Camping World and Good Sam Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Internet Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Calera, ALNovember 17, 2017
I currently work here- I enjoy every day. The management is great and so are the co-workers. I do not have any complaints. I have complete full health care coverage - starting day one. Management is great - This has been a great experience so far!!!!
Pros
everything - this is a great team environment
Cons
nne so far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
RV Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  Thornburg, VANovember 15, 2017
Camping World offers exponential growth opportunity. The pay is commissioned so it is a very fast paced and aggressive position (which I enjoy). This is job where you truly excel if you do well. You choose how much you are going to make based on how hard you are willing to work.
Pros
Money
Cons
a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and too many of them.
Lot Porter (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHNovember 15, 2017
Worked as a lot porter and had 6 mangers all with their own idea of what each porter should do. Constantly changing what they tell you to do. Dont give proper training, direction, or equipment to do job effeciantly. Managers give technicians the idea and leeway to be in charge of porters. Managers play favoritism with techs and porters to give unqualified techs more work/money. Turn over rate with techs and porters is high. In 6 months there was 6 new techs hired and fired/quit and 2 lot porters fired, and not for causing lot damage or for not working, but for questioning how they manage the device department.
Pros
Sales manager isn’t bad
Cons
Too many managers with zero communication, favoritism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor environment, back stabbing , unethical finance dept
Sales (Current Employee) –  Grain Valley, MONovember 14, 2017
Sales dept is desperate, overloaded sales floor and management encourages petty back stabbing. Hostile work environment. Finance manager bad, real bad, "LOCK HIM UP". No vacation time for sales staff, everyone else gets vacations paid. Share offices and other salesmen steel everything, Even your lunch. RUN RUN RUN AWAY?
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking over your shoulder
Rv Tech (Former Employee) –  Berkley, MIOctober 26, 2017
Poor management with a Flate rate system that is rigged to a circle of certain people, mangers friends. Other workers have to pickup the slack. A typical day of work consists of how to shaft or upscale the customer and bandade all the mistakes. The hardest part of the day is read through the lies and to do what's right.can not get parts you have to take from what's on the lot. I worked there and would not recommend this company, .
Pros
Hours
Cons
Healthcare very pricey with little coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back shop work
Detailer (Former Employee) –  cedar falls iaOctober 26, 2017
i would detail rv's inside and out, cleaning and hand waxing the outside sometimes climbing 18 foot ladders very frequently throughout a typical day. also working in extreme weather conditions
Pros
i got to work alone on my own schedule
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
directed by medical or nursing staff (Former Employee) –  Mountain Lake, MNOctober 25, 2017
Your always on your feet and will always have something to do at all times. When i worked at good sam i worked in the mornings and for me mornings were crazy you were and up and down the hallways getting things done but i would rather do that than have nothing to do and be bored.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Warranty Advisor/parts rep (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZOctober 23, 2017
Great company to work excellent work environment plenty of opportunity to move up. People are friendly and staff is like family. Great benefits and perks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hamburg, NYOctober 20, 2017
This place is full of drama and gossip you say one simple little tiny thing to someone and it gets blown outta the water and it's like high school, and the game telephone you played as a child when you told one person something it never came back the truth.
If you make one simple mistake management looks at you completely wrong and they are very judgemental especially in the retail store. Not good communication between co workers whatsoever. People make mistakes you shouldn't be looked at wrong for the rest of your time there for your simple mistake.
Pros
Free pop, benefits, decent pay
Cons
Gossip, judgemental, make a mistake once and they all look at you like your the worst person ever
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
RV TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Garner, NC 27529October 20, 2017
my time there was a great work environment , great people and great pay.. some days was stressful but others was fun and educational, learning new things every day of work..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall team and work environment are great.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZOctober 19, 2017
Most of the colleges are kind and helpful, and customers are usually happy. It is a demanding job, as you have multi responsibilities often at the same time. This is a sales position, so your incentives vary per individual performance.
This was one of my most pleasurable jobs, as far as work environment and pay goes. I would have still worked there today if it were up to me.
The biggest downfall is the management on the retail side. Starting at the top there was corrupt and bias that ultimately led to a few real quality personal leaving, either on their own accord, or terminated because management was challenged.
Pros
Great team environment, and decent pay
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
servant (Former Employee) –  undisclosedOctober 17, 2017
Back stabbing environment where all you hear is lying. The Management at the location where I worked were horrible. They all lie to our customers, and then expect us to trust them (that's insane) They only care about money, people do not matter. The training is a joke, then they expect you to know everything about everything. Hard to believe they operate this way, but in my opinion, It starts at the top.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customers, RV's are fun to work with
Operations Manager/Service Advisor/Technician (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAOctober 16, 2017
The job is fast paced and requires good customer service skills. Willing to train new employees with no experience. Management was not the best but you are able to create your own path to success with good work ethics. The best part of the job are the discounts you receive for purchasing product from their store. Nice perk. The hardest part is how busy they always are, have to be very organized and able to deal with upset customers.
Pros
Discounts in the store, as much over time as you want, learn new trades
Cons
Badly managed, too busy to keep up with work load.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the product
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vacaville, CAOctober 10, 2017
was hard working for a company that is not very trust worthy i cant give great customers service to customers who are always mad at the supervisor .. crissy and bill are the best managers at the store i wouldn't mind working for them if they moved to their own store
Pros
great products
Cons
guest services
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
Detailer (Former Employee) –  St. Augustine flOctober 10, 2017
“Supervisor” has no idea how to handle responsibility, lazy, employees and other staff are on drugs, management doesn’t know how to run things at all and no respect for anyone at all. Do not work for this company.
Pros
None
Cons
The whole job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commisisoned job.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Berkley, MAOctober 9, 2017
Commissioned job in a discretionary market place that has high credit standards to purchase. It is a luxury item with seasonality.
Creates a dog eat dog atmosphere. They talk about team play but the only game we are playing is golf, every man for himself.
You feel like you ar left hanging when you need help.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
No consistacy with mangement. Unable to hire and retain qualified managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Service Technician/Warranty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYOctober 9, 2017
Work was fast paced and on the flat rate system. Hourly rate wasn't the greatest but if you worked hard and efficient you could make a lot. Have to purchase own tools for the job but this is typical in this line of work.
Pros
Awesome people and work
Cons
Pay rate not the greatest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
RV Technician (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAOctober 8, 2017
Learned mor in the short time I was almost as much I learned from 13 years of trailer manufacturing Got to see how the product is seen from a different point of view
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Cleburne, TXOctober 6, 2017
I have really enjoyed my employment with Camping World and would recommend anyone who has a career in sales to join on to their team. The management is amazing.
Pros
Everyting
Cons
Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Sales Representative / Shop Foreman (Former Employee) –  Anthony, TXOctober 5, 2017
This location had a difficult time with all employees getting along. The management has to set the proper culture in order to get the best out of each employee.
Pros
good business to get into
Cons
working with the right team makes all the difference
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Camping World and Good Sam. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 324 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.5
Culture
2.9