Camping World and Good Sam Employee Reviews

Found 222 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and good advancement oppurtunity
Business Development Director (Former Employee) –  Bartow, FLJune 5, 2016
Typical day was to check online system ensure no issues or problems from prior day. Check emails and respond accordingly.
Take stock of new units and have pictures taken and uploaded to website. Distribute website requests to appropriate departments.
Co-workers were generally very good to work with the occasional person no one wanted to work with.
Hardest part of the job was integrating website sales and leads with actual sales floor. This may have changed as it was back in 2008 but for the prior three years it had been a constant battle with may of the individuals. The other departments took it extremely well and ran with any ideas or new procedures but sales was a constant battle. It was however slowly heading in the right direction.
Pros
Good Management and decent benefits
Cons
Hours flexibility and job culture was not that good
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAAugust 12, 2016
A typical day at work consists of:

- customer service
- meeting sales quotas
- stocking shelves
- creating visual merchandise and displays
- phone calls to and from customers
- cleaning the store
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just awful
Retail Sales Manager/OEM Parts Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLJuly 18, 2016
I would never recommend a career with this company at all. Way to volatile place to work. Not a productive place at all. It lacks the personal touch that it once had. Very saddening.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the work and concern about compensation plan
OEM Parts Specialist (Current Employee) –  MissouriJuly 10, 2016
Good working environment however, a very low base and no opportunity for additional commission. A lot of changes from the original position that I was offered
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  London, OHJune 26, 2016
Loved my job, co-workers, and customers. The retail manager knew nothing of the business or how to run the store. All she done was read e-mails and scream at workers at the end of the day.
Pros
pay, co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Success is based on performance
Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMarch 25, 2016
Having worked several jobs at a dealership/retail store, I can safely say that success and compensation are extremely dependent on your performance on the job.

Most of the positions come with fair compensation, although there is likely room to negotiate beyond their first offer.

It's a great place to work if you into camping or RV's and like a commission based pay structure.

It may not be great if you dont like interacting with people or selling.

The sales quota's at most locations are reasonable.
Pros
Work hard, and compensation won't be an issue
Cons
Always felt I could do more with my life
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not agree the companies overall philosophy
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 16, 2016
A very political environment . I worked very hard to increase sales and attitudes; as a team approach.upper management were not completely honest with working financial agreement and resposibilites.
Pros
large buying power and marketing
Cons
not honest regarding payplan agreement and cutthroat to employees..
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides wonderful benefits and excellent salaries.
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCMay 31, 2016
Work was very stressful and hard to find a work-life balance, however the money earned and competitive pay made up for all of the stress. Free lunches, company parties, and felt like you were working with family.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had very good pay
Parts Driver (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 8, 2016
Did not want to work full time
But I did like my job
Got have off at things I bought there
I liked the people that I worked with
Learned how to work on my RV
Pros
Cook out every week
Cons
Not enoughtime off
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
BDC Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 26, 2016
I have been with them for 4 years now... Good company and great people. Coworkers and management team are great. Room for advancement and growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced workplace.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oxford, ALMarch 1, 2016
On a typical day at Camping World I check inventory to make sure all units are clean and ready for show. I've learned the different styles and layouts of RV's. Management stays busy and can be a bit stressed out at times, but overall they are very helpful in learning the new job and SOP. My co-workers are upbeat and very helpful. The hardest part of the job is learning all the different inventory of RV's. The most enjoyable part of the job is building a relationship with the customers and helping them find and purchase the perfect RV for their lifestyle.
Pros
Friendly co-workers and free food on Saturdays
Cons
Working every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very slow paced environment
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, NJJuly 18, 2016
I did not enjoy this position
I felt I was wasting my day
There appeared to be no organization-Emplyees did as they pleased
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Unorganized work environment
Detailer (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORFebruary 26, 2016
A typical day at Camping World was usually hectic and unorganzed the whole way through. I learned quite a bit from my co-workers. The management was bad at first and then it only got a little better once I finally quit. I loved my co-workers, they were the only reason i stayed for as long as I did. The hardest part of the job had nothing to do with my co-workers, it was mostly management, they hardly knew what they were doing. The most enjoyable part of my job as a detailer was definitely my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People to work with
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJuly 16, 2016
Great customers to work with who were local and others who were just traveling through town. Co workers were great to work with also.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
RV Technician (Current Employee) –  Lowell, ARMay 29, 2016
Allows me to put to use all of my technical expertise in mechanical, electrical, plumbing, Heating, Air conditioning. Also allows for me to have contact with customers to advise in day to day use of an RV.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Inbound Sales (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COApril 15, 2016
This place is a mess
items are unavailable
management problems
no work structure
place is unorganized
No real work environment
Co workers are not educated
No real hard job in this company
un clean
no real enjoyment
Pros
non
Cons
shipping costs, products all on backorder
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable working with RV'ers and travelers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint Augustine, FLFebruary 2, 2016
Enjoyed working with people on the road traveling from many different states, providing a good customer service experience.
Earning Spiffs (bonus incentives) while doing job a big plus. A lot of pressure to maintain certain percentages selling memberships a rewarding challenge.
Pros
Some free food on weekends, bonus incentives
Cons
Pressure to sell many different memberships.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable and Fast-paced RV Dealership with fun-loving employees and top-notch service
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calera, ALMarch 3, 2016
The most enjoyable part of my job was the challenge of meeting and satisfying the needs of customers. My co-workers and I would work together to ensure that the needs of the customer as well as the company were always met.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJApril 20, 2016
Don't get paid commission, very poor management. Have rvs sitting around not getting fixed. Service Manager and so forman have no clue on how to run a shop. No training. Told to figure it out on your own
Pros
Ha!
Cons
The entire company
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Holiday, FLJune 1, 2016
Best hours in retail, evenings off, minimum hours on weekends. Store is linked to dealership which gets preference. Management business oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Camping World and Good Sam. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 228 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9