Find companies:
CAMBA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

CAMBA Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAMBA
Janitor (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 13, 2015
Work days would start after school finished, I cleaned the staircases, bathrooms and vacuumed and mopped when necessary. I learned how to be more social with students around me , meeting new people and my co-workers were very social and happy to welcome me to the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great job and i learned alot about helping people with basic skills.
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 4, 2015
i was i charge of making sure that clients were home on time. I helped prepare there meals. i help them to engage and fun activities. I learned new things from my co workers that help me along the way with life and job requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation and benefits
Case Manager (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 14, 2015
Pros: Employee orientated. allows several holidays throughout the year.
Cons: Micro-management
CAMBA is a non for profit community based organazation. CAMBA is an essential oasis for helping people do better. Case management and reports are required constantly. I have learned community networks – more... are important in order to help people to solve the problems in their lives. Micro management can sometimes be overbearing to the worker. Co-workers were a diverse group whereas they helped the case manager understand the different cultures that were encounted by clients.THe hardest part of the job was maintaining a client in the program for 3-5 years from the birth of the baby. It was a pleasure to get the clients gratification when an issue was resolved on their behalf. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and productive
Intern (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 22, 2015
My learning objectives involved learning the operating structure of a community-based organization (i.e., CAMBA) and its relationship with the Department of Health (DOH), which includes regarding issues – more... affecting the community: how field work and documentation of outreach efforts comply with the DOH’s requirements, learning how to execute and evaluate community outreach programs and social marketing regarding the prevention of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases, and how to identify community needs, organize data entry, administer surveys, and improve skills in data evaluation and data analysis.
One of the interesting experiences I had during my internship was attendance at a local community World AIDS day event. At the event I was able to network with other members at CAMBA’s other branches. I also was introduced to other types of clients that CAMBA serves. It was a transformative experience for me to witness such a huge gathering of individuals with various mental and physical disabilities and financial hardships and to realize the great extent of the needs of communities. I learned that the services that community-based organizations like CAMBA provide, maintains the community’s survival and has a profound impact on the community’s physical and psychological well-being. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a platform to spring to something great.
Career Advisor (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 21, 2015
Pros: Opportunity to work
Cons: Unequipped Management
CAMBA is a great non profit. Would prefer to have staff development training.

More focus on staff and career advancement rather than just numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Non-Profit Agency
Residential Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Meet some nice residents
Cons: BHWS itself
I worked at BHWS, the worst place to work. There is no structure, and favoritism is at an all time high. There is absolutely no growth and this particular site (unless you are a family member). It seems as if I was an opponent to management there. They are all cliqued up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of favortism
residential aide (Former Employee), magnolia house women's shelter Brooklyn, nyMarch 23, 2015
Pros: you gain a lot of hand on experience
Cons: favoritism, cliques, no room for growth
Alot.of. favoritism, lazy workers get recognized while you bust your behind they treat you like garbage, cliques, no room for growth if you're not the favorite have you do more work than your job title. I had a miserable experience and wasn't happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Security/ Receptionist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 9, 2015
I feel thay mywarm demeanor and dedicated work ethic help make my job a lot less stressful for me. Along with a great team of people.I enjoy helping the public and being able to assist people from all walks of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energic Environment
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: trips, long lunch breaks
I usually worked from 8 am to 2 pm , Monday to Friday with the kids, who are a very interesting group of children who taught me a few thing while I was teaching them they we're creative and full of energy – more... that kept my co-workers and I on our toes. Even though they were a few who never listen I'd always tried to compromise with them so it woks out for everyone. I love working with the children at Camba because I loved the chance I had to teach them things that might help them in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extreme micro-managing/no real training
case manager (Former Employee), 19 Winthrop St, Brooklyn, NYFebruary 19, 2015
Cons: large work/case load, ineffective lazy management, no real direction or guidance!
Worst agency I ever worked for! The work load and supervision was so demanding and over bearing that I cried at work twice!!! Management treats you like children, with constant check ins and questions!!! – more... Very unorganized when it comes to traing staff during probationary period! They expect you to know EVERYTHING in a few days after starting! Be very aware!!! THEY HAVE A HIGH TURN OVER FOR A REASON!!!!!! The pay and benefits are okay, BUT still not worth all the tedious senseless work you have to do!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Intern (Former Employee), new york,nyFebruary 15, 2015
Pros: gift cards
Cons: short breaks
i learned how to show initiative stay on task be responsible of my workplace also learning how to work with others my manager was good she was very outstanding and a splendid boss my co-workers was good – more... as well they was on the same task as me the most enjoyable part of the job was taking getting candy from my boss and also the things she would allow us to do which was listening to music while we work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Facilities Superintendent (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 8, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: low pay
Loved working there - the organization really helps people and I loved being a part of the movement. The only thing is the Non - Profit status doesn't lead to higher compensation - but we all have heard about those things in the past - all in all enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Care Coordinator (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 8, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Nice to know they hire within. I work with great people. Work is steady, some-days can be challenging then others. Overall great place to work. My Co-workers make the day fun and we all assist and help each other get through tough times of the day. I have a great team of people that I work with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
at camba
DRIVER/MAINTENCEMAN (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYOctober 28, 2014
Pros: real busy
Cons: the upgrade unless someone leave
well my day start off with making sure the offices are clean then i will move on to the bathrooms and hallways before i start with cleaning the dorms and showers i learn that if the facilty aint clean – more... and up to standard the facilty can be shut down my co worker are a team we work together and that what make ours jobs fun the hardest part of my job is the clients since they homeless they tend to flip out but that the most enjoyable part of the job to be able to talk to them and see whats the problem and solve it for them – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and Prevention
Peer Educator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 9, 2014
I am a peoples person. I was a bartender, and I loved it. I dont discriminate on no one. I have gone to Albany to speak at fundraiser events for health insurance and prevention on AIDS/HIV and STD. I have – more... also done tabling educational and prevention. I have been a speaker for a high school and churches. I have been a speaker for forums,conferences, at women events and health fairs. Non-profit organizations,and hospitals. I have also done networking at the department of health in NYC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with children
CRISIS COUNSELOR (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great children and parents
Cons: lack of management
A typical day consisted of a daily schedule and themes/ crafts led by myself. Learned to multi-task as my assistant was rarely in classroom. Management could have focused more on early childhood conferences – more... to help teachers, especially assistants learn about the developing child and how to facilitate play effectively. I was able to work with children who I cared for and that made my work very satisfying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Employment Specialist (Current Employee), Brooklyn, New YorkJune 29, 2014
Busy with lots of interuptions, never a dull moment. You must multitask as many things happen at once.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural
Receptionist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 25, 2014
I had a good time since I was able to help people from my parent's country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they do not care about their clients
Residence Coordinator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 25, 2014
Pros: getting to meet new people
Cons: no professionalism
they are more concerned with getting money from sponsors then to actually help the clients that are suffering from substance abuse or mental issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Assistant Child Care Provider (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJune 22, 2014
Pros: great environment
Cons: promotion eligibility
a typical day at camba in arriving early, preparing all material, lesson plans and daily activities for the children.

1 2 3