Calvin College Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, good work experience
Internship Academic Services (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 22, 2016
During my internship I gained valuable knowledge how to conduct business in an administrative role. I learned how to conduct interviews, became better at organizing, attended meetings etc. Management there was also fantastic. People were always open, friendly and always were willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student worker
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 12, 2016
Great people, paychecks to help cover my tuition -- what more could one person ask for? But I also experienced working as part of a team, something that I have taken forward into post-college jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work here
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIDecember 18, 2015
come in and work for hours get lunch clean the dining room and eat diner and then work till late at night. management would sit in their office all day and then come in the kitchen and eat over the food sometimes spilling crumbs into the food.
Pros
free luch and diiner
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning Based
Enrollment Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 8, 2015
It is a college but it gives a lot opportunities for students to work in various areas on campus. It focuses on giving students experience of how will real-life jobs would be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good on campus job
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 6, 2015
Flexible work hours that made it easy to balance a job and school work. I worked with other students which made work a relaxing environment.
Pros
I could do homework during slow times
Cons
the scanners didn't always work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic institution that I work for part-time as well as I attend school.
Chimes Newspaper Staff Writer (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 17, 2015
Calvin College is my school. I enjoy working here because everyone has something in common: They love Calvin! I answered phones at the switchboard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend this college to any one.
Line custodian - housekeeping for a dorm (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 5, 2015
Productive and a good place to work. I felt that I was there as a personal mission to help the students. I also enjoyed being with my co-workers, as working with them. The most part I enjoyed is being on my feet and working with different variety of jobs.
Pros
discount at the bookstore.
Cons
good health care, retirement plan
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 4, 2014
I enjoyed my time working for Resident's Life. My immediate supervisor as well as my head boss were both delightful people to work for and were helpful in my development as a student as well as a Resident Assistant. The work was hard at times but always rewarding.
Pros
free room and board
Cons
not salaried
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calvin
Adjunct Professor of Music (Current Employee) –  Grand RapidsJuly 24, 2014
Few students to teach, but they are fairly attentive and excel in lessons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Biology Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 15, 2014
Enjoyed getting to help and answer questions
Grading was boring but doable
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and job stability
Student Activities Office Worker (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMay 4, 2014
I have worked in student jobs at Calvin since I began going there. I have always had great bosses and co-workers that created a healthy environment. It does not always pay well, but I got good experience and made a lot of friends.
Pros
great management
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passionate, committed and productive
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 21, 2014
all ways busy but enjoyable and lovely to deal with students. Friday is me best day after long busy week
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Men's Soccer Assistant Coach (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 4, 2014
It is a place that you don't leave. The people are great. Everyone on staff is very helpful and are more than happy to assist you if they can.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Program Leader (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 13, 2014
I was a student at Calvin College and kept myself busy with school work, friends, and other activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 17, 2013
Everyday was a great day at the college. Great place to work with wonderful coworkers who lifted you up with support.
Pros
wages were great
Cons
temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers delegated assignments well.
Salad Department (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 6, 2013
Great hours, employees from every department worked togather as a team. The students made our day.
Pros
interaction with people was the best.
Cons
hours of prep for huge picnic twice a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist for the Psychology Department (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 3, 2013
Typical day involved doing normal receptionist type work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Worker
Information Technology Technician, Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 11, 2013
Working in the Information Technology department is very enjoyable.
Pros
community focused on other things than money
Cons
low pay (student job)
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job Only
Student Teacher (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 8, 2013
If I lived in Michigan, I might consider going back to work at Calvin, but this was really just working experience during my college years. I had great bosses and wonderful work environments -- a great opportunity to help pay my way through college!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Part Time ASL Instructor (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIDecember 16, 2012
I teach ASL I & II core courses to speech pathology and audiology students for two semesters. It is the most enjoyable part of the job that I have helped them to gain their knowledge and awareness about Deaf culture.
Pros
good working enviroment
Cons
long hours-2.5/3 hours once a week plus several breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture