Find companies:
California Pizza Kitchen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
147 reviews

California Pizza Kitchen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable workplace
Hostess (Former Employee), La Jolla, CADecember 22, 2013
Pros: half off lunches, breaks every shift, large restuarant
Cons: strict sidework
This was my first job as a college student and the managers and team definitely made it memorable. It was a positive and fun atmosphere. I never hated going to work because I knew that I would be surrounded by an enjoyable group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with but the pay was not reliable
Customer Service and Takeout (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great people, 50% of meals
Cons: pay was not reliable
I would arrive for the morning or night shift during not busy hours and quickly start restocking any supplies I would need. As tickets would come in I would gather any cold toppings I needed and would monitor and pckage the food.
I learned how to act fast and do multiple things at the same time. I also learned how to deal with angry or frustrated customers.
The – more... managers were always very supportive of me and helped me whenever I asked for it. My co-workers were always very kind and helpful.
The hardest part of my job was making sure I had everything organized during peak hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fairly relaxed workplace
Host (Current Employee), Burbank, CADecember 17, 2013
I greet and seat guests as they come in and take the occasional reservation. If the restaurant is busy, I will keep a wait list to make sure everyone gets sat in a timely fashion. I also do restroom checks every 15-30 minutes. I've learned how to work with different kinds of people and personalities. My managers all work together within each other and – more... their employees to make sure the restaurant runs as smooth as possible. My co-workers in my opinion are great. They're very friendly and easy to work with. I think for me the hardest past of my job is working weekend nights when it gets busy, but I think that's mostly because I mostly work weekday afternoons so I'm not 100% used to and comfortable with it. Also, I think its hard to really make/save money when I don't have too many shifts and the majority, if not all of my money goes towards the only two bills I have to pay. But the most enjoyable part of my job is when there are multiple hosts on because I'm not standing at the host stand by myself twiddling my thumbs back and forth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great food!
Server (Current Employee), Littleton, CODecember 12, 2013
Awesome company! Great guests and coworkers! More info upon interview.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Environment.
Server (Former Employee), Culver City, CADecember 11, 2013
Pros: free food. great management. no drama. great environment. friendly customers.
Cons: small restaurant. compact areas within restaurant. not many seats for customers to be seated.
Definitely enjoyed going to work daily. Had very friendly and helpful management that got along great with all workers. Easily made friends since day one of employment. Everyone associated with the company was definitely there for any questions, if any.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, fast-paced environment
Server, Hostess, Expo (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 5, 2013
Pros: advancement and co-workers
A typical day at work always starting with all employees doing preparation work for the shift and having breakfast together. The teamwork environment is obvious in this establishment. The one most remembered thing that I have learned for CPK is that even though this is a corporate establishment your co-workers are family and we would often do things – more... together as a family. Management was AWESOME!!! Each manager that worked there spoke to the employees with respect, honor, and dignity. All of my fellow co-workers at CPK were wonderful, we all really tired our very best to help each other out on and off of the clock. The hardest part of the job was actually went I terminated my employment due to pregnancy. This was one job that I did not want to leave. The most enjoyable part of the job was all of the perks that come from being employed there along with managers and co-workers making the job NOT feel like a job. I LOVED going into work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: half off meal
Cons: management
Unfortunately thy lack management skills. Other then that its a great place to work, positive co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuine people with a lot of energy!
Shift Leader, Trainer (Former Employee), Westbury, NYNovember 26, 2013
Everyone is extremely energetic, there are many regulars that come into the restaurant, training is taken very seriously, and management is open to ideas!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmousphere
Pizza Chef, Preperation, Expediter, Dishwasher (Former Employee), Sandy Springs, GANovember 20, 2013
Pros: great opportuinity to grow as a chef
Cons: management, abuses power and talks to employees any kind of way.
ive learned how to toss pizza dough, its not as easy at it looks. management was okay. but the hardest part of the job was handling all orders at a high volume. my time there was enjoyable great friends and wonderful food.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Food, A fun working environment
Server, Sales (Former Employee), Plano, TXNovember 10, 2013
Pros: discounted food
A typical day at this job included a lot of multi-tasking, but in a good way. California Pizza Kitchen affords its staff a fun work environment with cool music and discounted food. As a server, my responsibilities included menu knowledge, managing a station, and reconciling checks.

I improved my sales skills with menu knowledge and product up-sells – more... to customers.

I improved my leardership by holding other staff accountable for work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, management not so much
Host (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 4, 2013
Pros: food
Cons: no increased in pay
Enjoyed talking and meeting new people, cool first job, good tips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, flexible hours, great teamwork and energy
Server/Host/Delivery driver (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: learning a lot about food, having the attention of all your guests.
Cons: lack of compensation for going above and beyond.
I found this to be an excellent place to work part-time as you can release and add shifts from your phone. The team I was a part of is unforgettably the nicest group of people, I am glad I had the opportunity to work with such great people. You can expect a warm welcome from the friends you meet there, regular customers, and management, followed by – more... a debriefing of your shift goals, and ending with a hard earned nights pay. The biggest thing I took from this was customer service, this is the best in the business, and I really will remember what I learned here. The hardest part of the job was time management, however I advanced in this with the help of my management staff. The most enjoyable part was definitely meeting new people and getting to know them on a real level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience along with great food
Kitchen Manager, Head Chef, Sous Chef, Banquet (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 21, 2013
Pros: monthly dine in card and bounus pay
Cons: no communication among managment staff
Lines checks would be done every morning cash deposits as well as prep list with Aloha product Mix Sales guide based on daily sales projections
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, great coworkers and management team.
Bartender and Server (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CAOctober 18, 2013
Cons: no paid vacations.
This was my first serving job ever! i really enjoyed the environment and the fast pace job. once i got to know the menu and how to make the drinks i really enjoyed going to work and helping the guests out when they came to dine in. Also enjoyed helping my fellow coworkers when they seemed to be overwhelmed. The most difficult part of the job was when – more... i would become overwhelmed on making drinks and helping my customers out at the same time. I loved every minute of it though especially when the guest would tell my management team how great of a job i did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and upper class customers.
Server (Current Employee), Glendale, WIOctober 18, 2013
Pros: tons of hours, and we always have fun contests.
Cons: it's very fast paced, and can be stressful.
The staff is very friendly, and we all work very well as a team. The food is wonderful, and we are all proud to represent California Pizza Kitchen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and flexible
Server (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 17, 2013
Pros: 50% on our lunch, flexible schedule, easy to make switch in our schedule online.
Cons: no healthcare
California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) provides a really nice environment to work and the chance to make it a career. With their core values and system is really simple to provide an excellent service to our guest know you can always count on your teammates and managers.
Menu keeps on changing always looking to satisfy every person that comes in looking for – more... something in specific. I enjoy what I do and definitely my guest notice that on the way I treat them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Director who developed the North East region for the company,
Regional Director (Former Employee), Massachusetts and ConnecticutOctober 8, 2013
Pros: strong benifit package and salary.
Cons: frequent over night travel.
Top performer who had rapid advance in the company. Trusted operator responsible for the positive growth in the North East. North East grew from one store at the start of my career to 8 locations. Had a region comprised of 8 locations with 500 reports and sales of 26 million. Developed a strong management bench that was utilized through out the company,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking restaurant dedicated to the needs of the customer
Server (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great management & co-workers
California Pizza Kitchen is a great place to work. Days at work were great due to the positive attitudes of the managers and co-workers. The days went by smoothly due to the fact that we all worked as a team to ensure the success of the other. The most enjoyable part of my job was making sure that my customer was happy. My hard work was reflected to – more... me when the customers came back and asked for me to be their server once again! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
server (Current Employee), Riverside, CASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: good food
Cons: not that many hours
it is a family like atmosphere at this restaurant, management actually cares, and the customers are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Past Work Place
Service Trainer (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FlSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great envirournment
Cons: money can be up and down depends on seasons.
Open the restaurant, check the kitchen and dining area to cleanliness. Make sure all security checks have been plus food quality test everyday 3 times a shift. Set employess up for a day for success.

About California Pizza Kitchen

This company's cookeries are putting a West Coast twist on an old favorite. California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) operates a chain of about – Read more

California Pizza Kitchen Photos