Calvary Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great people to work with
Volunteer Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 16, 2017
I enjoyed my time in Calvary Hospital very much. Everyone was friendly and nice, The patience made it worth while. Just to see them ahppy and hear that you made their day was the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced environment
Enviromental Services (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 5, 2017
family oriented everyone was very helpful and productive.They also give training for those who need it and are very patient ad helpful when someone is lost or in need of help.
Pros
life insurance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to grow
Certified Nurse's Aide (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 16, 2017
Good place to grow. People are friendly and the work hours are manageable. If you're interested in Palliative care this hospital is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job R
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 10, 2016
Working there was a good experience for me because I learn how to speak professional and work in a big working environment. I also learn how file paper work,
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 19, 2016
calvary hospital is a very nice place to work. the people are extremely nice and everyone is always willing to help you if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most racist place I ever worked
RN (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 4, 2016
Calvary is primarily African American the nurses ,nurses aides ,which is fine .As a Caucasian Rn ,I felt out of place ,passed over ,and demeaned.Just saying....
Pros
Home
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and a great place to volunteer. Free snacks
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 29, 2016
My day consist of signing patient in and out of their room for various activities.

I learned to be compassionate, caring, and understanding.

All the volunteers are pleasant and helpful. We all work well together.

The hardest part of the job is to know that it could be the last day with a patients.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I can make a patient smile
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job security
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 29, 2016
Calvary is an amazing place to work. your coworkers are friendly and courteous and management is extremely understanding. If I didn't relocate to another state, I probably would've never left! The days can get pretty hectic because all orders come through the purchasing department however my coworkers helped manage the flow. I learned all about the bidding process as well as how to correctly communicate with vendors. The hardest part of my day would be when or if I was told I couldn't obtain a specific item for one of our patients! Overall, I would definitely recommend anyone to apply here!
Pros
low cost breakfast and lunch; free employee parking; flexible schedules
Cons
small parking lot
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calvary Hospice
Calvary Hospice (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 20, 2016
Loved working, but it was a seasonal job. My boss was a kind woman, and co-workers were great. We all got along great. On a typical day I would do paperwork or visit the patients. I learned how to in interact with the sick. Hardest part was visiting the sick patients and knowing they wouldn't be on earth for long.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made filing paper work fun.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 4, 2016
Performed general and specific administrative duties. Organized patient sensitive and other medical related documentation.Operated phone services in a professional and efficient manner
Pros
Treated me like an equal
Cons
Couldn't stay longer
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Mission of Calvary is nonabandonment
Development Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 20, 2016
This is a great place to work. The culture of Calvary is non-abandonment and this holds true not just for the care of the patients and their families, but also for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Assist and set (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 12, 2016
A great place to work, the culture and work ethics is great. We learn together as a team.
Communication with management is encouraged at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 23, 2015
Great company. Staff was courteous. Great place to learn more about the medical administration field. Great place to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 19, 2015
Most compassionate people you will ever meet, delivers great end of life care and maintains patients dignity to the very end.
Cons
busy, covering large areas of home care, too much time driving
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and job duties
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 30, 2015
I made bereavement calls and survey calls
computer input of patients information
filing
family support
visited patients and patients family
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience at Calvary Hospital
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 16, 2015
A typical work day is very routine. I learned a lot of clerical experience in a hospital setting. The management is great and they are always there to work with you, and make sure you learn to the fullest, with what they have to offer. The co-workers are very friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job is being able to handle things at a fast-paced. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to multi-task in a timely manner.
Pros
Reasonable lunch breaks, clean and friendly environment, facilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work lots of fun both at and off the job
Senior Internship/Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Bron, N.Y.July 7, 2015
Go in fill out your daily activity log. You learn how to build trust with patient and their families. Your coworkers are very supportive in making sure that you are on target at all times. The hardest part of the job is watching a patient that you have become familiar with dies. The most enjoyable part of the job, is coming in each day and seeing the smiles on the patients faces just to see you.
Pros
Supervisor and workers friendly and understanding
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring atmosphere
Clinical Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bronx NYApril 20, 2015
Therapeutic recreation for patients
Compassionate care
counseling for patients and families
Excellent staff, Hi tech wound care
excellent physicians
pastoral care
Pros
benefits
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place for a new graduate
Day Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 26, 2015
A dynamic place to work. The culture is centered on dignity, caring, non- abandonment and compassion for staff,patients and families. Most people have a false sense of the the type of environment it is because the emphasis is on Palliative Care and End of Life, but Calvary Hospital offer other services that most are unaware of. The Wound Care and Outpatient clinic exceptional. The other services offered are Hospice and Home Care. The hardest part of the job is the connection that you make with patients and families. Every patient is special,but some touch your heart. The best part about the job is that you have made a patient comfortable while providing support to the patient's loved ones.
Pros
Excellent and competitive benefits package
Cons
No 10 hour or 12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and great employees.
Patient Accounts/Billing Intern (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 19, 2015
Though I've only been in the professional workforce for a short period of time, this has been one of the best work environments I've been in. The management were some of the nicest people I've met while at a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Calvary Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

CEO Approval

90%
11 ratings
Add your rating

Calvary Hospital Reviews by Location