Find companies:
California Pizza Kitchen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

California Pizza Kitchen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement opportunities.
Hostess (Former Employee), McLean, VAApril 9, 2014
Managers feel threatened by intelligent hard-working employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in.
Host (Current Employee), Creve Coeur, MOApril 7, 2014
Greatest team of co-workers. Half-Off food days worked. I like this job also because we have a very tight lunch rush that makes the place busy with guest that work from around the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Management and Environment
PROCUREMENT SERVICES (Former Employee), Matina Del Ray, CAApril 4, 2014
California Pizza Kitchen is a company that knows how to take care of their employees. The management team and my coworkers made it easy to come to work each day. Not to mention the incredible CEO who plays in active rule in the amazing direction of this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CPK is a high energy and fun place to work; however with the new ownership, CPK is going through a new service branded period.
Server Trainer/CBA/New Store Opening team (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDMarch 29, 2014
The new CPK branding period -- by the new owners -- means frequent policy and compensation reevaluations. But CPK remains a good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my guests
Bartender, Server and Trainer (Current Employee), Post OakMarch 23, 2014
Pros: making someone happy
Cons: long hours with little to no breaks
I love making my guests have a great experience, pay particular attention to little things like pouring wine and beer from bottle to glass..Kids meals to come out first etc.
Unfortunatly, one of the managers is not a team player and working with this person makes it difficult to give guests exceptionally service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but at a Cost
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), West Covina, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: discounted meals, tips
Cons: skipped breaks
Management not always so nice. Work you until you're super tired, sometimes skipping breaks. Other staff are very friendly, lots of friends are made here. Fun job to interact with customers and make some extra money since you receive tips on top of hourly pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Family Enviroment
Server (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAFebruary 23, 2014
Everyone there treated me great and it felt like a great big family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had review this earlier
Bartender/server (Current Employee), San Mateo, CAFebruary 21, 2014
same as before I had said, nice place for first time in restaurant but try not to stay to long it's a trap
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 19, 2014
I worked with several different managers and the all worked well. I worked in the airport so it was a fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work.
Server (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJFebruary 18, 2014
The staff is extremely friendly. The managers are always willing to help with anything you may need. Some days are tough but when you're in the customer service field that is to be expected. I really like the job because I get the opportunity to meet different people every day. If only the pay was stable this would be a perfect place to stay long term. – more... But the inconsistency of the pay has really taken a toll on me. At the moment just looking for something more reliable where I can learn and build myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work for a hedge fund
Server (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 12, 2014
I'm not sure what the other reviewers here are talking about. There are a number of misspellings so I assume they work for our corporate office. A hedge fund bought us out about two years ago and in that time:

- All front of house positions have had their hourly wages cut (sometimes drastically)
- Employee food discounts have been limited
- What food – more... you may eat has been limited
- "Family meals" (our favorite - beans and rice day!) were instituted on certain days where you couldn't eat anything off the regular menu.
- Hours have been trimmed
- Split shifts with long breaks have become the norm
- Hour requirements for benefits were raised - and they didn't tell anyone ahead of time so they could try to work more hours!
- Insane manager turnover at every level (assistant, general, regional)
- Revolving door of employees - hardly anyone stays more than a couple of months
-If you work management you now spend most of the day covering positions of hourly workers (kitchen and front of house) because you are forced to send them home to save on labor.
- Absolutely no promoting from within - most new managers are from failed restaurants that the hedge fund owned previously and are brought in above managers that have been with the company for years.
- Number of tables in sections were reduced, then raised, then reduced . . .

And it goes on and on. When you work for a hedge fund you essentially spend every moment of every day trying to figure out how you can save money and cutback in every possible way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fresh product !!!
Manager (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: working for them.
Cons: leaving them.
Just great times and great fun !!!
Hardest being bought out. Enjoyable just working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job for restaurant industry
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 3, 2014
Ok place to work. Flexible scheduling. Great place to learn for first time servers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced restaurant
Server asst. and busser (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: free food, in the mall
Cons: the uniforms, the management
I started at CPK as a buss boy. the pay was not very well and I feel I did way too much work for so little appreciation. the coworkers were awesome and helped me learn the ropes of the restaurant. (it was my first job in food and beverage). the hardest part of the job was trying to flip flop between stores in Norfolk and Virginia beach towne center. – more... the most enjoyable part was the free food! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but management was not very frierndly
Supervisor Cook (Former Employee), Edina, MNFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: very short brakes
Cooking from scratch, the only thing that was premade was the pizza
dough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server, Host, Takeout (Former Employee), Lonetree, COJanuary 27, 2014
Horrible general manager to work for but made great money......................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time Job
Server (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 16, 2014
Cons: no health benefits, unstable income
In a typical day I will serve 10-30 tables, do about an hour's worth of cleaning and side work, and constantly be in contact with the public. Management is always around in case employees need assistance with guests or technical issues. The hardest part of the job is the same as the most enjoyable part of the job, which is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company without a vision.
Server (Former Employee), Orlando, FlJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: good discount, friendly management, cool people.
Cons: no fringe benefits, sales are on the decline.
CPK is good for servers who are looking for a place to make consistent money around 20 bucks an hour. The management doesn't really stress sales. They do but it's a joke because there is no repercussion. I think they have a good menu and most of the restaurants are really clean and sidework is easy. I have worked at five different locations. They are – more... more profitable now than ever not because increase business, but because they slashed everyones pay and fringe benefits... did I mention they have also raise the menu prices as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun California style environment!
Dining Server (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 12, 2014
California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) is a unique restaurant environment where the menu and staff are different from the "standard" pizza joint. A typical day as a server consists of greeting guests and providing them with a enjoyable dining experience. The management team is very helpful and energetic about providing the best experience possible to our guests. – more... My fellow co-workers are a fun group that all help to deliver a consistent dining experience. I would say that the hardest and equally most enjoyable part of the job is greeting each table. While each person in the world is different each greet and meet of your guests should be fun and helpful. Making sure that you are doing your best to deliver more than what is expected is always fun. You learn to push you limits and therefore, yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hostess (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great staff, very friendly guests
Cons: healthcare, short hours
A typical day at California Pizza Kitchen would be arriving on time for my shift, cocking in and greeting the host stand. If the windows are dirty I'll clean that and make sure the restrooms are nice and clean before the shift gets busy. What I have learned from working there is that you always have to have a positive attitude when going into work and – more... make your guests visit enjoyable so that they'll feel welcomed back. There are 5 different managers that run the restaurant and they all have their own techniques and own way of running the restaurant which is something I really enjoyed. Working with different types of managers really gives me different perspective and different work experience. The hardest part about the job would be when it's rush hour and the restaurant gets really busy and you have hungry guests everywhere wanting to get sat and be able to eat. What I learned from that is that you have to be patient with the guest and apologize for the wait being so long or not having a booster chair available at the moment all the small things that could ruin their experience. The most enjoyable part for me was seeing all my regular guest come in. Working at this location for 2 years has been an amazing experience because there's guests that have been coming in long before I started working there and they come in with their children and it's very enjoyable to me because I feel like I watch their children grow and I get to know the children even if it's only for 10 minutes while they wait for their table. I really enjoy having regular guests come in and I get to call them by their first name and they get to call me by mine. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About California Pizza Kitchen

This company's cookeries are putting a West Coast twist on an old favorite. California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) operates a chain of about – Read more

California Pizza Kitchen Photos