California State University

California State University Employee Reviews in United States

Found 416 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best CSU to work for
Program Assistant/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJuly 3, 2016
Best place you can be, the environment is awesome! The management team can't be beat and your co-workers make coming to work everyday fun. I couldn't ask for a better workplace and I am truly blessed.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Start for Experience
Environmental Chemist (Current Employee) –  Canyon Lake and CSU San BernardinoOctober 20, 2015
I have enjoyed my first environmental chemist position on campus because the experience with the instruments have allowed me to develop skills that I couldn't have only in the classroom setting. I feel at ease while the supervising professor guides us with new techniques and equipment. Although we are working with professional companies and need to do quality work, the stress is not high. Like I said, it's an ideal start to a career as a chemist and the surroundings are conducive to growth and exploration beyond that.
Pros
own hours/schedule, familiarity with staff/peers
Cons
small lab
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Adminstrative Support Coordinator II (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 7, 2016
Rewarding environment that encourages higher education and continued success and advancement. Staff and faculty make the work environment enjoyable and fast-paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 24, 2016
The chair person is really nice. Work environment is very friendly and relaxed. You get adequate amounts of leaves. Moreover the events organized are really fun and helping students is icing on the cake.
Pros
good
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an RA while attending school
Resident Assistant, Resident (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 9, 2016
Truly a great experience while attending school. developed leadership, social, and problem solving skills. I encourage students to engage this opportunity when given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience which involved wide variety of technologies
Network Technician (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAMay 3, 2015
This job has given me the best of what i have. This job made me wear multiple hats. The learning experience had different flavors of technologies including working on Servers to desktops to laptops to routers to switches to cash registers.
Pros
Good pay, work independent and in group, wonderful colleagues.
Cons
No benefits and No training.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a fun place to work. work and play go together.
Admission Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chico, CAMay 25, 2016
People are always ready to help and are open to questions. The mentors in the office are very helping and I feel being student and working has helped me grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience in the working world
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Turlock, CaliforniaMay 10, 2016
Gained through experience in reception work and handling phones. Also had the opportunity to work with other departments and to increase my skills with may computer programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place as a Student or Staff
Instructor/Student (Former Employee) –  English DeptApril 20, 2016
Great Place to work and go to school. I had never experienced such a warm and welcoming, as well as knowledgeable, school environment. Once I arrived here I knew that this would be a great place to go to school and work one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlightening and Bright Environment
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northridge, CAJune 1, 2016
A typical day at my work would be teaching children through efficient curriculum's and through play. Interacting with staff, families,and children.
Pros
Everything
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenience over Comfort
Lab Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 4, 2016
With all the management changes, and the poor management that was coming in, it was more of a convenience to keep the job than to leave and look for another one.
Pros
Very Flexable hours
Cons
poor management, poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
CSU Chico Dairy Management Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chico, CAMay 2, 2016
Great environment, but minimum wage for hard work. It is a great way to learn and gain experience. You are limited to 20 hours per week as a student employee.
Pros
Great culture, animals, flexible schedule
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Full Time Student/Army ROTC Cadet (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 7, 2016
Great place to get a degree while experiencing what the world has to offer. I really loved attending this university and would recommend it to most anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent Work
Teaching Associate (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 13, 2016
Administration is all over the place. As long as you teach the 900/950 series, you'll be on your own (with some guidance from the 6005 course). Avoid the 805/806/807 series.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Options for Undergraduates
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Seaside, CAApril 26, 2016
Great place to work, not many schools offer research opportunities in large number to undergraduate students. Being able to get out into the field in a professional way is an amazing thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
ITS (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 23, 2015
- Many student based projects offered for engineering
- great place to work at
- good management system
- flexible time/schedule
- job security
Pros
benefits and job security
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 15, 2016
College to study and work at the same time.
Flexible timings with different subjects to balance work.
Very good faculty and also co-operative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California State University, Long Beach
International Outreach Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 30, 2015
California State University, Long Beach is one of the 23 CSU campuses. It attracts most applications in the United States. The campus culture is collaborative and less political.
Pros
Collaborative working environment
Cons
Less salary compared to other CSU campuses
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Communications Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 8, 2016
Steady and Relaxed environment, usually quiet. I am able to get work done in this environment because I am not usually disrupted.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Assistant Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2016
Very Good Experience
Student assistant position gave really good experience
Working on Cisco Devices.
Work and study
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 420 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

California State University Reviews by Location