CalPortland Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Summer Internship
Purchasing Intern (Former Employee) –  Glendora, CAJuly 17, 2017
Kind of a waste of time as a Psychology Major. My department chair never had an intern before me so he did not really know what sort of task to give me. Upon being given a project he resigned halfway through my internship leaving me with a project that now had no purpose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Cement Process Engineer Intern (Current Employee) –  Glendora, CAJuly 9, 2017
dynamic working environment
I was an intern there and they treats people pretty well. My boss was very knowledgable and helpful. He was opening to teach me all the new things
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Bad Management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 30, 2017
Good Company, great employees. Very large corporation in five states. Management needs more direction on how to manage. They tend to lay back and let the company manage itself.
Pros
Great customers which developed into great friends over the years.
Cons
Management needs more direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with local ties to community.
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Mojave, CAOctober 1, 2015
My job in the warehouse was non-stop, servicing as many as 120 persons on site. While there I was introduced to advance warehousing techniques which included electronic control of inventory. The management style of departments varied widely and the warehouse tended to be micro-managed for control purposes. My co-workers were mostly locally hired and became friends that I enjoyed spending leisure time with. The hardest part of my job was overcoming mistakes made by the employees when writing requisitions or purchase orders. The most enjoyable part of my day was working in a warehouse that was transformed from a filthy, unorganized space, into a spotless and streamlined facility.
Pros
Compassion for needed time off and extensive safety training.
Cons
Large, and sometimes, disconnected site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
Senior Tax Analyst (Former Employee) –  GlendoraAugust 27, 2015
Friendly and fun working environment; work life balance, generous benefit. Management has open door policy and welcome any suggestion for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very frustrating place to work.
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Snoqualmie, WADecember 12, 2014
The job started out great but since the recession this company has changed. The management has become very disconnected from the workers and they have continue to be short staffed. There is an environment of management is just waiting for you to break the rules and write you up. The pay hasn't gone up since 2008 and the benefits have gotten worse.
Pros
If you follow the rules they tend to leave you alone.
Cons
Stagnate pay, poor management, over worked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
ready mix truck driver (Current Employee) –  las vegas,NVSeptember 1, 2014
This is a great job, you're home every night, paid holidays, paid vacation,and excellent insurance. It's easy and just about everyone has a good attitude and enjoys their job.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Start
Mgr (Current Employee) –  NorthwestAugust 27, 2013
Good place to work. Advancement, benefits, and compensation have not kept pace with the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Operations Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glendora, CA 91741March 18, 2012
Great company to work for. Benefits package is outstanding.
Pros
you feel like you are working with friends, and are part of a family.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 16Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CalPortland Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.8
Culture
3.6