Cabela's Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 875 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Role at Cabelas
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Glen Allen, VASeptember 8, 2016
Customer Service

Provide Legendary customer service to Cabela’s customers and help them with their needs  Answer customer calls as well as interact with Cabela’s customers face to face regarding their inquiries and needs  Provide support to other managers when they needed assistance and with other aspects of the store when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Buda, TXFebruary 21, 2017
the employer really tried to show the appreciation for the employees with bbqs, etc. learned new things everyday and was able to meet new people from different places.
Pros
showed how appreciated you were
Cons
doctors notes werent accepted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Fishing Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Rogers, MNJanuary 4, 2017
Management is very lacking, and is not helpful in many situations. The staff, however, is very friendly and works great together. All team players and everyone gets along for the most part.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Awful Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most fun job I ever had! Pay isn't great, but you got a discount merchandise.
Outfitter (store start-up) (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIFebruary 22, 2017
Loved meeting and assisting customers from all over the world. Co-workers were great!! Loved my manager.

It was a fun company to work for, if the pay were better, I would go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Sales (Former Employee) –  Ringgold, GAJanuary 4, 2017
Encourages employees to improve knowledge, abilities and skills.
Prepares project plans on time and in sufficient detail.
End of year statements are complete and accurate.
Maintains and monitors progress of project plan in order to stay on target.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment,
Teacher of Fly Tying Class in Winter (Former Employee) –  Richfield, WIDecember 22, 2016
Enjoyable retail setting to work at with a busy fast paced atmosphere which will keep one interested and excited to participate.
Pros
Cabelas Points
Cons
Recently company was sold to larger company Bass Pro Shops
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive place to work
Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDAugust 15, 2016
In my department, everyday seems the same. Arrive, set up, make fudge and nuts, clean up and close.
I learned how to be more social, how to deal with the needs of the customer and not on what I think would be the right fit.
management is a little lose, we weren't really trained we were kind of just thrown out there to figure it out. My co-workers are fantastic, very much like family.
the hardest part of my job is finding something to do if everything has been taken care of.
the most enjoyable part about it is how laid back it is and that i get to make sweets almost everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place and great people
Fishing Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KY 40509August 15, 2016
Cabelas is a great place to work. Amazing people! Most everyone is hardworking and is passionate about the outdoors. i learned alot about the retail industry i did not know about, as this was my first retail oppourtunity. Just show up to work, work hard, and give every customer that comes in that legendary customer service.
Pros
Co workers, easy
Cons
Open availability on weekends for PT, FT has Open availability everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggressive Jerks
Deli Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Hamburg, PANovember 18, 2016
I worked dish-washing. Hours cut and expected me to work for two. Aggressive Lead wouldn't stop screaming confusing "Believe in yourself" rhetoric at me. If you want me to work harder don't scream at me.
Pros
Good lunches for Kitchen employees
Cons
Mean mean leads
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced.
Inbound Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEOctober 24, 2016
Answering inbound calls in call center. Entered catalog orders for seasonal merchandise. Had to be on your toes & ready to find whatever the customer wanted. Liked it, but it was only seasonal.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Call center was loud at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other companies in the area are overall much better for employment
Retail Sales Outfitter (Former Employee) –  Hamburg, PASeptember 27, 2016
Untrained management. No communication through all of the departments. They will work you less than 28 hours a week. Very low wages for the area. I would not/ did not recommend this company to friends and family for employment or shopping.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Now marketing (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LAJanuary 28, 2017
schedules required to be "available" 7 days a week, 5 am to 10 pm.

hollydays,weekends, etc.

mixed shifts.
manager are great.
Pros
provide uniform. and very good training
Cons
no health insurance or other benefits as parttime workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of good management,
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Avon, OHFebruary 10, 2017
Working there is fun and i love the work but the management is poor and needs worked on.The hardest part about the job is the management the actual job is easy but dealing with poor management ruins every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Club Booth
Club Booth (Former Employee) –  Lavista, NEJanuary 9, 2017
I started working here as a Cashier part time moved to the club booth as full time. I loved this job. I loved working as a team. I also loved meeting new people and the customers
Pros
1/2 Off everything in a store, customers, Team
Cons
late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Cash Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lone Tree, COAugust 2, 2016
i loved working for cabelas. i was in the cash office so i handled the store vault. i answered and followed corporate, not the in store managers. the new manager in charge of customer service didnt seem to understand that i didnt answer to her so she found an excuse to fire me. told corporate that i had lied about something that they refused to tell me when i asked. its a great place to work. some of the management is hard to deal with but if you just keep your head down and do your job its amazing.
Pros
25% off everything in the store
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love outdoors this is the place for you.
Marine associate (Current Employee) –  League City, TXFebruary 4, 2017
Fantastic work place with great scenery with a great co workers. Lots of room to grow! You actually get to have one on one time with the customer to really create growth and awareness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer service and a fun work enviornment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, IDDecember 26, 2016
Cabela's Provides you with outfitters who know what you maybe looking for from a new gun to camping and hunting equipment.
Pros
great employees, amazing customer service, and they work as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 7, 2017
Fun work place, very friendly workers. Management isn't the greatest and are very unorganized! They pay good, but you also work hard! Just show up to work on time and don't call in and you'll be good.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It WAS great..
Lead Backend Outfitter (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXDecember 4, 2016
I loved my job in the beginning. but it eventually turned sour quickly. They do not have an understanding of what business is. The decisions made by the management never make sense. It is a fun place to work though.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great family feeling work environment
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee) –  Tualatin, ORSeptember 30, 2016
company started out being a really fun place to work but lost site of the core values that it was built on. restructure of company made it harder to move up. if you want to move up make sure to get a degree.
Cons
irregular schedules, work holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cabela's Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 940 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7