Find companies:
Candlewood Suites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Candlewood Suites Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: learned alot about managing a staff
Cons: limited pay
Oversee the operation of the entire hotel staff. Audit, balance and reconcile financial records. Verify the incoming profits. Register and check guests in and out of the facility. Complete telephone reservations. Answer incoming calls. Resolve customer inquiries and complaints. Manage the cleaning, maintenance and guest intake staff. Coordinate and – more... facilitate the weekly customer appreciation dinners. Take inventory of the facility’s food and supply pantries and restock as needed. Coordinate shipping of packages and deliveries for long term hotel guests via DHL. Schedule guest pick ups via limousine, shuttle, and taxi services. Ensure the overall comfort of the hotel guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving work place
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSAugust 5, 2014
*Deliver customer service, conduct in-house sales, and make reservations
*To treat each guest in a courteous manner
*Management and the co-workers were friendly and made workplace more enjoyable
*Monitor and correct the mistakes made by the executives from previous shift
*Meet people from different parts of the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee), Topeka, ksAugust 1, 2014
really hard position in which I learn a lot, deal with all kinds of people, from managers to emplyees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love meeting and talking to new people
Front Desk Clerk/ Manager (Current Employee), clarksville indianaJuly 24, 2014
I am very happy working the front desk, talking and meeting new ppl each day. I like my co workers, I try to stay positive. I just dont know if there is any room for advancement and I would like move move forward with a company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great housekeeping team.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Amherst, NYJuly 20, 2014
The Executive Housekeeper, Tamra is awesome. Her team is a great hard-working team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting/Serving Guest is the Best
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), horsham,paJuly 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: overworked with less pay
Love Service but the hardest part here is being forced to do multiple jobs because some one else refuses to and the employee turn over rate is high do to this which messes up scheduling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Learning
Director of Sales and Marketing (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: company culture
Cons: franchised property
Great experience creating a company culture and training new employees. Insight into the long term stay market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing and productive
Houseman (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
to perform the tasks entrusted
best use of language
according to the requested service
kind and respectful
maintain order of close
break time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Nanuet, NYJuly 9, 2014
Pros: work alone
Cons: lonesome
you wear multiple hats past a certain hour. strong work load but self paste
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Manager
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Braintree, MAJuly 2, 2014
Pros: dealing with all the people i really enjoy people
Cons: hours can be very long
Overseeing athe day to day operatioms of the Hotel operation assisting the General Manager as needed.

Working and assisting with the employees desk clerks housekeeping and engineers.

Greeting and helping all guests through the length of thier stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Live in Manager
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJune 28, 2014
Pros: living on the property, 2nd in command
Cons: having to be available 24 hours a day.
Having to live on the property was a bonus-saving rent and utilities at the same time. Yet being available to help -even when off the property made the Operations Manager position difficult. I was always on call. The team I had was great, though. I miss that. But I learned that no matter how hard you work, when markets for certain toursim falls, so – more... do the position that rely on them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor co-works
Front desk (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJune 18, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: bad management
My time card was being shaved, all management was rude to the guesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, family environment
Head Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 15, 2014
Candlewood was a nice place to work. Unfortunately, the staff was changed over by new owners of the hotel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYJune 13, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything sucks
cleaning 12-25 with only 18 minutes to get done with each one with bed making an laundry on top of your rooms. they will find a way to terminate you if you get hurt on the job. nothing enjoyable about being work like a horse an losing you job due to them not paying medical bills an giving you a different excuses as to why your terminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok place to work
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), enterprise alJune 4, 2014
not a bad job but pay could be better. its not as active as id like
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better!
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Huntersville, NCMay 19, 2014
Not such a clean environment to work at or eat I will say, and management needs to be tighter on employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, TXMay 15, 2014
Answering phones
I learned how to operate a switchboard
Management was strict, but caring
My co-workers were great
The hardest part of the job was the long hours
The best part of the job was interacting with people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fast Paced
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 12, 2014
Pros: always moving
Making sure that all rooms were inspected and ready for customers in a clean and healthy atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce Atmosphere with good staff
Front Desk Clerk/Night Auditor (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLApril 16, 2014
Pros: nice guests
Cons: horrible manager
A typical day at work involves interaction with everyone who comes in and out of the hotel, typically I would adhere to any needs of the guests staying.

I learned to never stop fighting for what you want or deserve.

I didn't care for management.

My co-workers were nice.

The hardest part was getting a break.

The most enjoyable part of working there – more... were the guests who stay in the hotel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting days at the front desk
Guest services representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 16, 2014
Pros: fun, happy, at home atmosphere and great coworkers.
Cons: compensation and upset guest
I was the face of the hotel, always smiling and happy to be at work. I enjoyed the guest who stayed with us, they were always so sweet and personable. It felt like home while at work and that is what I enjoyed the most about the job. Advancement was not rare, everyone was set in the position they applied for and the compensation was not the best, but – more... at that time it was an income for me. The hardest part of the job is a guest telling you that they did not enjoy their experience for whatever reason, while checking out. We always did our best to make sure every guest was comfortable. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Candlewood Suites

Hospitality Properties Trust (HPT) rolls out the welcome mat for the road-weary. The real estate investment trust (REIT) owns nearly – Read more

Candlewood Suites Photos