Cal Poly Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Supervisor
Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 31, 2017
● Controlled a staff of 15, per game, in staff placement
● Assisted director of sports operations and facilities with crowd control
● Head coordinator in scanning tickets for Big West Conference sporting events
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad Student Research
Student Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAAugust 21, 2017
A program funded by the LARGEST grant in Cal State history for undergrad students to get research experience in science or math. Inspiring professors.
Pros
Chemistry Department professors, getting paid to do research and learn, can use research as senior project, can use research for school credits, access to industry-grade instrumentation, great community
Cons
Low pay, competitive to get a spot in research.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fair and great place to work
Student Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJune 21, 2017
The school has no benefits for students. The pay was great because its on a research grant but the bookstore was minimum wage with horrible management and very old management skills. They didn't seem to understand how to work with college kids on the higher level of management.
Pros
free lunches and starbucks sometimes.
Cons
poor facilitys
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain valuable experience
Senior Project (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJune 5, 2017
Working for a professor was extremely rewarding. We both collaborated to discuss objectives and scheduling. She taught me a lot and encouraged my own ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAApril 11, 2017
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time working at and attending Cal Poly SLO. They offer flexible hours for students and have a wide variety of jobs available for all skill levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn by doing!
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAFebruary 4, 2017
As a graduate Assistant in Cal Poly, I have collaborated in research opportunities and have helped to provide General Plan. I am using my graphic and research skills to provide documents. We have a friendly work area and my professors who I have worked for them are great CEO's who I have learned a lot from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cal Poly has many excellent jobs for their students
GRADUATE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CADecember 22, 2016
Working on campus is one of the most rewarding experiences a student can have, because your employers trust you with sensitive information and responsibility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desk Assistant
Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJune 20, 2016
I worked on average 2-5 hours a shift. However, I only got about 8 hours per week of minimum wage which was less than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
minimum is minimum
Chef Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMay 31, 2016
do it if you're an on-campus student looking for money. its always a little bit different every day (at least if you help cook and aren't a server) and its very flexible and close by
Pros
flexible, free lunches, fairly friendly people
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and convenient place to work
Bookstore Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cal Poly SLO, CAFebruary 7, 2016
A typical day included walking up and down the aisles making sure the books were in order, making sure the inventory was up to date and helping customers. The hardest part of the job was finding things to do on slow days. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting many new students at the beginning of each quarter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 23, 2015
Quality undergraduate research project investigating machine learning to increase predictive mapping resolution in National Forests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Luis ObispoMarch 15, 2015
The Center for Teaching, Learning and Technology at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo is an environment to assist teacher development. As a student assistant, I respond to faculty questions, assist in workshop setup and work on the attendance databases.
Pros
Schedule flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Assistant Project Manager in Senior Project (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAFebruary 3, 2015
I had a great experience on my way to receiving a degree at this school. Every major course that I took was full of information and the instructors were very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Project
Cal Poly UAV Configuarator (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAOctober 27, 2014
We designed and tested a UAV aircraft for Cal Poly Aircraft Design class.

Learned the basics of design and was put through almost a full life cycle of a project.

Coworkers/peers were excellent as all were Engineers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't change anything about my excellent education.
Resident Advisor (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CASeptember 8, 2014
Cal Poly was a phenomenal school that provided me with endless opportunities to challenge my own mind and grow my ability to design. Above all else, I learned how to learn. I was given confidence to tackle any task, subject or skill. Incredible professors, labs and projects developed a love for work, learning, and design.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on Design Experience
Senior Project (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJune 19, 2014
Design a wastewater treatment plant for Morro Bay, CA to meet effluent regulations.
Compile a complete conceptual and preliminary design report.
Work with a team and present the project to a board with an oral presentation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job.
Agricultural Safety Grader (Current Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAMarch 11, 2014
Allowed me to review safety information.
Flexible hours.
Interesting experience working with instructors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great summer job!
Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAJanuary 13, 2014
Great summer job working with incoming freshman. The staff is great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for student employees
Housing & Business Services Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CANovember 19, 2013
Decent place to work while going to school. Entry level work where you can gain experience. Co-workers are other students so it usually manages to be fun too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Luis Obispo, CAAugust 28, 2013
Process invoices, assisted marketing department with events, office supply orders and assist students. Hardest part of my job was the commute and the most enjoyable was the relaxed atmosphere.
Pros
Benefits and Compensation
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cal Poly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.4
Culture
4.6

Cal Poly Reviews by Location