Find companies:
California State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
186 reviews

California State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant for Center of International Education
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 12, 2014
• Under supervision, processing applications using Oracle PeopleSoft.
• Communicating with wide range of students via emails, phone calls and in person queries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant responsible for design, implementation, and analysis
Research Assistant - Memory Project (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 12, 2014
In the beginning, I helped design the project. Later on, I ran the participants. This included making sure that each participant fully complied with every step of the study. Once complete, I helped analyze the data using SPSS and Excel. Once that was complete, I helped draft the article for publication.

The hardest part of my job was keeping the participants – more... compliant. The most enjoyable part of my job was the data analysis and seeing if our hypothesis held any truth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Job
Academic Tutor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 11, 2014
Enjoyed to work here as having good management staff and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with CSULA VSA
Secretary of VSA at CSULA (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 10, 2014
Typically, my duty is to record important dates and plans the organization staffs have discussed during the meetings. Then, I organize it in a way to be read easily. Moreover, I keep the organization updated with the upcoming events. To prevent a staff from forgetting his/her task, I alert them few days ahead. The hardest part of this experience was – more... setting up Vietnamese culture night. This event happens once a year. During this event, we display Vietnamese culture through a show. Recruiting members, booking the stage, and rehearsing for the show can take time and organization. The rewarding part is when all the hard works are done well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice workplace with comfortable work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Northridge, CAApril 8, 2014
Most co-workers is pretty nice. You can find a good balance of work and life here since the university has a holiday and break days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to learn
Fullerton as IT Technician (Current Employee), College ParkMarch 27, 2014
The place where you can work, learn and have fun. I was very much relaxed in job and i build passion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), long beach, caMarch 24, 2014
really helpful, worked with my schedule, fun atmosphere. taught me a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Computer Lab Consultant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 22, 2014
Maintained account access for faculties, staffs, and students. It's a boring place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Emotions
General Studies Lecturer (Current Employee), CSU East Bay, Hayward, CAMarch 20, 2014
I have mixed emotions regarding CSU East Bay. As an alumnus, I cannot say enough good things about the Kinesiology program at the undergraduate and graduate level. CSU East Bay offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary program focusing on the science of body movement related to exercise and sport in addition to the psychological variables associated – more... with performance and how sport reflects, imitates, and influences society. As far as academic programs are concerned, I feel CSU East Bay provides a high quality affordable education.

Working at CSU East Bay is a different story. The work culture appears to be highly fragmented and somewhat selfish. I do not know if this common at public universities or throughout the CSU System, but the CSU East Bay campus is highly divided. My particular job by its nature is always on the potential chopping block because of variability in funding. Leadership of the program at times has fought for program survival, but has not done anything of substance to provide evidence of the quality and effectiveness of the work we do. In an era of objectives and assessment, the program is lacking leadership to provide evidence of effectiveness which is almost unthinkable in this era. The University also has strict limits on how much teachers in our program can make (salary) and how much work they are offered. This two-tiered ceiling makes upward mobility nearly impossible and provides administration two ways to keep wages constantly low.

My experience at CSUEB has provided a full spectrum of motivational sources. The education was phenomenal and I know most people at the university really care about students. Working at CSUEB motivates me because there are flaws in leadership and obvious areas of improvement which I would like to make part of my future professional goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced and detail orientated environment
Assistant to Resource Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2014
• Reconcile monthly credit card statements.

• Analyze, track and organize IRA purchase requisitions, travel claims, receipts, invoices, and other related purchases for the College.

• Creating and maintaining records, logs, documents and files for IRA accounts and Faculty Development expenditures.

• Reviewing, updating and reconciling excel spreadsheet – more... daily.

• Serve as front desk receptionist for the Resource Office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution promoting undergraduate academic achievement for the traditionally undereserved
Student Success Intern (Current Employee), CSU Monterey BayMarch 19, 2014
CSUMB is a great place to work. I enjoy providing academic support and one-on-one counseling services for undergraduate students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Undergraduate Experience I could have hoped for.
Undergraduate Biochemistry Researcher (Former Employee), Fullerton, CAMarch 18, 2014
It is a shame that I have to give compensation a low score as it is not unusual to be unpaid as an undergraduate, although I did have internship opportunities during my time at Cal State Fullerton that I capitalized on. The curriculum at Cal State Fullerton, in retrospect, was more rigorous than I realized at the time compared to other universities – more... I have visited for Biochemistry. Research experience was mandatory for graduation, and the two years that I dedicated to research while at Cal State Fullerton proved invaluable in my maturation as a Biochemist with an enzymologist's toolkit. The faculty at Cal State Fullerton demonstrated a strong work ethic and sense of care for student advancement and progression. Without my positive experience at Cal State Fullerton, it would have been unlikely that I would have ventured further into academia as a career choice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot here
Athletic Trainer's Assistant (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMarch 15, 2014
Pros: great learning environment
Cons: temporary
This job taught me how the human body works and how to fix it when it isn't working properly. I was an assistant to the Head Athletic Trainer but I was able to learn so much under her direction. A typical day included taping athlete's ankles, knees, achilles, etc, icing their injuries, performing rehabilitation techniques, and maintaining a healthy – more... clean facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant environment to work in
Legal Secretary (Former Employee), Long Beach, CaliforniaMarch 12, 2014
Pros: very close to home and i enjoyed being so close to the ocean.
Cons: no comment
I enjoyed working with very experienced and knowledgeable attorneys. I gained some very valuable experience and knowledge while working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic, Student Focused and Green atmosphere.
Student Assistant (Current Employee), SacramentoMarch 10, 2014
The professors at Sac State are extremely helpful. Professors here have more time to work with the individual student and make sure they know the material due to the fact that the majority of the classes have no more than 30 students in them. I have been attending Sac State for a year now and I love it! The campus is quiet and peaceful, full of trees – more... that give the campus a better atmosphere to it and make the environment relaxing to be in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great department with great professors
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 7, 2014
I am happy to have the opportunity as graduate assistant as because it allowed me to strengthen my research abilities and adequately consolidate information as well as understand, connect, and empathize with diverse populations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, little resources, challanges you everyday
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), San Marcos, CAMarch 4, 2014
Teaching is rewarding, schools have minimal budgets and resourcing. Being creative with supplies and teaching methods is in everyones best interest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Staff Member (Current Employee), Bakersfield CsMarch 4, 2014
interacted with people, guided them to their seats, had a fun environment with the coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great pleasure to work here
Student Assistant in Accessibility Department (Current Employee), Hayward, CAMarch 1, 2014
Learning more thing which gives me wonderful opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very positive place to work at.
Student Reseacher (Former Employee), Fullerton, CAFebruary 27, 2014
A very positive place to work at. The faculty members are very supportive.

1 2 3 4 5

About California State University

The California State University offers unlimited opportunities to help students fulfill their personal and professional goals. – Read more

California State University Photos