Find companies:
Calpine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Calpine Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, set up a contracts admin dept and system. Also on team implementing Documentum records managgement system.
Manager, Contracts and Records (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 14, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: changes when co filed for bankruptcy.
Managed 5 employees in contracts and records area. Great team building. Co-workers were great and I learned a lot in the 6 years I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional but fun place to work
Office Manager (Former Employee), Westbrook, MEOctober 18, 2012
Pros: location, management
Management cares about you as a person both personally and professionally.

They care about you and advancing you in the company if you so choose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Task within various depts
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXAugust 27, 2012
Answered phones, kept site visitors log, copied plot drawings, created labels for books and files, assisted the document control clerk with entry of drawings in expedition 6.4, assisted the engineers and start up in locating drawings and manuals, transmitted packages and/or books via ups online to various personnel and vendors, received faxes and mail, – more... assisted the project administration manager with various duties such as coding the invoices and composing the monthly financial book, coordinated the safety trainings with Houston area safety council for all employees and vendors working on site, completed safety report of man hours, responsible for count of all calpine employees and vendors in the event of an alarm, travel arrangements for engineers and managers, scheduled meetings, ordered and maintained office supplies, purchased commodities for the calpine employees, coordinated the construction site trailer(s) repairs, coordinated the furniture purchases and deliveries, assisted the commissioning group with the action item list in access. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exciting place to work
Sr. Project Administrator (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAJuly 19, 2012
Pros: learned a lot about electricity
Cons: got laid off
• Provided direct administrative support to the Vice President of Capital Projects (construction), Vice President of Project Development, the project’s team members including Sr. Counsel, consultants, Board of Directors and other high level officers as needed
• Scheduled, coordinated and organized on and off-site meetings for and with the public, local – more... and government agencies. Prepared meeting distributions, attended meetings and scribe meeting notes
• Coordinated all aspects of travel arrangements domestic and international and maintained individual calendars
• Formatted and composed confidential and non-routine correspondence – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Job
Land Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 18, 2012
Good, small oi & gas company. Due to family situations, I had to leave and find a job with flexible hours during the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great people who work there
Various Contract Jobs (Former Employee), Houston, TX 77002June 12, 2012
Pros: good pay, good work hours, very knowledgeable coworkers and management
I really enjoyed working on this particular project. I had a chance to work with some of the best energy executives the industry had. They were retired Florida power operational executives, and we helped to improve operations for the company during energy outages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
MIS Technician (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJune 4, 2012
Pros: great family events, good pay and benefits, super people
Cons: a rugged drive to work.
An environment that cultivated learning, many well-educated people who were happy to share their knowledge. Very family-friendly, the annual picnic was always a blast for the whole family. A very caring group of people. I was encouraged to work hard, and rewarded when I did.
Most of the managers really listened to their employees, and the benefits package – more... was improved every year.
The only thing I could knock them down on would be job security, and that was because of the layoffs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went bankrupt and moved to texas
Director Accounting Services (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJune 4, 2012
Company went bankrupt and moved to texas. Does it really matter that there is a review for companies that went bankrupt.

December 10, 2012

I worked at Calpine before its bankruptcy. I worked in IT and there where two groups: one who know each other from the service, and one related by blood. In-between war and the Friday 5PM call - after you left the building. Management by sheer fear. Arrogant, incompetent, and spineless management all the way to the top. I witnessed conflict of interests and perhaps even embezzlement. The flavor of the week reorg - none stop across all parts of the business. On the business side, incompetent leadership put together by favorism which led finally to Calpine's bankruptcy. Calpine was the last resort place for outcasts who could not land a job during the Dot-Com days - and in those days pretty much anybody could find a job. Then brought a lot of good people on board which got pink slipped during those days. Few people at the bottom essentially doing all the work while incumbents took all the credits. I only worked there for a year and was not laid off. I can honestly say this was the worst company I ever worked for - and there is no close second. Their bankruptcy had little to do with natural gas markets and much to do with what I described above. I cannot say much about the time after bankruptcy as everybody I knew, some talented folks, left once the Dot-Com hangover resolved. I am assuming that bankruptcy solved most of the issues above.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Middletown, CAMay 11, 2012
Pros: being part of a great company
Cons: the drive to work was herendous, having to leave the company.
Days & Hours were perfect, Great co-workers, learned alot about geothermal. The most enjoyable part of my job was doing the mail distribution each day; as well as, being able to assist each department in the company and making a difference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
IS Analyst II (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 17, 2012
• Support approximately 250 users on the Power Trade floor.
• Support nMarket application across all of the ISOs.
• Extensive Power and Gas Trading knowledge.
• Support Front, Mid and Back office with ISO interactions.
• Support and troubleshoot Excel sheets.
• Write Ad-Hoc queries to query nMarket Oracle Database.
• Write SSIS packages to pull data – more... from Oracle to Sql for Reporting Services.
• Write SSRS reports for users.
• Support In-House Integration processes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs improvement
SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 16, 2012
Pros: great work life balance, benefits were great
Cons: micromanagement, time watchers
The people who make the internal mechanisms of the company need to and should ALWAYS be appreciated.

"There is no future in any job. The future lies in the man who holds the job"

About Calpine

Calpine may get hot, but it also knows how to blow off some steam. In 2012 the independent power producer and marketer controlled – Read more