Cal Poly Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 23, 2015
Quality undergraduate research project investigating machine learning to increase predictive mapping resolution in National Forests.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis ObispoMarch 15, 2015
The Center for Teaching, Learning and Technology at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo is an environment to assist teacher development. As a student assistant, I respond to faculty questions, assist in workshop setup and work on the attendance databases.
Pros
schedule flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Assistant Project Manager in Senior Project (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAFebruary 3, 2015
I had a great experience on my way to receiving a degree at this school. Every major course that I took was full of information and the instructors were very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Project
Cal Poly UAV Configuarator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 27, 2014
We designed and tested a UAV aircraft for Cal Poly Aircraft Design class.

Learned the basics of design and was put through almost a full life cycle of a project.

Coworkers/peers were excellent as all were Engineers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't change anything about my excellent education.
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CASeptember 8, 2014
Cal Poly was a phenomenal school that provided me with endless opportunities to challenge my own mind and grow my ability to design. Above all else, I learned how to learn. I was given confidence to tackle any task, subject or skill. Incredible professors, labs and projects developed a love for work, learning, and design.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on Design Experience
Senior Project (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJune 19, 2014
Design a wastewater treatment plant for Morro Bay, CA to meet effluent regulations.
Compile a complete conceptual and preliminary design report.
Work with a team and present the project to a board with an oral presentation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job.
Agricultural Safety Grader (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMarch 11, 2014
Allowed me to review safety information.
Flexible hours.
Interesting experience working with instructors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great summer job!
Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJanuary 13, 2014
Great summer job working with incoming freshman. The staff is great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for student employees
Housing & Business Services Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CANovember 19, 2013
Decent place to work while going to school. Entry level work where you can gain experience. Co-workers are other students so it usually manages to be fun too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAAugust 28, 2013
Process invoices, assisted marketing department with events, office supply orders and assist students. Hardest part of my job was the commute and the most enjoyable was the relaxed atmosphere.
Pros
benefits and compensation
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Student (Current Employee) –  San Luis ObispoJanuary 25, 2013
I really enjoy Cal Poly's hands-on attitude towards engineering advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to go to school
Student (Former Employee) –  Cal Poly, San Luis ObispoFebruary 15, 2012
Excellent school with great teachers and a hands on environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture