Find companies:
Cabela's Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
208 reviews

Cabela's Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Box retail
Gun Library Manager (Former Employee), retail, usaMay 29, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: more work
Excellent learning environment Q3&4 are busy and very tollling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Warehouse? inventory (Former Employee), Reno, NVMay 29, 2014
Easy work
Interesting customers
Good management
Glad for the opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job and Place to Work!
Cabela's Club VISA Representative (Former Employee), Lehi, UTMay 27, 2014
The people and environment were Great!
I loved working with the public and providing them assistance with a great product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store, great environment.
Inventory Manager / Operations Manager (Former Employee), Allen, TXMay 27, 2014
The staff was great, for the most part. People really wanted to do a good job and really enjoyed what they were doing. Store management needed to get more creative with motivating the staff and keeping up morale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor attitude toward employees, low respect and ignorant attitude.
RTL Outfitter (Former Employee), Dundee, MIMay 24, 2014
Pros: enjoyed sales and interaction with customers. excellent training program.
Cons: lack of employee respect.
Spent four months with micromanagement supervisor having poor sales skills. She spent most of the time on the computer trying to understand the system. Did every job including stocking and selling merchandise. Was the best sales person they ever had. Rude and ignorant supervisor with poor management skills; got tired of her yelling at me in front of – more... customers when I took my scheduled breaks. The management needs stress management training. Upper management attitude does not filter down to lower management. Too much price changing for friends and favorite employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced corporate environment within the Strategic Projects Department
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Sidney, NEMay 20, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: same routine
I am an Executive Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Corporate and Marketing Strategies. I am not just his assistant but the office manager of our department. I keep regular tabs on supplies, budgets, vacations, meetings, conference room bookings, notes within meetings, organization of Quarterly Reviews and the Executive Yearly Retreat. – more... I am the face of our department and give my high energy and pleasant personality to all I come into contact with. Interacting with people is the best part of my job because I have incredible communication and interpersonal skills. The hardest part of my job is the same routine of the tasks; I am a perpetual learner and desire learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very energitic and fun place to work
Sales Associate, Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Ft Worth, TxMay 14, 2014
Greeting all customers, selling the Cabela's credir card. Working the sales floor and the registers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good, some not-so good
Outfitter (Former Employee), Allen, TxMay 7, 2014
Pros: upper management, 5.01, morning meetings
Cons: short work weeks and manager changed time sheets w/o telling you!
I really liked working for Cabela's. I worked in a field I likes and knew a lot about. However the internal politics were awful. We had one Outfitter who enjoyed making people mad and thought it was fun to see how mad he could make them,,,because he was friends with the department manager and had 'job security'.
The company sold quality products and – more... i was proud of that. But that one bozo made it hard to take pride in my department.
Often the department manager would alter the work schedule - but would never tell you - then complain that you missed work, or came in when you weren't suppose to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!
Office/PICS Associate (Former Employee), Hamburg, PAMay 7, 2014
THIS COMPANY SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT EVER WORK FOR THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE A NUMBER, NOT A NAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buda is fantastic
Store Admin (Former Employee), BudaMay 2, 2014
Pros: people and culture at the store level
Cons: compensation, corporate leaders
The in store Senior Management team is fantastic. Fun and exciting culture. Opportunity for advancement. However they are getting too big for their perceived internal culture. From the corporate standpoint, the Outfitters used to be top priority. Not anymore. Corporate directors no longer care about the quality of people the company employs. They quality – more... of people that work the floor and at store level are what keep the customers coming back again and again; the exceptional customer service. They are doing away with knowledgeable employees and taking warm bodies instead. They will become Walmart before you know it. It's very sad to watch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but hours and pay could be better.
Seasonal Outfitter (Former Employee), Allen, TXMay 1, 2014
Pros: friendly atmosphere, good people
Cons: short notice on ending seasonal employment, not enough hours, only hire part time.
Fun place to work with good people and good managers but they only hire part time employees and do not give you enough hours to make a living. Would be an awesome place to work if they hired full time and pay was a little better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Post Falls, IDApril 27, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch, fun co-workers
Cons: poor hours, low pay
we would be restricted to working the cash registers and stockint the front area, I was allowed to operate a small eletric vehicle to assist in retrieving shopping carts. We perfered not to leave the area due to the customers woulod ask us complicated questions and we would perfer to not make our staff look bad by not knowing the answers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Allen, TXApril 26, 2014
Pros: on and off site events
Great place to work. If you enjoy the outdoors and wildlife scene you'll love working here. Fun environment to work in with great advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be!
Club Card (Current Employee), Boise, IDApril 25, 2014
Pros: country music is always playing, great atmosphere, store set up
Cons: our healthcare isn't approved by obama
Very fun and very country! I'm always happy to be there! A typical day consists of me taking applications for our Club Visa Card. We're generally pretty steady, but some days more than others. I have learned a lot about customer privacy and teamwork along with being able to build relationships and trust with your customers. Management is pretty well – more... staffed and is pretty fair with how to handle things, considering Club is without a manager at the moment. The outfitters I also work with are always fun to be around and work with. Life in Cabela's is never boring! The hardest part of the job (for me) would have to be not being able to go over 28 hours per week. I love to work and it bums me out when I'm not allowed to pick up more hours after reaching 28. The most enjoyable part of my job would have to be just talking with people and getting to know a part of them. It's just cool to see how different everyone's lives really are! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the people I worked with. Management on the other hand was impossible.
Dept lead (Former Employee), Glendale AzApril 24, 2014
Pros: cool place to work if you like the outdoors
Cons: management low pay
The customers at Cabelas are great. The management or lack of was impossible. They are very degrading and belittling. They only look out for each other.
The pay is extremely low. Hours are cut to a minimum.There are no weekends off. Close one night open the next morning. They are clueless when it comes to running a buisiness. Only care about gun sales,no – more... other dept matters.
Managers know nothing of the outdoors. They are just there to make you miserable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIApril 23, 2014
Pros: daytime hours
Cons: part-time status
answer phones, assist customers with paperwork for charge card, assist the bank with customer information, process payments for the charge card, assist customers to find merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
CSR (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEApril 22, 2014
I loved working at Cabela's. I learned A LOT about a whole variety of things from materials to ammunition!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Bad Management
Cashier (Former Employee), Rogers, ARApril 18, 2014
The title says it all. Some good co-workers. Benefits will try to take extra money for their mistakes. Management only cares about their "bottom line".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Camping Associate (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTApril 11, 2014
A typical work day would be full of customers and managers yelling at you and insulting my intelligence. the workplace itself was not that safe. there were too many managers telling you what to do at the same time and expected large tasks to be finished in minutes. customers were extremely disrespectful along with fellow employees. it felt like working – more... at a high school with all of the cliques that were formed between departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company at start
Archery/ Auto/ Camping ASM (Former Employee), Dundee, MIApril 9, 2014
Pros: learned a lot
Cons: poor pay
Cabela's was a fantastic company to work for however once they went public the first thing they did was cut salary positions.

About Cabela's Inc.

Cabela’s Incorporated, headquartered in Sidney, Nebraska, is a leading specialty retailer, and the world’s largest – Read more