California University of Pennsylvania Employee Reviews

Showing all 45 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California University of PA
Student worker (Former Employee) –  California, PAJuly 15, 2012
I attending this school for my Bachelor's and Master's degrees. Cal U is a great university for the teaching program. I enjoyed the professors and my peers. All of the professors were very intelligent and helpful to me as I learned how to become a Journalist and then also an English teacher.
Pros
cost and location
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Event Planning
Field Experience (Former Employee) –  California, PAJanuary 6, 2014
We put together the first "Freezin' 5k" to take place at the university where we raised about 1000 dollars for scholarships. with it being the first we had a lot of freedom to do what ever we thought would work.
Pros
Great Experience
Cons
Some students did not do any work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  California, PADecember 27, 2014
California University of Pennsylvania is my current University where I am studying chemistry with minors in Mathematics and Finance. While studying here I hold a teaching assistant position for the physics department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working while in college.
Student Services Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  California, PaApril 16, 2015
Worked as a GA while in school. Great way to earn a little extra money while taking full time credits. Enjoyed the people I worked with and got to meet many new connections.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AStudent assisnat
Student assiant (Current Employee) –  Caslifornia PaJuly 9, 2015
Answering Phone, management doesn't care about there student workers. Conducting tours. I loved meeting new people. learned about housing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Effective encouraging work place
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  California, PAJune 10, 2013
As Graduate Assistant I experienced a great educational work environment at CalU. My supervisor used my strengths to give me opportunities I would not have gotten in any other Graduate position on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very stable, fun and energetic workplace
Workstudy/Intern (Current Employee) –  Human Resource OfficeMarch 7, 2012
California University of PA HR office is a great place to work at. I was a workstudy and an intern in the office and the people are friendly and like to help you out in anyway that they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my School
graduate asistant (Current Employee) –  department of nursingMarch 24, 2015
I wasn't sure at the first time but it turned into a dream the time goes by. You can find everything you want easily; IT support, fun, educational contribution, friendly people etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
VOLUNTEER (Current Employee) –  California, PANovember 7, 2012
Great college. Here your not just a number, your professors know you by name. There are many wonderful professors here to help you get your degree and secure your future.
Pros
free transportation on local buses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  California, PAJanuary 26, 2013
As I was Community Assistant I learned time management, and juggling work with school with play. I feel that Cal U has helped me in where I am today
Pros
free housing
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for first job
Graduate Teaching Assistant/Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  California, PASeptember 30, 2014
this was one of my first jobs and I really liked working here. Would recommend this to any student who is trying to find a work study.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
Visiting Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  California, PAJanuary 4, 2015
As a Student, It liked the learning environment at CALU. As a faculty, I enjoy teaching, coworkers are nice and cooperating.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research and Office Management
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  California, PAJune 10, 2013
Office coverage
University Board monthly meeting
Research based projects concerning educating Undergraduate Online-Based classrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work study position.
Assistant to the Secretary (Current Employee) –  California, PASeptember 9, 2013
Everyone in the Department of Social Work at California University of Pennsylvania is absolutely wonderful. We all work hard and have a good time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits no training all hands on with very little supervision
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  California UniversityOctober 13, 2013
Short day with lots of projects to do
The hardest part of this job is no supervision and lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Work-Study Student (Former Employee) –  California, PANovember 3, 2013
As a work-study, I didn't have too much to do, but it was a truly wonderful job. Definitely an even balance between work and student life.
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
none!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Captain/Team Member (Former Employee) –  columbus, ohJanuary 11, 2015
Great opportunity to bound with younger kids. Also gave the chance to shape a young mind. Teach them responsibility and discipline.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller University with good academic
Student-athlete (Former Employee) –  California, PaJanuary 16, 2015
Smaller school with great facilities. Classrooms have professors focus on students.
Pros
Small campus
Cons
Small town
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Counselor Education Department Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  California, PAApril 14, 2013
I have a great in-depth knowledge of how a higher education department runs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp job
Distance Education and Information tech (Former Employee) –  California, PAApril 25, 2014
Flexible hours
Temp job
Small pay
Easy going supervisor
Easy job to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at California University of Pennsylvania. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.4

California University of Pennsylvania Reviews by Location