Camping World and Good Sam Employee Reviews

Found 193 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides wonderful benefits and excellent salaries.
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCMay 31, 2016
Work was very stressful and hard to find a work-life balance, however the money earned and competitive pay made up for all of the stress. Free lunches, company parties, and felt like you were working with family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
RV Technician (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARMay 29, 2016
Allows me to put to use all of my technical expertise in mechanical, electrical, plumbing, Heating, Air conditioning. Also allows for me to have contact with customers to advise in day to day use of an RV.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, lousy corporate atmosphere
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  WisconsinMay 20, 2016
There isn't much I can say that's positive about this company. The push of memberships, and product protection plans is ridiculous. The store manager pushes employees to hate working there. The service manager only wants to make sure he hits his monthly goals by closing work that hasn't been performed. The General Manager is a nice guy, buy in the end was inexperienced and only focused on the sales department.
Pros
Nice discount
Cons
Management, lack of raises, corporate structure
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work when management has you back
Internet/BDC Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 18, 2016
New Management can always be hard, however, it is a good place to work if the truth is always there. Overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours without breaks
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Meridian, IDMay 5, 2016
No time off for lunches or breaks. Able to advance if willing to put in the time. Interesting clientele and fun atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun at all
Detailer (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 2, 2016
this place will work you to death, no such thing as 15 minute break, no promotions, management on drugs. the people were cool to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJApril 20, 2016
Don't get paid commission, very poor management. Have rvs sitting around not getting fixed. Service Manager and so forman have no clue on how to run a shop. No training. Told to figure it out on your own
Pros
Ha!
Cons
The entire company
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not agree the companies overall philosophy
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 16, 2016
A very political environment . I worked very hard to increase sales and attitudes; as a team approach.upper management were not completely honest with working financial agreement and resposibilites.
Pros
large buying power and marketing
Cons
not honest regarding payplan agreement and cutthroat to employees..
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Inbound Sales (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COApril 15, 2016
This place is a mess
items are unavailable
management problems
no work structure
place is unorganized
No real work environment
Co workers are not educated
No real hard job in this company
un clean
no real enjoyment
Pros
non
Cons
shipping costs, products all on backorder
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of employees
Lot porter (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARMarch 30, 2016
From the sales team to the service team, every one knows the mission most of the time and are able to get the job down in a timely manner.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Too small of a lot for the amount of work that we do there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report

Want to know more about Camping World and Good Sam?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Success is based on performance
Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMarch 25, 2016
Having worked several jobs at a dealership/retail store, I can safely say that success and compensation are extremely dependent on your performance on the job.

Most of the positions come with fair compensation, although there is likely room to negotiate beyond their first offer.

It's a great place to work if you into camping or RV's and like a commission based pay structure.

It may not be great if you dont like interacting with people or selling.

The sales quota's at most locations are reasonable.
Pros
Work hard, and compensation won't be an issue
Cons
Always felt I could do more with my life
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a awsome place to work
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Coburg, OR 97408March 3, 2016
I loved the energy that the customers talked about during their travels that they brought in every day. The teamwork was second to none.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable and Fast-paced RV Dealership with fun-loving employees and top-notch service
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calera, ALMarch 3, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job was the challenge of meeting and satisfying the needs of customers. My co-workers and I would work together to ensure that the needs of the customer as well as the company were always met.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced workplace.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oxford, ALMarch 1, 2016
On a typical day at Camping World I check inventory to make sure all units are clean and ready for show. I've learned the different styles and layouts of RV's. Management stays busy and can be a bit stressed out at times, but overall they are very helpful in learning the new job and SOP. My co-workers are upbeat and very helpful. The hardest part of the job is learning all the different inventory of RV's. The most enjoyable part of the job is building a relationship with the customers and helping them find and purchase the perfect RV for their lifestyle.
Pros
Friendly co-workers and free food on Saturdays
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unorganized work environment
Detailer (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORFebruary 26, 2016
A typical day at Camping World was usually hectic and unorganzed the whole way through. I learned quite a bit from my co-workers. The management was bad at first and then it only got a little better once I finally quit. I loved my co-workers, they were the only reason i stayed for as long as I did. The hardest part of the job had nothing to do with my co-workers, it was mostly management, they hardly knew what they were doing. The most enjoyable part of my job as a detailer was definitely my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not go to work for them ever again
Technician (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMFebruary 25, 2016
1. they do not stick to what they put on paper they promise the world and cant deliver the company would rather spend money for flag polls and flags instead of buy equipment to do the jobs they bring in to their shops
Pros
no pro's
Cons
there is no addvancement working for them
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wronge parts
RV Technician\fabricator (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAFebruary 3, 2016
Always jumping around from one project to the next waiting for parts. Parts would come in damaged. Difficulty finding certain parts was periodic.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people but the salary is lacking.
Store Order Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYFebruary 3, 2016
They have had a wage freeze for the past 4 years. This year they increased the starting salary to 12.00 an hour, and cut hours at the store level, but did not increase the salary of those already making over 12.00 an hour.
Pros
Paid volunteer hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable working with RV'ers and travelers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLFebruary 2, 2016
Enjoyed working with people on the road traveling from many different states, providing a good customer service experience.
Earning Spiffs (bonus incentives) while doing job a big plus. A lot of pressure to maintain certain percentages selling memberships a rewarding challenge.
Pros
Some free food on weekends, bonus incentives
Cons
Pressure to sell many different memberships.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work with customers horrible Management
Customer service, merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJDecember 28, 2015
Nice place to work with customers, most coworkers were pleasant. Management is lacking knowledge, both GM and retail.

nice discounts, road side.
Pros
nice discount
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 197 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9