Find companies:
CNN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

CNN Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with no consideration for work/life balance
Senior Producer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 9, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: no breaks; no work/life balance; lack of communication
The company prides itself on work/life balance, but if you are on the production side it doesn't exist. The hours are random and management lacks the ability to communicate with each other and staff. A typical day can be really busy or really slow, depending on the news of the day. It is every person for themselves mentality at CNN because everyone – more... wants to keep their job and you don't know from day-to-day if you still have a job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Publicist (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 28, 2014
cool projects, cool people. there are a lot of people who are great at their jobs and it is an honor to be around them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Producer Editor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 22, 2014
Typical Day: Read, return emails, work on rundown stories, possible shoots, edits and meetings.

Learned: Editing very quickly, shooting video, communications with co-workers, publicists, talent and management.

Hardest Part Of the Job: Actually wanting to do more but due to the lack of time and scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting being a part of the 1990 Presidential visit in The Hague
Staff support, CNN Presidential visit 1990 (Former Employee), Den Haag, ZHFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: positive with a cohesive group.
Cons: late hours
Very busy time working with CNN staff. Much conferring about logistics, setting up interviews, ensuring equipment was up and running.

Although, keeping on top of everything was trying at times; it also lent a sense of invigorating excitement.

The CNN staff was very pleasant to work with. I felt as if I were part of the family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits bad environment
Security Officer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaDecember 14, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay
Cons: management, rules
The benefits and the pay are competitive. The environment is not one of which you will be able to grow quickly and advance. Direct management has been in their positions so long and they are comfortable so the last things on their minds are to maybe ruffle some feathers to better the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for anyone interested in TV news business
Video Journalist, Production Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 30, 2013
Pros: opportunity to learn
Good place for people with strong passion for news and television
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but better if you are staff.
Freelance Bureau Assignment Editor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 17, 2013
Great pay, great work environment, and great people. Very hard to get a staff position though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice location
Network Cable Technician (Former Employee), ny,nyOctober 14, 2013
Pros: learned alot from engineer
Cons: short term job
learned majority of how it works. Had a hand in every thing. established good habits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work balance
Nursing student (Former Employee), Newark, NJOctober 9, 2013
Pros: free lunch
good place to work good people enjoy all my coworker and the management also was ok
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good learning experience
Intern (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 29, 2013
very good learning experience. A lot of hands on work. Nice people all helping me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Senior Photojournalist (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 8, 2013
Cover national news for most of the prime shows. 30 percent travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work and friendly environment
News Intern (Current Employee), Washington, DCAugust 1, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: not sure
I have got a lot to learn by being at CNN. As an intern I have found everyone cooperative and helpful. All people were willing to help and make you feel comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a big ship yet versatile
Computer Editor/ All Platform Photo Journalist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 25, 2013
Worked here 15 years and enjoyed seeing my work go directly to air all around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Television Journalism
Line Producer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2013
Competitive, rewarding and fun place to work. Learn the TV news business. Hone your journalism skills. News doesn't take holidays and neither will you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT WAS A GREAT PLAE
Senior Corporal Security Guard (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 13, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: yes
CNN WAS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK BUT WHEN WE GOT NEW MANAGERS IT WAS NOT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Network Booking Intern (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 7, 2013
On a typical day as an intern, I would work on various different projects. I would assist in breaking news and also prepared for breaking news. I escorted guests that were scheduled for on-air interviews. I job shadowed different producers. These are just some responsibilities I took on with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would like to work wherebur boss care about you
Senior Corporal Security Guard (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 6, 2013
I work very good with my c0-work and I was also a training and it is a great place to work but when it comes to manager it scene like they don't like to really help u
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Broadcast Engineer System Technologist (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 16, 2012
Pros: pro: towers had easy access from metro and onsite parking for early shifts.
Cons: con: 0800 lunch break meant only breakfast food available on the street.
Management was proactive by supplying resources to skills training and promoted cross discipline development.
One of the most enjoyable yet high stress places to work.
Coworkers were all professional and we meshed as a team.
With four floors and seven studios to take care of, getting from one point in the building to another does keep one fit.
As the – more... facility was basically in a 24 hour production mode, the hardest part of the job was balancing the tasks to the schedule and the length of time to get services done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Marketing (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 29, 2012
The people were energetic and super nice! They made me feel at home right away.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work, schedules are really not fit for employees with younger children
Transportation Facilities Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 22, 2012
Pros: excellent company
Cons: scheduling
i would recommend this company to any job seeker. its just it didnt fit my schedule for my family