard, disappointing ride.

There are some really good, legitimate, forthright trucking companies out there who act with integrity. Choose them and leave CR England alone.
Pros
free bus ride to their facility
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes80No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good fit for me.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 7, 2013
In a typical day I drove for a shift of 9 to 11 hours and if I was picking up or delivering a load it would consist of speaking with various individuals on a loading dock or in an office, paperwork and watching and monitoring as pallets were loaded or unloaded. I learned many things such as how to back up a 53' trailer in some very difficult situations such as ice,rain, white outs etc. Management was difficult to get in touch with by cell phone but a qualcomm was used to leave messages much like an email and then later they could get into touch with you, road service and pay statements were also communicated using this method.My co-worker was another driver like myself with minimal experience but together we tackled many tough circumstances such as previously stated like ice, rain and whiteouts but also communication between each other as we got to know one another. I enjoyed seeing the many differences throughout the 48 states that we visited. I would recommend this job to the carefully researched job searcher, it has many pros and cons that can only be experienced through trial.
Pros
got my class a and saw the country
Cons
didn't make the kind of pay i wanted and was away from family too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was really challenging, but fun looking at all the surrounding areas.
OTR/ Dedicated PODS/ Walmart Dedicated (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTOctober 25, 2013
A typical day was trip planning getting ahead start and making sure that I would meet all appointment's in timely, and safe manner.
I learned to communicate with more than one management on certain assignments and be my own boss most of my time driving over the road.
Management was fare most of the time but had some trip assignments that were, I would say not paid correctly. My DM was good he kept me driving as much as I wanted.
My only co workers were at shippers and management at locations, I enjoyed talking to them, when I had the time.
My hardest time of the job was sleeping and getting woke up with loud reefers in the truck stops; but had ear plugs for that and sometimes that would not work.
The most enjoyable thing was meeting different people (truck drivers) across the states we would talk about some good and bad situations. Most of all looking at the country that I have never seen before, I really liked seeing the mid and south eastern states.

My over all rate for working with CR England is about 2 star
Pros
received a dedicated model truck award/ and cap
Cons
working pods storage had 34 hour restart every week
Was this review helpful?Yes23No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The truck is your home. Keep it clean and be safe
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  West Valley City, UTAugust 13, 2012
as for the equipment, you can go company or owner. The company has done everything. All you have to do is apply yourself. take care of business first and play later. Have fun while you are doing it.
I always got along with the pick-up and delivery people that I met. I kept my truck clean, armourall the tires and nothing on the floor. I had playstation, direct-tv, vcr, booming music. The truck stop is the bathroom and kitchen. Be smart about where you eat, mark them on your atlas. I eat alot of fried catfish and boudian. I love running in the snow so during the winter, I stay up north.
I had the choice of where I wanted to run to most of the time. My family is in Houston so my dispatcher ran me through there alot.
I enjoyed working for them so much that I want it back.
Don't be like some who get on and not pay attention to the money until it is to late. If something goes wrong, it is nobodies fault but your own.
Read the paperwork and stay current. Follow the rules and you want go wrong.
Pros
freedom, the equipment is your responsibility.
Cons
must remain diligent. never late
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DON'T DO IT!
OTR Truck Driver/Refresser Stuident (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJuly 9, 2013
This was the second time I drove for CRE. The first time was great. This time the son had taken over the company and things had changed.
When I signed back up, I signed up to be a company driver but had to do a refresher course. No problem there.
Had to wait to get started. Then about half way through phase 1, they said they were extending the training ( they didn't have enough trainers to ride with) so my 20 moth refresher got streached out. then about half way through phase 2, they said. No Solo More Company Drivers. I wish I had been able to get my money back at that point. They would lease a truck to me..... hmmm... maybe?.... hmmm.... 98-25-%+= hmmm... maybe I added that wrong. I take all the risk and the company makes all the profit. Of course they only offered $0.27/mile to a solo company driver...
Any way, they didn't do what they said they would, they changed the offer to something that was unacceptable to me. You might like that, but I don't.
You might be able, if you have some experience, to make about $23K the first year. After that you can make pretty good money.
Any one that has done OTR before and used electronic log books will understand whey I listed that under both pros and cons.
Pros
new trucks (maybe). electronic log books.
Cons
they will lie to you and steal from you. electronic log books
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 562 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture