CDI Head Start Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 45 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication , responsible, committed to my work
Enfermera Generalista (Current Employee) –  Puerto RicoMay 26, 2016
Apply knowledge of health, nutrition, human development, community health, principles, practices and procedures acquired nursing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at people are nice and friendly
Program Aide (Former Employee) –  Parker Heights, WAMarch 11, 2016
Really fun working environment.
Management is really understanding.
Kids make your day go by fast.
Co Workers are friendly and helpful.
They offer free CDA classes .
Very easy to move up in the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and mind boggling environment for teachers!
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Beeville, TXFebruary 20, 2016
I created lesson plans every week for my 18-22 children. During the day, we learned current events, songs, read, actively interacted, learned how to do everything to prepare a child for Kinder. This was the best job I ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for the time
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Harvey, ILFebruary 17, 2016
Had a good year, loved some of the activities they provided as well as the advancement opportunities. I loved the children and families I serviced I enjoyed my job.
Pros
For me, it was close to home
Cons
Some favoritism, lack of experienced supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crisis Management Company
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHNovember 4, 2015
Company was fine for the year they were around. The agency could only be in the area for a year, but was a good place to work for during their time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, productive, inclusive work environment
Education Service Manager (Former Employee) –  State wideOctober 18, 2015
In my capacity as an Education and Disability Consultant I am able to provide Head Start agencies, that have lost there grant, with technical assistance. Through my efforts I ensure that the program are licensed, in compliance, and follow the Head Start Performance Standards.
Pros
Supportive Management
Cons
Slow work flow
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my statement since the change from CDI to D&E head start
Program assistant (Current Employee) –  YOUNGSTOWN OHIOSeptember 26, 2015
when the company was CDI headstart I felt valued monetarily and ethically it has changed and if I were to rate it today it would get only 1 1/2 star and that would be generous
Pros
i love the children! it is an amazing feeling to watch them learn
Cons
ALMOST NO BREAKS, NO BENEFITS, MONETARY CUTBACKS, NO ROOM FOR ADVANCEMENT
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RUN, don't walk, to find a new job!!
teacher (Former Employee) –  chicago areaAugust 14, 2015
CDI came into our program promising that everything would be better. It wasn't. They came in and hired all the same people who couldn't run our program with the old organization to run it through CDI. They kept it running, but didn't care about the employees or the kids.
Pros
Kept our salary the same, working in my same building
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
PreSchool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Absecon, NJJune 25, 2015
Great supervisor and great staff to work with. I learned that I love working with small children. The best part of the job was the children.Our cook went out on sick leave and we each had to take a day cooking for 40 children. I learned how to cook for large amounts of people.The hardest part of job learning to work with 3 and 4 year olds.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Education
Lead Teacher (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 30, 2015
CDI was just a grantee company that helps you until another company comes in and takes over company which happen to be Head Start.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with families
Family Advocate/Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMay 14, 2015
This organization is a fantastic advocacy for needy families and their children. The only difficult part of this job was giving up some evening giving for an extremely long 18 plus hour day.
Pros
Helping the community
Cons
No health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting...
Program Aide (Former Employee) –  Farmville, VAMarch 25, 2015
-my co-workers were very nice and supportive
-the hardest part of my job was when telling the children no to something
-management could of been a little better,but it also had a lot to do with new head people
-the part I loved most about my job was seeing the children advance in things they didn't know before they came and when you see them blossom out of their little shy shell
-what I learned while I was there it's not always about just having fun the children have "test" they have to pass(which i never knew since they are so young)
Pros
free lunch and free lessons(helpful tips)
Cons
healrhcare was too expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is ok to work for.
Family Advocate (Former Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJanuary 19, 2015
The management is fair. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new things and meeting new people from different cultures and backgrounds. The company provides great trainings.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership
Lead Teacher (Former Employee) –  columbus ohioDecember 27, 2014
My day at work was implement lesson plans and responsible for observing children ages3-5 in order to determine their development level. I gained valuable experience of working with children with special needs and typical children in a full time inclusion program. I worked in a team teaching setting that taught me a great amount of leadership skills and communication skills. The most joyous part of my job was watching the children meet their goal in development growth.
Pros
meals provided
Cons
summer breaks decreased my income
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PANovember 3, 2014
Really only best to work at to enter into an entry level position in Teaching, Social Work, or Administration. If your looking for career advancement or a liveable wage, best to look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Infant/ toddler health care specialist (Former Employee) –  clearwater floridaOctober 16, 2014
Working with kids is my passion. I enjoyed working with the kids and the community every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Center Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 14, 2014
CDI is a very productive and and meaningful place to work. I gained so much knowledge to carry me a life time to manage and meet standards and guidelines. I enjoyed working with my co workers as a team and enjoyed working with the children and families i serve.
Pros
program is free to qualifying families
Cons
retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 28, 2014
I enjoyed working with so many families and children. Busy workplace so the day flew by. Coworkers were great and always helped out when needed.
Pros
families, children, and coworkers
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization that was truly for and about the kids
Abbott Secretary (Former Employee) –  Camden, NJJune 26, 2014
CDI Head Start was a pleasant place to work. I not only worked there but also enrolled 2 of my children there.

The staff went above and beyond for my family. The children were always nurtured by staff as if they were family. Meals were made from scratch. Early mornings you would smell fresh muffins baking and Shrimp Alfredo was not rare meal for lunch. The children loved coming to school. I, on occasion, would spend time in the classes to get teaching tips from the teachers.

The Management staff never felt that they were above sitting in the classes to give coverage. It all felt like family
Pros
a true family environment
Cons
cdi was only a temporary grantee. gone too soon
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disliked
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Augusta, KSJune 12, 2014
When it was JUST Head Start it was an awesome programs but when CDI took over then Child Start it went down the drain
Pros
family style meals
Cons
we wasn't a family anymore
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture