Find companies:
Calico Corners
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Calico Corners Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative atmosphere where I learned to grow my own business
Workroom coordinator/sales/in store decorater (Former Employee), Brookfield, WIJanuary 13, 2014
I got to decorate the store as I would like each day as well as help decorators and clients on projects for their home. I also got to work closely with the workrooms doing data entry on specific details for construction. The co-workers were all very close like a family and made it fun to come in each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full service home decor store
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Dublin,OhioDecember 2, 2013
Creative, team atmosphere. working with customers to develop a finished look that worked for them in their home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to work here
Design Associate (Former Employee), San JoseNovember 2, 2013
Pros: good customers
Cons: no breaks, lots of gossiping, not open to train properly
This place is very unprofessional and don't train you properly. The culture here is very catty and lots of gossiping in the back room. I loved working with the customers and the product but the wage is very low and you have to be initiated into the "girls club" to succeed here. Another girl left because of the unprofessional behavior here. This is a – more... very difficult place to work for. HR is also very slow to respond. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very enjoyable work environment
Inventory manager (Former Employee), Webster, TXOctober 24, 2013
Pros: good hours
enjoyed the customer service part of this job. The management and benefits were good. The inventory management was time consuming and necessary
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping customers and designing displays but pay is PATHETIC!
Designer Sales (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: working with fabrics and the customers
Cons: very low pay, benefits, horrible upper management, very little opportunity for advancement!
They want you to be career driven but it is hard to do when they pay you so low. You have sales per hour goals but they do not pay commission (which really this is a plus since commission just makes for a very catty enviornment). Full time is considered 37 hours and they will not let you go over that. Raises are almost non existent. The benefits are – more... laughable and expensive. I did enjoy the customers and I had fun working with the other employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, fun and high energy company
Sales Associate Home Decorating (Former Employee), Stuart, FLMay 21, 2013
Building a relationship with clients, assisting them with the proper selection of fabrics and design for their home was the most gratifying part of the position.
Attending monthly staff meeting, learning new products, fabrication and design enabled me to present the information professionally to prospective clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent manager, great retail hours, beautiful products.
In-home Design Consultant (Current Employee), Tampa, FloridaJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: creative environment with great hours.
Cons: low wages and antiquated, redundant systems.
A typical day at work involves making in-home consultant calls. Working on customers design needs and creating quotes for different home decor projects. The store has an excellent manager, very supportive. The hardest part of the job is learning all of the details involved in creating window treatments. The most enjoyable part if assisting customers – more... with their design needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, working with fabrics,furniture to help client achieve their dream house.
Design Consultant/Sales (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 3, 2012
Enjoyed very much working one on one with clients again. Company has an excelent computer program for pricing and visual representation of product that allows customer to visualize the product before purchasing.

Rewarding to see customers receive the look they desired and to see the joy that came with it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liked it for 15 years then they made changes that were not good so i left.
Stock / Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYSeptember 27, 2012
Pros: worked with great people and managers.
Cons: brought in new management and made changes to the company i didn, t like.
It was a great place to work for many a year did well for a while then they made changes i didn,t like and it was time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I sold fabric.
Intern (Former Employee), Brookfield, WISeptember 8, 2012
Worked for minimum wage on Fridays and Saturdays. Not much more to say than that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here also
Design Consultant (Former Employee), Carle Place, NYAugust 29, 2012
I love Design and working for Calico Corners I got to design a lot of peoples houses. This was the most fun I could have at work. Fabric, money and the unlimited resources to make people happy. Great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Stocking Assistant (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 16, 2012
this company was great, I enjoyed the people but left them for more pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced work place
Stock Manager (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLApril 24, 2012
Pros: free lunches and building life long relationships
Cons: no advancement limited hours and opportunities
a typical day hit the ground running with cleaning stocking the store shipping and receiving helping customers and assisting in sales and with the sales people.
I learned how to multitask how to manage the position and assign tasks, sales, interacting with customers and people.
the manager is very nice and accommodating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porductive and fun work atmosphere.
labor coordinator (Former Employee), Shaker Heights, OhioJanuary 26, 2012
Pros: generous discount
Cons: benefits and pay are on par with retail.
Calico Corners has a reputation to hire well rounded employees that make the day fun. The work environment is colaborative and interesting if you like to interior decorating and helping people customize their decor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative environment.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Los Angeles, New York, ConnecticutFebruary 25, 2011
Pros: good hours for retail.
Calico has been a good company to work for over the years. As a manager you can utilize the left and right sides of your brain. You must have strong customer service skills and the ability to resolve problems. Go in knowing that working with custom made products there will always be something that can go wrong. Be prepared to resolve it at store level.