Find companies:
California State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
236 reviews

California State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Undergraduate research opportunity
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee), Chico, CAMay 27, 2014
Faculty was very helpful in pursuing research opportunities and in pursuing future oportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and ever-active work enviornment.
Administrative Support Assistant II Temp (Former Employee), Fullerton, CAMay 21, 2014
From 8am until 5pm, there is always something to be done to guarantee that the office flows smoothing for both faculty and students to operate and succeed in.

The staff is pleasant and dedicated as well as extremely knowledgeable of what needs to be done that day. They interact well with management, deciphering exactly what the needs of management – more... and other officials are.

As a temporary employee, it is difficult to quickly get up to speed with the other staff members but that is also the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST sales experience I gained in my college career.
Fundraiser/Student Caller (Current Employee), Chico, CAMay 12, 2014
Pros: free food and kitchen, supervisors are helpful and understanding
Cons: refusals can take a toll on you, monotonous answering machines
Working at the call center for CSU Chico has given me the best sales experience I could ever hope to achieve in college. The training you get is only 3 days, but it is the actual phone calls and conversations you have with parents of students and alumni that truly build your ability to negotiate and close a deal. The hardest part of the job is the monotony – more... of it all; some days are very slow and all you do is listen to answering machines, but that just makes it that much more exciting when a prospective donor picks up the phone. Also, you get quite a bit of refusals which can take a toll on you, but with a positive attitude this shouldn't be an issue. The work environment is more like a family than an office; co-workers are given nicknames and bagels/donuts are frequently brought into Saturday morning shifts. There are so many enjoyable parts of the job that it's difficult to just pick one. I would say the experience I gained in terms of sales and sociability has been the most beneficial aspect of working as a student fundraiser for California State University Chico. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work for
Student Consultant Assistant (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMay 6, 2014
I learned a lot of hands-on experience when I do the internship in CSUSB. The supervisor and coworker are very nice and willing to teach. Workplace is very diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work summary
Lab Assisstant (Current Employee), San Bernardino, CAMay 2, 2014
• Oversee 100 computers for student use, trouble shooting, and software problems.
• Act as an informal tutor for approximately 10 students each shift on multiple subjects.
• Ensure inventory levels of supplies are appropriate for supervisor’s needs.
• Maintain copiers and printing machines are in working order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasis on Teaching, Research--very customer focused
Part-time Professor (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAMay 1, 2014
Pros: online teaching
Cons: pay could be better
I teach online. CSULB has the software to help students fit a Masters' Degree education in with their busy work schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing scientific automation system
Researcher (Former Employee), Fullerton, CAApril 24, 2014
I have to stay in a dark room to test different optic samples every day. Besides, when I was in this research program, their automation system had not built in their lab. At the beginning, it was really difficult because I had to learn the programming software (LabView) by myself and create a new automation system in eight weeks. However, my instructor – more... and my lab mates were really patient to help me to finish this research project.
After a few days, I got familiar with LabView and successfully automate the lab. Most enjoyable part is watching lab can run the examination by itself with robotic arm. This automation system does not only solve the problem they had stuck for two years, but also actually improve the lab efficiency and accuracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job teaching first semester nursing students
Clinical Nursing Instructor (Current Employee), Fresno, CAApril 21, 2014
The night before clinical, I e-mail a schedule of experiences and assignments to the students. I provide copies of this to the facility director of nurses, nurses station and educator. I work with the students on their oral, injection medication passes, as well as g-tube feedings.
My lead teacher is amazing, supportive and totally committed to the students.
The – more... hardest part of this job is grading all the papers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun working on campus with California State University, Long Beach
Web Developer (Graduate Assistant) (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 18, 2014
Its a good place to work, less work pressure, good guidance from Managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to start
Web Master/Programmer (Former Employee), Fresno, CAApril 14, 2014
Nice place to start, can be a stepping stone to future prospects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Assistant for Center of International Education
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAApril 12, 2014
• Under supervision, processing applications using Oracle PeopleSoft.
• Communicating with wide range of students via emails, phone calls and in person queries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant responsible for design, implementation, and analysis
Research Assistant - Memory Project (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 12, 2014
In the beginning, I helped design the project. Later on, I ran the participants. This included making sure that each participant fully complied with every step of the study. Once complete, I helped analyze the data using SPSS and Excel. Once that was complete, I helped draft the article for publication.

The hardest part of my job was keeping the participants – more... compliant. The most enjoyable part of my job was the data analysis and seeing if our hypothesis held any truth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Job
Academic Tutor (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 11, 2014
Enjoyed to work here as having good management staff and co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience with CSULA VSA
Secretary of VSA at CSULA (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 10, 2014
Typically, my duty is to record important dates and plans the organization staffs have discussed during the meetings. Then, I organize it in a way to be read easily. Moreover, I keep the organization updated with the upcoming events. To prevent a staff from forgetting his/her task, I alert them few days ahead. The hardest part of this experience was – more... setting up Vietnamese culture night. This event happens once a year. During this event, we display Vietnamese culture through a show. Recruiting members, booking the stage, and rehearsing for the show can take time and organization. The rewarding part is when all the hard works are done well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice workplace with comfortable work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Northridge, CAApril 8, 2014
Most co-workers is pretty nice. You can find a good balance of work and life here since the university has a holiday and break days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to learn
Fullerton as IT Technician (Current Employee), College ParkMarch 27, 2014
The place where you can work, learn and have fun. I was very much relaxed in job and i build passion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), long beach, caMarch 24, 2014
really helpful, worked with my schedule, fun atmosphere. taught me a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible schedule
Computer Lab Consultant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 22, 2014
Maintained account access for faculties, staffs, and students. It's a boring place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Emotions
General Studies Lecturer (Current Employee), CSU East Bay, Hayward, CAMarch 20, 2014
I have mixed emotions regarding CSU East Bay. As an alumnus, I cannot say enough good things about the Kinesiology program at the undergraduate and graduate level. CSU East Bay offers a comprehensive and interdisciplinary program focusing on the science of body movement related to exercise and sport in addition to the psychological variables associated – more... with performance and how sport reflects, imitates, and influences society. As far as academic programs are concerned, I feel CSU East Bay provides a high quality affordable education.

Working at CSU East Bay is a different story. The work culture appears to be highly fragmented and somewhat selfish. I do not know if this common at public universities or throughout the CSU System, but the CSU East Bay campus is highly divided. My particular job by its nature is always on the potential chopping block because of variability in funding. Leadership of the program at times has fought for program survival, but has not done anything of substance to provide evidence of the quality and effectiveness of the work we do. In an era of objectives and assessment, the program is lacking leadership to provide evidence of effectiveness which is almost unthinkable in this era. The University also has strict limits on how much teachers in our program can make (salary) and how much work they are offered. This two-tiered ceiling makes upward mobility nearly impossible and provides administration two ways to keep wages constantly low.

My experience at CSUEB has provided a full spectrum of motivational sources. The education was phenomenal and I know most people at the university really care about students. Working at CSUEB motivates me because there are flaws in leadership and obvious areas of improvement which I would like to make part of my future professional goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced and detail orientated environment
Assistant to Resource Manager (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2014
• Reconcile monthly credit card statements.

• Analyze, track and organize IRA purchase requisitions, travel claims, receipts, invoices, and other related purchases for the College.

• Creating and maintaining records, logs, documents and files for IRA accounts and Faculty Development expenditures.

• Reviewing, updating and reconciling excel spreadsheet – more... daily.

• Serve as front desk receptionist for the Resource Office. – less

About California State University

The California State University offers unlimited opportunities to help students fulfill their personal and professional goals. – Read more

California State University Photos