CBS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with little or no micromanagement
GRAPHIC DESIGNER (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CA 90036January 18, 2018
Designs and motion graphics for DVD and Blu-ray were created with little supervision. Designs did have to go thru an approval process, bet there was no stress involved in the work here, even on the higher profile projects
Pros
relaxed atmosphere
Cons
treated like freelancers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Editor/feed room/playback (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
• Edited news promos, offline commercial spots
• Led all details of video productions
• Worked on video story boards for concepts
• Rough cut editing, final cut for TV
• Feeds, playback and editing

Pros
Good Staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Part of My Internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 6, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job was that I learned something new everyday and my bosses were willing to answer any questions that I had and were friendly.
Pros
Great Working Culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Media Company
Senior Program Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2018
You control your career growth, networking is important
Move around for experience within different divisions
Must have a good work ethic to succeed
Pros
Colbert Show tickets
Cons
corp building location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Radio Board Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 16, 2017
CBS is a great company to work for. Unfortunately they only hire you for less than 10 hours a week in the programming department. I wasn't there for too long , but overall great place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Producer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 5, 2017
While I was at this CBS affiliate there were several management changes. The company struggled and had to cancel several newscasts. This meant that about 40 people lost their job all on the same day.
Pros
Given the option to buy an extra week of vacation
Cons
No holidays off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 28, 2017
Lugar de trabajo divertido, buenos compañeros ect.
Pros
Si
Cons
Si.descanso
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat
Cable Installer/Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 27, 2017
even the supervisors are out to throw you under the bus, as a per diem employee your union dues arent taken from your checks, the supervisors will lay you off if someone blames you for their mistakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Competitive
Moderator/ Recruiter, Part Time (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 27, 2017
Because we had to recruit it was very fast paced and cut throat and competitive to recruit people. However, being a moderator was a lot of fun and exciting! I enjoyed my coworkers. Training was very good.
Pros
Exciting, good benefits
Cons
competitive, fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Managment
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Charlottesville, VANovember 27, 2017
Poor Management and poor leadership led to high turnover on the sales and admin side. I can not speak for the talent and news side. The leadership was too lack luster, overall very friendly but no grit or growth in wanting to grow your career, advance, or make more money. Poor people in some roles make your job harder. Poor training as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement
MASTER CONTROL TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 16, 2017
Unfortunately due to technical layoffs the job that I held for 16 years is longer available. Downsizing and hubbing out to non union companies to save money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, productive and friently
Traffic Manager (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 16, 2017
a typical day is scheduled and inclusive. I learned to enjoy the job of a sales person. Management was ever changing and the workplace culture was great. everyone got along. The hardest part of my job was doing my work in a culture of people having fun. I had a schedule to adhere to and the radio guys were never serious. the most enjoyable part of my job was when artist would come and perform for the staff.
Pros
whats more to like, it's radio.
Cons
If the station director didn't like you personally, you wouldn't last long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work
Page (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 9, 2017
During the limited Page Program duration I gained contacts and close friends. This was a behind the scenes look at live tapings and shows at both CBS locations.

The pay wasn't the best, but this is more of a part-time gig to work that keeps your foot in the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best internship
Television Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CANovember 9, 2017
I've had a few internships in the industry - this one was the best. there was no discrimination, they had an open door policy. The interns were able to mix and mingle with people of all levels. Employees were always happy to give interns insight on their day to day to help you determine which area you want to go into.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good family company
Kyocera Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Burnsville, MNNovember 5, 2017
You get a company car and phone.
You are kept in an area and not sent all over the entire metro
Sometimes the machines can be tough to fix
They have really good Christmas parties and the employees each will get a gift
Pros
Owners care about you
Cons
Low pay compared to other companies in Twin Cities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, terrible branch
Multimedia Advertising Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 25, 2017
no base salary, all commission. They start you on a draw and then take away your base after 3 months. the role is all new business and you're expected to hit the ground running and close. Great role if you come from an agency -- very high commission. terrible role if you want to do honest developmental business as there is no base during slower months.
Pros
cool events, nice people, national offices
Cons
corrupt management, bad customer service, disorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting place to work
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 23, 2017
I worked for CBS radio throughout college and beyond. It was such an exciting time in my life and I loved the culture of my environment. The people were so fun and we worked hard, but loved our jobs. I left only because I had other career aspirations. It was a fun time in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company great people
Madam Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 17, 2017
challenging and very honorable hour scheduling for this industry.
You just need to be connected to get in and accept to be free lance but once you are in you will be called back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Stage- Floor manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 15, 2017
Communication is key and if employees do not make their concerns known, no one will be aware of their well being. Management is mainly loyal to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible experience
Casting Associate Producer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 13, 2017
If I could work for CBS for the rest of my life I would be happy with that. The culture of this company is top notch and the content that they produce is incredible!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport