Find companies:
CBS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
162 reviews

CBS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment.
Sr. Photojournalist/ Videographer/ Editor (Current Employee), Austin, TXNovember 27, 2014
Pros: you never have the same day twice
Cons: the pay is not the best.
It is a good opportunity to see history in the making.
Lots of hours
fast paced high stress
always changing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok...
carder (Current Employee), Maspeth, NYNovember 25, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: commute
great schedule.
benefit are good.
meet new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting to work on a fast paced reality show
Editor (Former Employee), Studio City, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: challenging
My job was to direct thirty nine cameras, five of which were mobile, in order to capture the lives of the people in the house. I switched between the different cameras in different rooms and created scenes on the fly. I used my sense of story and directing ability to follow the action. The experience was exciting. I had to literally set up a new scene – more... every two to ten minutes. I coordinated with the producers, audio engineers and directors in order to mold the show into a successful reality show I learned how to work fast and trust my instincts. Everyone who worked there was helpfull and fun. The hardest part of the job was leaving each day.The most enjoyable part of the job was being in control of so many cameras. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Secure
Account Executive (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 16, 2014
You have to sacrifice your morals and christian beliefs for this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training
Client Portfolio Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 9, 2014
This position had allowed me to grow in credit/collection area. Training and coaching has really made a impact on my professional career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work
Lead Auditor (Former Employee), Paramus, NJOctober 6, 2014
Pros: benefit package is ok
Cons: no policy for promotion fro within
The best about it was that it is within 3 miles from home
That is about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CBS/Westwood One
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 4, 2014
Very exciting place to work. A team environment that fostered great work and efficiency. Started there as an intern and was then offered a job and subsequently promoted to a different department. Best part was the actual work involved (sporting events, entertainment, etc). Hardest part was the hours, eventual was moved to overnights which was difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very quiet place to work, no laughter
Internship (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: no ho joy intheoffice
a typical day i got to my desk do insurance reimbursement, sent out letters, updating patients medical records.i remember this one girl was very friendly to me and willing to show me the ropes because i was new there. the hardest part out of the job was no one to laugh or smile with. the only thing i enjoyed was going to the mail room that piece of – more... equipment was fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical long days and grind of a newsroom
Assignment Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 19, 2014
Working to serve the public was most enjoyable. Getting results and giving people a voice was extremely satisfying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for CBS News & The New York Times granted me the ability to work in a very structured and organized environment.
Telephone Survey Interviewer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: there were always snacks and coffee to keep us motivated.
Cons: no full time assignments, only per-diem work.
Working for CBS News & The New York Times on a typical day at work would consist of doing surveys on the phone while multi-tasking with using the head set, the computer screen and data entry. I learned how people in New York and other states in America feel about political matters affecting our country today. My management skills were improved in that – more... I learned how to do my job without expressing my opinions to maintain the scientific purpose of the questions being asked to clients. My co-workers mingled well with me when snacking but we all had our own individual stations so we rarely communicated on a personal level. The hardest part of the job was working 2 shifts and leaving work at 1am after calling the West Coast to complete polls. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to complete surveys with over 150 questions in English and Spanish without offering a prize or gift and knowing that my completed polls were successful due to respondents respecting my professional speaking voice over the phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, good environment
Writer/Producer - Freelance (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 11, 2014
I learn something new each day I am there about handling writing and producing under time constraints. The people are very kind and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up experience
Production Assistant (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 10, 2014
It's a place where you get your experience and GET OUT! Ideal for recent college grads or anyone just breaking into the industry but for anyone with glamorous long-term goals, this small station in Richmond won't cut it and surely neither will the salary!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always a busy place makes the day go by quicker
Business Analyst-Full time (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2014
Always a busy place in and out of meetings. Overall a great place to work, learn a lot in this type of environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun workplace with very talented personnel.
Technical Supervisor/Broadcast Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 9, 2014
First job out of school. Very grateful to TBWA for the opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day clerk
Day Cleaner (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 1, 2014
stocked ladies rooms with toilet paper paper towels an feminine products it was only seasonal did not teach anything so was unable to learn and grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Associate Producer (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 16, 2014
No room for advancement or growth. Management tries its best to hold you in one place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive Enviornment
Satellite/Dubroom/Crews Technician May (Current Employee), New York, New YorkAugust 13, 2014
Pros: fast pace enviornment, stories change everyday
Cons: it can get crazy with the amount of people working on one project
A typical day includes seeing what the major headlines are around the world. Finding crews in different parts the world to produce footage for the story. Searching through interviews and footage that can be used best for a piece a producer to write to. The people at the job are great to work with. When crunch time comes to our office I am ready to work – more... and I truly enjoy the fast pace work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Board/Sound Engineer/On-Air Talent (Current Employee), Southfield, MIJuly 31, 2014
I absolutely love the environment, its like I'm never working because I love it so much!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good freelance opportunity
Freelance Worker (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: work in an old-school company with classic studio atmosphere
Cons: hardly any benefits; expect to work holidays or lose pay
There are different levels of employment and very few new official CBS employees with CBS benefits. Some units use an outside payroll company to keep employees in a temp capacity and offers few to no benefits. This means no vacation, sick leave or holiday pay. If you are offered a job be sure to ask about benefits and get it in writing. Some employees – more... belong to unions. Union employees seem to fare a little better than freelance/temp employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
News Reporter (Former Employee), Odessa, TXJuly 7, 2014
Pros: learning curve is fast, can be fun, on tv, meet new people
Cons: pay is terrible, no breaks, work-life balance, need new cameras
Learning things were essential but no matter how great you do you'll still be told you're doing terrible. Literally. The best thing to do if you work for CBS-7 is to learn what you can and get out as soon as possible before you have a heart-attack.

1 2 3 4 5