Find companies:
Cablevision
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
462 reviews

Cablevision Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professsional interersting nice environment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Melville, NYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, and free cable, phone, and interenet
Cons: schedule
A typical day would consist of high call volume and fast paced. The coworkers was great team workers. Managemnet were a great help when they can assist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced ever changing
CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT (Former Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 21, 2014
Pros: free cable
Cons: management wasn't too flexible or accomidating.
For the most part I enjoyed working at Cablevision
Since I had years of experience in customer service and my position was a customer service rep, i already had the skills to interact and do what was required. I didn't find my Supervisor to be very helpful, when it came to if I needed extra help in an area of my job. The benefits were very good. I enjoyed – more... my co-workers and the cable benefit was great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice enviroment employees were friendly
Bookkeeper (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYAugust 20, 2014
Pros: monthly free lunches, flexible hours
Cons: breaks, healthcare, free cable service for my resident.
My daily task was I received daily reports from billing and collections via cable data and e-mails then posted funds to an excel sheet to be used at the end of the month to reconcile company bank accounts to the general ledger. Made bank deposits for various department within the company. Post credits and debits to accounts as needed.I was responsible – more... for all of the stores on Long Island. I was a team player within the department.My co-workers were easy to get along with.
The job was not a hard task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fune
customer service (Former Employee), melvilleAugust 18, 2014
was in call center where i took payments set up changes of service talked to customers about bills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Optimum Store Coordinator (Current Employee), Freeport, NYAugust 16, 2014
• Process cash payments, enter data and answer incoming calls
• Coordinate cable, internet and phone packages
• Provide excellent service, maintain files and resolve issues with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 15, 2014
Pros: training new experiences
Cons: communication was slow
I enjoyed working at Cablevision my experience coming in and when I moved on was priceless the staff my supervisor always made my job interesting and the work environment was buzy but always professional. I did indeed learn something new daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an extremely good company to be part of
Account Executive (Current Employee), Oakland, NJAugust 14, 2014
A typical day is basically going door to door trying to winback customers from competitors. The management team is extremely helpful and the co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job is when I have to go out during incliment climate. The most enjoyable part of my my is the gratification I get when I make a sale
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks Do Not Outway the Stress
C.S.R (Former Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 14, 2014
Pros: free phone, internet, & all cable channels
Cons: aggravation, ulcers, a nervous feeling of an getting written up for something or am i getting fired for something!
If you can brush off the petty job gossip, rumor mills, & back stabbing, then of course, FREE phone, internet, & ALL cable channels is worth it. If you are a family oriented person this job is not for you...they change your schedule whenever they want to, demand mandatory OT or day swaps, change the rules when they feel like it, & aggravate your over – more... the smallest & simplest thing. One day you can have hard candy/cough drops, spill-proof cups, or your cell phone on your desk or in your pocket/pocketbook, the next day all of the above have to be left in your car. Aggravating!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Parsippany, NJAugust 12, 2014
Pros: able to leave early, free lunches at meetings
Cons: the pay rate.
MY day would consist of visiting the head ends and hub sites to make sure that the building a/c, lights and area inside and out are in good conditions. great bunch of co-workers to be around we all got along, if anyone need help someone was there to lend a hand. the most enjoyable part of the job was that the people of the company treated you with kindness. – more... the hardest part was trying to get parts that you needed for jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Direct Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Newark, NJAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great pay, and benefits
Cons: low quality of work and life balance
Great company to work for all around, just have to be able to adapt and overcome to the company constant changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharing knowledge
Director of development, Lustgarten Foundation (Former Employee), Bethpage, NYAugust 8, 2014
Pros: sharing knowledge
I enjoy teaching my co-workers and sharing my knowledge. I always do this on a continual basis because I believe that knowledge is extremely valuable to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Residential Account Executive (Former Employee), Oakland, NJAugust 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches from time to time, flexibility with time
Cons: hitting your numbers
Great friendly atmosphere at the office among co-workers. The pay is great only if you get enough installs in one month from your sales. If you don't perform well than your gone. High Turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
IS Retail Applications Support Supervisor (Former Employee), Edison, NJAugust 6, 2014
There was a lot of room for advancement and the benefits were great. Management was always there for support and the co-workers were like family. We accomplished a lot of big tasks together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good benefits to the job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Stratford, CTAugust 6, 2014
Taking incoming calls from customer and meeting Cablevisions standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better watch out before deciding to work here.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Melville, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: health benefits, free cable/tv/phone, mostly nice co-workers
Cons: too many to list
I spent about a year and a half working at the Melville call center as a CSR. I've been working in customer service for over 10 years and you certainly learn about the poor qualities in people in dealing with these customers. They were some of the nastiest, lowest form of human beings that I've ever had the displeasure of ever knowing/talking to.

I – more... worked an overnight shift from 8pm-4:30am, Tuesday-Saturday, which was what I was hired for. I had full knowledge of the shift I was working when I initially started, but took the job with the assurance that within short order that I'd be able to post for another, more reasonable earlier work schedule. Guess what happened to that? One of many lies from this company.

The "management", or lack thereof, was horrendous for lack of a better term. They were secluded in their offices, with the door shut and they only times they'd come out would be to go to the bathroom or get something to eat. Management were completely clueless about the job that it was comical and frustrating at the same time.

The chain of command was a joke. If you needed to escalate a call for a "supervisor" to take, you'd first have to go to the lead desk. Most of my encounters with the lead desk was good, but god forbid if one of the supervisors had to take an escalated call. They would do everything under the sun to not take that call off your hands for you. Some great supervision and management for you, right? I think not.

Despite all the negative from working at Cablevision, there were some great benefits from working there: health benefits were outstanding, free cable/tv/phone was a good plus, and most of the co-workers I worked with were easy to get along with and made friends pretty easily. Triple time was paid for a lot of holiday's throughout the year which definitely helped during times of need.

The company is so poorly ran and I honestly question their future as an organization going forward. Their ethics and way they treat their employees are unacceptable, the lack of career advancement makes it very hard to be motivated when you've already hit the 'glass ceiling" already, poor management, playing favorites, the horrendous working hours and ridiculous expectations make working at Cablevision a horrible experience. No assigned desks/sections, short break (30 minutes, really?), and the constant scrutiny were very stressful. I do understand and can appreciate in working in an environment where expectations are high and one wants to be the best at what they do. However, what I didn't appreciate was being treated like a number/statistic, with absolutely no appreciation for the work I did and what others did as well. Absolutely pathetic and really sad if you ask me.

Maybe it's just working in customer service at this job was what made it unsatisfying for me, I don't know. But what I do know is be VERY cautious before deciding to work for this company. That is all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits but work environment could use improvement
Senior Inbound Sales Representative (Current Employee), Jericho, NYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: scheduling, work environment
Great company but a lot of leadership things would have to change wish the job afforded more opportunities for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume Call Center, Must Be Very Productive And Able To Multitask
Customer Service Representative (II) (Former Employee), Newark, NJAugust 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: high stress environment
High Volume Call Center, Must Be Very Productive And Able To Multitask
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fresh Air
Cable Field Technician (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: fresh air
Cons: hard to further education
When i was a cable tech a work day would consist of traveling door to door to customer homes and/or apartments, trouble shooting network issues and fixing problems with the tools provided to me. I learned to be independent and work alone on a regular basis to complete my jobs in a timley manner to company standards. Management was a little difficult – more... to deal with, at times they were not considerate to personal time and would force over time on employees. Not that it was always an issue but I was also working full time and going to school. before enrolling i was told it wouldnt be a problem but after i started school it was usually always an issue when i had class on a work day. The hardest part would be dealing with dirty or unsanitary customer living spaces and having to complete all the jobs under these circumstances. I enjoyed most of my co-workers and the freedom to be outside regularly when i was working with cable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typically High Call Volume in such workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Newark, NJJuly 28, 2014
Pros: healthcare, 401k
Cons: shorter breaks
Call Center Environment

Typical day at work: Computer Desk ready for reviewing billing inquiries along with over the phone repairing/troubleshooting TV/cable equipment.

Hardest part of job: Staying numb to verbiage when non pleasant from customers.

Enjoyable part of job: Having the ability to connect/adapt to a customer personally over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Newark, NJJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free cable
Cons: constant aggravation.
Constant change, a lot of the management is always out to get you (so why hire me) and the pay isn't great at all.

1 2 3 4 5

About Cablevision

Cablevision Systems Corporation is a leading telecommunications and media company with a portfolio of operations that includes – Read more