Find companies:
California State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
215 reviews

California State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mentoring Program
General Curriculum Counselor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 8, 2014
I enjoyed working with a students over there as a I was a student myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Carson, CAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: invaluable experience
Cons: the late hour of the class
I was a volunteer for the semester. The experience was very rewarding. I enjoyed the interaction with the students. A typical day consisted of me attending lecture and assisted the professor as needed. The hardest part of my job was making sure I had enough time to provide the appropriate feedback to the students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSU Sacramento Citation Processing Student Assistant
Citation Processing Student Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 3, 2014
My work schedule was the same week to week and I enjoyed having my breaks on time and available coaching as needed from my supervisors. At first, the work was challenging, just until I learned the routine. After that, it was great and the routine we created benefited all of the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSULB
President (Former Employee), Long Beach, CADecember 28, 2013
It's a great school to be part of and I love studying and working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive and encouraging workplace with great colleagues
Instructional Student Assistan (Current Employee), Fullerton, CADecember 26, 2013
Pros: flexible with school projects and classes
Cons: teams keep changing due to former colleagues graduating
Very flexible, learnt valuable team building and leadership skills, excellent team of individuals to work with.
Challenging leadership with a group of 50 students, tutoring experience most enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely friendly environment to suit member's exercising needs
Belayer, Equipment Rental, Climbing Instructor (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CADecember 24, 2013
Having worked at the CSUSB's Rec Center for more than two years I learned that the staff takes the time to carefully listen to member's needs and wishes. My typical day working at the rock-wall in the rec center included checking out rock-climbing equipment, keeping the area clean, making sure climbers were safe, preventing climbers from falling by – more... holding their weight with a rope, and providing climbing classes and tips as well as teaching them the knowledge necessary to become climbers. My co-workers at the rock-wall were friendly with fellow members and my co-workers from the rec center were constantly willing to help fellow co-workers. The hardest part of my job overall was getting the necessary hours to make any substantial money but seeing how they worked with a student's hectic schedule it was more than understandable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome research experience
Biochemistry Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 24, 2013
• Analyzing, isolating, and synthesizing DNA, proteins of Arabidopsis
• Tagging lipid transfer protein (LTP3 & LTP4) of Arabidopsis using Gateway technique
• Tagging DNA with designed primers using PCR
• Culture Cells in LB media and agar plates
• Transformation of new DNA into the E-Coli
• Furnish reports, papers, and recommendations according to the – more... results of the studies
• Presenting research results to colleagues and other professionals – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a chance to get ahead
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hayward, CADecember 16, 2013
working here will help you get ahead. If you work hard then you will definitely get ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned so much about laboratory work
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Hayward, CaDecember 11, 2013
A typical day would consist of preparing media and stains, streak plating and inoculating and incubating plates. I learned how to streak for isolation. I learned how to make and inoculate slants and deeps. The management was great as well as my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was nothing. The most enjoyable part of the job was streak plating
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
TUTOR (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CADecember 6, 2013
Pros: the job works around a student's schedule.
Cons: it is hard to balance work and school.
I enjoyed the various jobs I had while I worked at CSUB. The job works around someone's schedule. The job is hard because tutoring is somewhat difficult for a variety of reasons. A work day depends on the number of students a tutor has and the center can be hectic sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to be independent and teach students
Instructional Student Assistant (Current Employee), Fullerton, CADecember 2, 2013
A typical day consists of attending a class of Multivariable Calculus, then preparing a session to review and help students on topics that are currently being worked on. My supervisors are very helpful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, professional staff and hard working students
Lecturer, Part-time Faculty (Current Employee), Fullerton, CANovember 27, 2013
I enjoy teaching in CSUF, Very rewarding, professional co-workers and staff. Very flexible with the method of teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for an internship
Internship for Political Science Department (Current Employee), San Marcos, CANovember 25, 2013
Pros: helpful staff members, friendly work environment, free food
Cons: unpaid internship, not very exciting
It was a good experience overall. I just wish it was a paying internship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head of the Cataloging Dept./Cataloger
Librarian (Former Employee), Fullerton, CANovember 18, 2013
Pros: stimulating environment
I created and maintained original cataloging records in all subjects and formats. Enhanced shared cataloging records for audiovisual materials, serials, and other formats as needed. Created and maintained name and series authority records. Resolved complex copy cataloging and post-cataloging problems. Coordinated current cataloging policies in accordance – more... with developing national standards and shifting local needs including writing Cataloging Policy Documents. Enhanced OCLC records, as needed. Executed needed database maintenance and uploads. Worked on special projects, as needed. Downloaded EBL online e-book additions on a monthly basis. Completed cataloging the remainder of the maps for the Library/Patrons Boswell Cartographic Digitization Project. Created macros and advised changes on the load tables to save catalogers’ time and expedite the information about library materials now available in the public catalog. Tested new cataloging software and assisted with development of new cataloging procedures and trained other catalogers, as needed. Lead the Cataloging Policy Team. Participated in ILS Task Force and Digitization Planning Task Force. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a teaching assistant was a helpful experience to continue working in photography.
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 17, 2013
Pros: free use of the darkroom, lead critiques, interact with students
Cons: short hours, no room for advancement
I will typically show up a little before the class starts, and then right away start evaluating students prints and negatives. The majority of the class I am observing the students answering any and all questions, along with solving any problem with the equipment. I always clean the lab at the end of class, and fix any equipment if needed. The job is – more... quite simple. The current classes I have been the teaching assistant for are all critique based so I no longer need to correct papers. To be honest the most difficult part is not having anyone need my help, due to it being an upper division class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fund and learned a lot
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 12, 2013
This job really shaped me for a future job, because this is where i learned how to use all the different Microsoft software. As well as deal with simple office Machinery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Organic Chemistry Lab Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CANovember 5, 2013
Working there, I learned a lot more about me then I ever thought I could. I discovered where my strengths and weaknesses were and had the opportunity to work on those weaknesses.I have learned that work conditions change from day to day, that certain projects require individual attention while others involve teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSUN
Urban Studies Department- Student Assistant (Former Employee), Cal State Northridge, CaOctober 28, 2013
Pros: flexible job.
Cons: the pay was very low
I assisted the professors with proof reading, typing, making copies of assignments, and any other clerical duties. I learned different programs such as word, PowerPoint, excel, etc. Management was great. I enjoyed working with everyone in the department. My coworkers were very nice. We were all student and we worked well together. I can't think of anything – more... that was particularly difficult. The job was pretty easy and straight forward. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping the professors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I taught clinical parasitology
Microbiology Instructor (Current Employee), Carson, CAOctober 28, 2013
I teach the lifecycles of parasites important to human and veterinary health. Management is the supervisor of the clinical lab program at CSUDH. I do not act with coworkers since I'm on campus only one day. Enjoyable part is teaching people who will become clinical lab scientists tropical medicine. Hardest part is fitting all we have to talk about in – more... one semester. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a teacher and the students. Working with other faculty brought both joy and angst.
Professor of Public Policy and Management (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: getting paid for something i have a passion about--helping people learn.
Cons: limitations of a classroom and dealing with faculty who did not want to change.
I worked between 8-12 most days, some longer. I was trying to be as current as I could in two somewhat distinct areas: public administration and policy as well as the private sector. A major benefit is that I got to understand both much more because I could see at least 10 different perspectives. I learned about myself and what I valued most about being – more... an educator, which was working with students and assisting them in their journey to being a more well-rounded student and person. I also valued giving them a balanced perspective, turning them into motivated life-long learners and readers, and encouraging them to reach for what they wanted but to first assess what they really wanted, not just what they thought they wanted, that is make sure you have passion about what you want to do with your life. Management was faculty who often did not know or have a clue about managing because that was not their field or they did not have any management experience. Some were great and some were less than so. Hardest part of the job was trying to get faculty to change for the sake of the students. Teaching and interacting with the students was my first love and still is, followed by research and writing for practical learning. My values are diversity of students and thought, ethical conduct by all, reasoned debate, life-long learning, creativity, understanding Gardner's take on IQ, that is emotional IQ in its many forms is just as important to the growth and ability of a person and to be recognized by educators as just as important as grades and tests. There is always room and should be more room made for the square pegs in the round peg room. – less

About California State University

The California State University offers unlimited opportunities to help students fulfill their personal and professional goals. – Read more

California State University Photos