Find companies:
California State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
231 reviews

California State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good course work.
Student Programmer (Current Employee), University Advancement Dept.November 14, 2014
Pros: living is cheap compared to other universities, on campus job opportunities are good.
Course work is good, and teachers are really helpful. On campus job opportunities are good and living is really cheap.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for Students
Full-Time Student (Former Employee), Northridge, CANovember 14, 2014
Pros: good for students
Cons: no full-time job
This the right job if you are students. The staff is friendly and fun to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with common interests
Volunteer Work Activity (Former Employee), Long Beach, CANovember 11, 2014
Cons: they served lunch but i couln't partake
Every year I volunteer for this Tae Kwon Do tournament. I make sure the Tae Kwon Do sparring,/forms ring is organized and running properly in various ways. Working in a tournament is a team effort, but there is little supervision. The hardest part was lunch because I'm allergic to part of what they were serving and I couldn't bring a lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
President of the Student Veterans Organization (Current Employee), hayward, CAOctober 30, 2014
• Collaborate with the college administrators to promote student veteran academic success.
• Implementations of several Veterans Affairs programs leading to the employment of student veterans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 20, 2014
great...............................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Former Employee), Fresno, CAOctober 15, 2014
As a SI leader I had learned to jungle classes and teach other students about microbiology. I facilitated sessions 3 times a week, provided office hours 2 times a week and attended faculty meetings throughout the week. As an SI leader I realized what makes a good leader is watching others succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small school with great teachers.
Senior Design project NASA Marshall (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 15, 2014
Good place to make industry connections, through faculty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work environment
Teaching Associate (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: being around great mathematicians.
Cons: you can't survive without being in one of the major blocks competing each other.
It was the most challenging compared to Cerritos College and Orange Coast College. At Cerritos, the level of all students was low and at Orange Coast College was very high. However at CSULB it was half and half. For that reason, I had to spent endless hours to help the lower half to improve and the management was unhappy about the enormous volunteer – more... time I spent to help the weak. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun place to work
Graduate Student Assistant - Text Transcriber (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 9, 2014
I work as a student assistant at Cal State LA. It is fun, flexible, and the work is manageable. I can attend classes and work at the same time with no pressure at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overcrowded school
Student (Former Employee), Long Beach, CAOctober 2, 2014
classes were impacted and hard to get. school would of taken too long to get through,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Teaching Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 1, 2014
Productive place to learn and work! very respectful staff. The most enjoyable part of teaching is being actively involve with students!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teachers, poor managers
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee), Fresno, CASeptember 30, 2014
I liked the instruction and the minds. facility could be better managed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fun place to work at
Student Assistant/university Northridge (Former Employee), Northridge, CASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: able to attend many banquets and free lunch
A typical day would be helping students with their class schedules
setting up advisement appointment. Assist each adviser with their own calender and projects and be there to help and answer students question regarding different programs.

I learned how to assist multiple advisers at the same time. Prepare presentations for the office and how to be – more... a team player

Management was awesome very understanding and able to work around students schedules

Co-workers were fun to work with they made things enjoyable

The hardest part is making sure things are done on a timely manner

The most enjoyable part is being able to help each student and taking any fear or anxiety away – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Breakout Session Mentor (Current Employee), Chico, CASeptember 22, 2014
CSU, Chico offers a great place to work as a college student. They work around your academic schedule and offer intrinsically and extrinsically rewarding positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience, on the job training.
Community Service Officer (Lead) (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: exciting job, valuable expirence
Cons: i wasn't treated well by much of the community. thankless job.
Worked with great people. The police officers weren't just the state cops that patrolled the campus, but they were my teachers. While the professors taught me everything about law, courts, and criminal justice inside the classroom, the cops taught me outside the classroom about working a beat. I got to have real interactions with real suspects, interact – more... with the community, and respond to emergency situations.
On a personal note this is where I decided that private employment might be for me, the environment was very structured and policy based with little flexibility, much like when I was in the U.S. Marines. I prefer a more informal work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Student Assistant
IT Assistant (Former Employee), Irvine, CaliforniaSeptember 18, 2014
Manned the IT Help desk for answering questions. Worked on re-imaging computers using both ghost or manually by hand (bootable cd). Worked on all the campus computers on installing, removing , and updating softwares and add them on the domain network. One summer of 2013, the management gave me an assignment of establishing similar system to ghost to – more... push out new package of updated software for iMac. This gave understanding on the network side of iMac computers. Lastly, helping the the clients as the students and faculty members with the technical difficulty were the most rewarding part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Advisory Positon
Resident Advisor (Former Employee), Chico, CASeptember 16, 2014
Worked closely with students to help make there transitional freshman safer and more enjoyable. Working with students was great but the management was disconnected from realities of the job and often made both the residents and the employees unconfortable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Lyles College of EngineeringSeptember 10, 2014
Working along with teachers in this college not only enhance my confidence level but also give me a sense of satisfaction. I have gained a lot of knowledge while working in different areas like steel design, strength of materials, fluid mechanics. I have also learnt to do video making and editing. The hardest part of the job was to teach a class of – more... 50 students the very first time, but once I passed this part. It was fun and enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding institution to work for
Administrative Support Coordinator (Current Employee), Long Beach, CASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits and pension
Cons: no raises in 6 years
The California State University (CSU) is a rewarding company to work for. Even though the CSU hasn't received any raises in seven years, I continue to pride myself helping students achieve their goals and dreams. Working for a state agency has its benefits; pension, benefits, and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and good place to work and study at the same time
Math Department, Student Assistant (Former Employee), Fullerton, CASeptember 5, 2014
When I worked as a math tutor in California State University of Fullerton, I learned a lot while I was teaching at the tutoring center. I learned how to be patient with student and how to guide them through the problem solving process step by step. Each student requires different teaching style, so I learned how to adjust my teaching style whenever – more... I encountered different student. It is nice to work in the tutoring center. I can study my own materials or do my homework if there is no student needed to be tutored. In addition, other tutors are really friendly as well. All the tutors sometimes get together to discuss math problems and exchange opinions. I enjoyed the time working at math tutoring center, and I got to make lots of new friends. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About California State University

The California State University offers unlimited opportunities to help students fulfill their personal and professional goals. – Read more

California State University Photos