Find companies:
California Pizza Kitchen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
160 reviews

California Pizza Kitchen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job for restaurant industry
Bartender/Server (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 3, 2014
Ok place to work. Flexible scheduling. Great place to learn for first time servers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced restaurant
Server asst. and busser (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: free food, in the mall
Cons: the uniforms, the management
I started at CPK as a buss boy. the pay was not very well and I feel I did way too much work for so little appreciation. the coworkers were awesome and helped me learn the ropes of the restaurant. (it was my first job in food and beverage). the hardest part of the job was trying to flip flop between stores in Norfolk and Virginia beach towne center. – more... the most enjoyable part was the free food! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but management was not very frierndly
Supervisor Cook (Former Employee), Edina, MNFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: very short brakes
Cooking from scratch, the only thing that was premade was the pizza
dough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server, Host, Takeout (Former Employee), Lonetree, COJanuary 27, 2014
Horrible general manager to work for but made great money......................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time Job
Server (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 16, 2014
Cons: no health benefits, unstable income
In a typical day I will serve 10-30 tables, do about an hour's worth of cleaning and side work, and constantly be in contact with the public. Management is always around in case employees need assistance with guests or technical issues. The hardest part of the job is the same as the most enjoyable part of the job, which is working with the public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company without a vision.
Server (Former Employee), Orlando, FlJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: good discount, friendly management, cool people.
Cons: no fringe benefits, sales are on the decline.
CPK is good for servers who are looking for a place to make consistent money around 20 bucks an hour. The management doesn't really stress sales. They do but it's a joke because there is no repercussion. I think they have a good menu and most of the restaurants are really clean and sidework is easy. I have worked at five different locations. They are – more... more profitable now than ever not because increase business, but because they slashed everyones pay and fringe benefits... did I mention they have also raise the menu prices as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun California style environment!
Dining Server (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 12, 2014
California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) is a unique restaurant environment where the menu and staff are different from the "standard" pizza joint. A typical day as a server consists of greeting guests and providing them with a enjoyable dining experience. The management team is very helpful and energetic about providing the best experience possible to our guests. – more... My fellow co-workers are a fun group that all help to deliver a consistent dining experience. I would say that the hardest and equally most enjoyable part of the job is greeting each table. While each person in the world is different each greet and meet of your guests should be fun and helpful. Making sure that you are doing your best to deliver more than what is expected is always fun. You learn to push you limits and therefore, yourself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Hostess (Current Employee), Palo Alto, CAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great staff, very friendly guests
Cons: healthcare, short hours
A typical day at California Pizza Kitchen would be arriving on time for my shift, cocking in and greeting the host stand. If the windows are dirty I'll clean that and make sure the restrooms are nice and clean before the shift gets busy. What I have learned from working there is that you always have to have a positive attitude when going into work and – more... make your guests visit enjoyable so that they'll feel welcomed back. There are 5 different managers that run the restaurant and they all have their own techniques and own way of running the restaurant which is something I really enjoyed. Working with different types of managers really gives me different perspective and different work experience. The hardest part about the job would be when it's rush hour and the restaurant gets really busy and you have hungry guests everywhere wanting to get sat and be able to eat. What I learned from that is that you have to be patient with the guest and apologize for the wait being so long or not having a booster chair available at the moment all the small things that could ruin their experience. The most enjoyable part for me was seeing all my regular guest come in. Working at this location for 2 years has been an amazing experience because there's guests that have been coming in long before I started working there and they come in with their children and it's very enjoyable to me because I feel like I watch their children grow and I get to know the children even if it's only for 10 minutes while they wait for their table. I really enjoy having regular guests come in and I get to call them by their first name and they get to call me by mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and great cliental
Service Trainer/Bartender/Server (Current Employee), norfolk vaJanuary 9, 2014
The hardest part of the job is actually learning our menu and the small service details that set our standard apart from other restaurants downtown. The management team are all passionate about this business and are a joy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Server (Current Employee), Westbury, NYJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: uniforms
I enjoyed coming into work everyday!
I've learned I am a people person.
Management was great and excellent leaders.
My co-workers were lovely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good pay!
Hostess (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJanuary 4, 2014
It was a good job, but on the everyday life basis the job got very boring and it wouldnt allow me to actually have a social life. Plus the management wasn't the nicest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed friendly environment
Hostess (Former Employee), Lakewood, CAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: fun and exciting
Cons: no breaks
great job that offers a lot of opportunities in a very fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing nice to say
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Lakewood, CADecember 27, 2013
They play favorites and follow up on their word. I was hired for a program they shut down 6 months later and was told sorry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable workplace
Hostess (Former Employee), La Jolla, CADecember 22, 2013
Pros: half off lunches, breaks every shift, large restuarant
Cons: strict sidework
This was my first job as a college student and the managers and team definitely made it memorable. It was a positive and fun atmosphere. I never hated going to work because I knew that I would be surrounded by an enjoyable group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with but the pay was not reliable
Customer Service and Takeout (Current Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 18, 2013
Pros: great people, 50% of meals
Cons: pay was not reliable
I would arrive for the morning or night shift during not busy hours and quickly start restocking any supplies I would need. As tickets would come in I would gather any cold toppings I needed and would monitor and pckage the food.
I learned how to act fast and do multiple things at the same time. I also learned how to deal with angry or frustrated customers.
The – more... managers were always very supportive of me and helped me whenever I asked for it. My co-workers were always very kind and helpful.
The hardest part of my job was making sure I had everything organized during peak hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet fairly relaxed workplace
Host (Current Employee), Burbank, CADecember 17, 2013
I greet and seat guests as they come in and take the occasional reservation. If the restaurant is busy, I will keep a wait list to make sure everyone gets sat in a timely fashion. I also do restroom checks every 15-30 minutes. I've learned how to work with different kinds of people and personalities. My managers all work together within each other and – more... their employees to make sure the restaurant runs as smooth as possible. My co-workers in my opinion are great. They're very friendly and easy to work with. I think for me the hardest past of my job is working weekend nights when it gets busy, but I think that's mostly because I mostly work weekday afternoons so I'm not 100% used to and comfortable with it. Also, I think its hard to really make/save money when I don't have too many shifts and the majority, if not all of my money goes towards the only two bills I have to pay. But the most enjoyable part of my job is when there are multiple hosts on because I'm not standing at the host stand by myself twiddling my thumbs back and forth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great food!
Server (Current Employee), Littleton, CODecember 12, 2013
Awesome company! Great guests and coworkers! More info upon interview.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Environment.
Server (Former Employee), Culver City, CADecember 11, 2013
Pros: free food. great management. no drama. great environment. friendly customers.
Cons: small restaurant. compact areas within restaurant. not many seats for customers to be seated.
Definitely enjoyed going to work daily. Had very friendly and helpful management that got along great with all workers. Easily made friends since day one of employment. Everyone associated with the company was definitely there for any questions, if any.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, fast-paced environment
Server, Hostess, Expo (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VADecember 5, 2013
Pros: advancement and co-workers
A typical day at work always starting with all employees doing preparation work for the shift and having breakfast together. The teamwork environment is obvious in this establishment. The one most remembered thing that I have learned for CPK is that even though this is a corporate establishment your co-workers are family and we would often do things – more... together as a family. Management was AWESOME!!! Each manager that worked there spoke to the employees with respect, honor, and dignity. All of my fellow co-workers at CPK were wonderful, we all really tired our very best to help each other out on and off of the clock. The hardest part of the job was actually went I terminated my employment due to pregnancy. This was one job that I did not want to leave. The most enjoyable part of the job was all of the perks that come from being employed there along with managers and co-workers making the job NOT feel like a job. I LOVED going into work there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee), Cambridge, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: half off meal
Cons: management
Unfortunately thy lack management skills. Other then that its a great place to work, positive co-workers.

About California Pizza Kitchen

This company's cookeries are putting a West Coast twist on an old favorite. California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) operates a chain of about – Read more

California Pizza Kitchen Photos