CalsonicKansei North America Inc. Employee Reviews in United States

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Provisional Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNJune 22, 2016
This place was just worried about getting the parts out the door they were never worried about their workers. I hated this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work, Work, Work
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNJune 1, 2016
You work a lot of hours. Can't be afraid of overtime. Mostly see your co workers more than family. Fast paced work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heat shields assemble
Assembly Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, TN 37160March 30, 2016
I love this job. all the people were friendly . I learn how the exhaust system works. the management here was ok. but my supervisor was amazing. my co workers was friendly they help made the work day go by fast an also fun. the hardest part of the hardest part of this job was the long hours and missing the family. the most enjoyable part was I was getting paid really good money to support my family an get what they need and want.
Pros
friendly people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place if you like tons of overtime
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMarch 9, 2016
Ok not my choice so choose wisely to much overtime
Didn't spend money in the maintenance felt like setup to fail but want you to keep it running with little to none downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits only good once you are full time.
Full time Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNFebruary 5, 2016
Poor management. Too much favoritism. Some employees can do things where if other employees do the same, they get wrote up. Some can come and go as they want and never get in trouble. Each shift has their own set of rules and laws. It's ok to do something today, but tomorrow you get in trouble for doing the same thing. But management always changes them when they want. Breaks are most of the time cut short or no break at all. You will be working and see the Nissan line and other companies go to break. You get points for pretty much anything they can get you for. Clock in 1 minute late and you get 1/2 a point. After 2 hours late, you get 1 point. Come to the line late, that's 1/2 a point, maybe one full pount. Depending what kind of mood they are in. 6 points, you are terminated. A point stays with you for a full year. If you get a point in June of 2010, then that point stays with you till June 2011. You are a Provisional Technician, which means, you are a temporary employee. Only without working through a temporary service. When and if you get full time status, if you are on 1st shift, you have to either 2nd or 3rd shift, unless it is an "offline" position. Some people have worked as provisional for 3 years and still haven't been hired on Full time. It used to be very enjoyable to work there, however, with them changing the rules each week,. It is hard to do your job without having to make sure you're doing it right or wrong because things change constantly within a moments notice. . Management don't stand behind their employees unless your one of their favorites. Alot of  more... backstabbing with management and employees. Not very enjoyable as it once was. Look elsewhere.  less
Pros
um.....leaving when it's time to leave
Cons
breaks being taken away....Management.....favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good money
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNJanuary 30, 2016
To much favoritism, and no opportunities for grown up, 7 days a week,easy job. breaks as well, no cellphones, no bottles,
Pros
good money and compensations, easy work
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work very fast paced environment variety of jobs available just takes long time to be hired permanently
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNJanuary 16, 2016
I make motor fans I have learned many different positions on the heater line before going to motor fans my supervisor has been good to me I enjoy the people I work with. The hardest part is waiting to be made permanent. In May I will have been there 3 years. They are on hiring freeze The most enjoyable part is knowing I have steady employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Job, environment and Sr management
Quality Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSJanuary 15, 2016
Sr management preaches that they want and expect Calsonic in Canton to be world class. What a joke!! I was hired as a manager and it took them 5 weeks to get me a computer. A hand me down computer that had hardware and software problems that were never resolved. It took them 8 weeks to get me a cell phone and 7 months to get me a desk phone. My desk was falling apart. The top drawer would fall out in the floor if you opened it and the bottom drawer had no bottom to it so it was useless. I told the plant manager that it looked like my desk had been dropped from a plane but I was told to suck it up. The bathrooms had no hot water and the soap dispensers and paper towel dispensers were broken, so you were forced to squeeze the soap out by hand. Toilets would not flush either. We had to wear uniforms to work that looked just like what mechanics wear. Ugly blue with your name on the front. Totally degrading and even our HR manager complained that it was degrading. The plant was filthy and the parking lot looked like a trash dump. Garbage and chicken bones were everywhere and I saw discarded condoms beside parked cars on many occasions. I also had to chair meetings with Japan on average about twice a week and because of the time difference, these meetings did not start until 6:30 or 7:00 PM and would last until 9:00 to 10:00 PM which made very long days since my work day started at 6:15 AM. The Sr. management team in TN is like a fraternity. They call the shots and we were 2nd class. They were clueless about TS16949 and instead use a worthless QSES system. We passed it with a B rank  more... and told Japan we were world class, only to not pass the Nissan ASES audit because the criteria was different and the QSES audit was passed because the auditor was steered to what was in order and kept away from what was not in order. It is the worst company I have worked for in 21 years of automotive quality engineering. World class? Not in a million years!!! I had 3 open positions that I could not get filled because nobody wants to work there. Do yourself a favor and shy away from this company if a recruiter contacts you. No support, long hours, no credit, dirty plant inside and out, and a good old boy sr management team that is incompetent is what you'll find if you take a job there.  less
Pros
Decent pay (salary)
Cons
70 hr work weeks so the Salary was low for the time expected on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cansonic
Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSJanuary 11, 2016
it is a good company to work for. Everyone from HR to regular line workers work together to perform at the most effective and safest way possible.i recommend them to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy working for Calsonic Kansei
Lead leader (Current Employee) –  Canton, MSDecember 2, 2015
Our day is very productive, well organized, the management team is the best. The hardest part about my job is the different personalities that work under me. the most enjoyable part of the day is getting our numbers far as production
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bosses
QA technician (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNNovember 23, 2015
I have been fortunate to have had 2 supervisors that I really enjoy working with couldn't' have ask for any better. Raises are not much and advancement is hard to get.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always opportunity to learn something new
line mechanic (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNNovember 6, 2015
Great company to work at with hard working people always looking to improve the company. Quality over Quantity. I have learn every press in my line and now given the opportunity to learn about the mold and robotics
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for good pay
Production Tech (Former Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNOctober 15, 2015
My Supervisor, unlike others, was approachable, open door, work your job for him and he backs you up. He was always ready to jump in to lend a hand where needed.
Pros
hot temps, great to lose weight
Cons
worked alot of weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off without warning.
Contract designer (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIOctober 8, 2015
Wanted to be a major player for a long term role but was blindsided with a layoff. I left a Designer IV position at GM for this place and was laid off a year and a half later.
Pros
Still wondering.
Cons
Enough said.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNOctober 4, 2015
A typical work day for me is being productive. Always ensuring that I have good quality parts. I love the management team and my coworkers. The least thing I like is the uniform , but I do understand the reason for them. I like the most about it is I think its a wonderful learning environment. I have found I knew nothing I thought I knew since I started.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved working their ,the work enviroment was safe and a learning process
Parts Montior (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSSeptember 22, 2015
loved the job I had and enjoyed every day their and loved learning new things at the job and loved working and getting to know my co-workers and loved working hands on and working with my supervisor the more you know the further you go
Pros
discount lunches
Cons
breaks where accurate and enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Lewisburg, TNSeptember 21, 2015
Good supervisors, good structure, very clean, and excellent pay. It is a great company overall and will work with your schedule if you need changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
SQL Server Developer (Current Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNSeptember 15, 2015
I love working under that management
Co-workers are very supportive
This client helps me a lot to learn new things
i am very comfortable working in this place
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, TNSeptember 4, 2015
Meeting production

Some data entry, assembly, trouble shooting

Freiendly co-workers

Working long hours

Enjoyed working with the people
Pros
GOOD PAY
Cons
NO CONS
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Technician (Current Employee) –  Smyrna, TNAugust 30, 2015
The leadership is horrible. Four hours over time will be given to you at the last moment. You are degraded for having children because the supervisor gave her child up for adoption so she could focus on her career. The hardest part of this job is dealing with the first shift supervisor.
Pros
There are no pros
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CalsonicKansei North America Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 74 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CalsonicKansei North America Inc. Reviews by Location