Find companies:
Canadian National Railway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

Canadian National Railway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
employee (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMay 20, 2014
wonderful everything about the company on a day to day basis is wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience laden
Transportation Clerk/Lead Clerk (Current Employee), Markham, ILMarch 26, 2014
Working for this company has its pros and cons. But they are different for all. The management is what it is. You have you good and bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-board service
Brakeman (Former Employee), Homewood, ILFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: discussed upon interview
Cons: discussed upon interview
100% travel, fast pace work environment involving heavy customer service contact.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different kind of lifestyle
Conductor (Current Employee), Stevens Point, WIJanuary 1, 2014
Its not a good lifestyle if you have a family or wanna hang out or spend time with anyone. CN does pay well but you pay for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment...
engineer (Current Employee), stevens point, wiDecember 27, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: the job itself
If you like being treated like DIRT then this is the job for you!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Conductor (Former Employee), Homewood, ILNovember 9, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: bad management
Pay is good but Management is Terrible!!! there is no work life balance, and you are expendable to the company and they will make sure you are aware of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME JOB
Dispatch Planning Supervisor (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 10, 2013
Pros: experience in all areas of the railroad
Cons: expensive health care, no advancement areas
I come in at 0545 am and run my reports. I talked to and emailed customers about their product comming in off the rail. I love my job I just want to be able to advance further in career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Transportation Clerk (Current Employee), Memphis, TN.September 19, 2013
Pros: 401 k, great health insurance
Cons: furloughs
My typical day working for CN was very fast paced. It was a very friendly but business oriented working environment. I learned a lot about the railroad. The management team was great and my coworkers were fabulous, but challenging at times. The hardest part of my job working for CN was learning the railroad language. The most enjoyable part was working – more... with a great group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIApril 30, 2013
Operating locomotive and trains in yard, local, industrial and road applications in compliance with all Federal and company rules and regulations. Perform walk around daily inspection of locomotives as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to work at a Zoo....then CN is the best!
CLERK (Former Employee), HOMEWOOD, ILLINOISApril 2, 2013
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: long hours, work every holiday, be treated like an animal
The most unprofessional business that I've ever worked for! Office environments have fights, people are using profanity all the time! Don't expect to get promoted unless you are NOT a minority! Expect to LOSE YOUR LIFE IN ALL ASPECTS....never see children, family, friends etc...and never be appreciated for your hard work! I've learned to identify what – more... I truely want in a good quality workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a decent place to work if the mechanics and ore dock operators had seperate seniority rosters.
Mechanic/Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Two Harbors,and Duluth MNMarch 22, 2013
Pros: long breaks and free lunches from time to time
Cons: management that thought they were better than everyone else
I enjoy working at a steady pace. My mechanical skills seemed to be a great fit for this job. I've learned a lot from my coworkers at CN. The Management shows a bit of favoritism for personal friends that are also coworkers. Some coworkers were great mentors to me and others were simply ignorant, manipulative backstabbers. the hardest part of the job – more... was probably dealing with the seniority roster between the ore dock operators and the mechanics. The most enjoyable and rewarding part of the job was knowing that I did the best I could do when the equipment was running well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management will make you hate this company
Carman (Current Employee), ChicagoFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: steady pay, good insurance and benefits
Cons: management is absolutely awful, forced overtime, not knowing when you go into work if you will be pulled out of service on a day to day basis
A job that can be enjoyable at times that is all negated by awful management. As an apprentice Carman you would expect to recieve thorough training, not here. they teach just enough for you not to get killed then your on your own and expected to perform the job at the same level of someone with 20+ years in. This company thrives on fear, they threaten – more... to pull you out of service or fire you for any random mistake you make. there is no structure at all. They do what they want and the union is useless. In this economy its a pretty secure job with decent pay and benefits if you can survive it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company to work for.....
Locomotive Electrician (Current Employee), Homewood IllinoisOctober 9, 2012
I think that the railroad industry in general is a stable and progressive place to work, but CN offers benefits and growth potentials that are exceptional. I have been embraced and recognized in ways that I have never experienced in the workplace. I only wish I'd come here 20 years ago.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job but bad management
Carman (Current Employee), Jackson, MSSeptember 29, 2012
Its a great job that basically runs itself, the only thing its micromanaged to many bosses and not enough workers but all in all a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Yardmaster (Current Employee), fond du lacJuly 24, 2012
Pros: free water
Cons: everything else
If you want to work, this is the company, but I'll warn you that you will have to work all the time, they put golden hancuffs on you. They pay very well but if you want to leave and go to another railroad, you won;t be able unless you take huge cut in pay. If you have family, forget either them or these jobs. you will have a greuling schedule, the mangement – more... is unkind you are just a part in the machine their favorite words are to threanten your job, they manage by fear – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change
Technician (Current Employee), London, ONOctober 1, 2014
Pros: many employee benefits
Cons: shortage of labour resources
Self directed days engulfing all variants of any task.
Learned to acquire process independently.
Progressive management actively routing tasks.
Resources exhaustion common.
Good pay with decent benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you've always dreamed of getting paid to hate your life - CN Rail!
Signals Maintainer Apprentice (Current Employee), Prince George, BCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: decent pay, no skills/ knowledge required to advance through into management
Cons: everything else
(To be clear from the outset, there are definitely good people working at CN Rail. Unfortunately, almost none of them are in management.)

CN brings an exciting 19th-century mindset to the 21st-century job market!
As a working-class employee you will serve as an entirely disposable cog in the corporate machine as it railroads its way through pristine – more... water sources and across the pockmarked Canadian landscape.
Any and every small mistake you make will be treated with the utmost attention, guaranteeing plenty of quality time with every supervisor within discernible cell range.
Don't sweat it though, because no matter how badly anyone screws up the share prices will just keep climbing, leaving no substantial reason for anything to ever change in the way things are done on Canada's National Railroad.

Innovation! Every month brings a new way for management to track exactly where you have been and what you have done.

Dedication! Once you buy that lifted truck you've been eyeing up you're basically locked in for life.

Self-Preservation! Hint: it helps if you're jaded before you even start.

Looking for a career that is sure to leave an irremovable mark on your soul? Then look no further than CN Rail! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Electrician Apprentice (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 18, 2014
- build motors
- build generators
- troubleshoot locomotives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Solid Career
CN Conductor (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 6, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits
Cons: work/life balance
CN is a great place to work for a few reasons and a challenging one in others.
The pay and benefits are fantastic! Unfortunately the work-life balance is not and if you have a young family this probably isn't ideal for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but if you want to grow in a company that's not the place to be.
IT Analyst (Current Employee), MontrealJuly 21, 2014
Cons: no life balance. they never say thanks but they are the first to point fingers for any problem.
People are nice and friendly but I don't see any appreciation in a good job.

1 2 3 4

About Canadian National Railway

The Canadian National Railway Company (reporting mark CN) (TSX: CNR, NYSE: CNI) is a Canadian Class I railway headquartered in – Read more

Canadian National Railway Photos