Find companies:
Candlewood Suites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
116 reviews

Candlewood Suites Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Front Office Manager (Current Employee), O'Fallon, ILApril 14, 2014
Pros: great guest!
Great guest and staff that make you feel welcome and at home!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee), Emporia, KSApril 5, 2014
Cons: no leadership
Co-workers did not like to share the work. No one wanted to train when hired on. the management went down a dark path when I was hired on. no leadership when first hired on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candlewood Suites
Guest Relations/Services Manager (Current Employee), La Crosse, WIMarch 27, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: little room for advancement
How to work and adapt to people
Great hardworking co-workers
Most enjoyable part was working with great people and making a difference for the guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, fun enviorment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Decatur, TXMarch 23, 2014
Pros: fun enviorment
Cons: not enough hours, paid holidays.
Working at this property was more like being a family. Candlewood being a extended stay hotel, the majority of our guest were checked in for a year the most. Most of all I learned how to provide good service to the guest. Management went the extra mile to help the employee's as well as guest. Co-workers were all very easy to get along with, we all communicated – more... great. There was very seldom difficult times, the way we worked ran very smooth. Enjoying talking to the guest, being able to see them everyday and to be apart of their life was a great feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAMarch 14, 2014
My day would consist of us talking about how we would go about our day with what we had assigned may it be cleaning the public spaces of the hotel or cleaning the guest rooms. The Owner was very welcoming when i started my job and was throughout the view times i seen her working here. The managers were not so bad and were there for you when you had – more... a question or concern about something. The only thing i found the hardest about the job was when i had to clean a guest room and was so filthy that i only had 30 mins to clean. I want to do my best work and sometimes that just takes a little bit longer. The most enjoyable part of my job was the co-workers and being able to have guest nights where we would cook for them and let them experience the joy of what it was like to stay at this hotel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Inviroment to work in
Front Desk Agent (Current Employee), Schiller Park IL 60176March 12, 2014
Pros: i get to provide great customer service face to face
Making sure I give the best customer service that I can provide. I have learned that a happy customer will bring in more happy customers which will bring in more revenue. We all work together as a team to make sure the job is completed. the hardest part of the the job is not being able to satisfy a customer after I have tried to accomodate. The most – more... enjoyable part of the day is seeing a customer smile after they have checked out and have enjoyed their stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Front Desk Clerk (Current Employee), Saint Robert, MOFebruary 24, 2014
A typical day at Candlewood Suites is one that involves a great deal of direct customer contact. I either handle the day's departures or arrivals depending on the shift I work, as well as handling phone calls and computer work. A large part of what I do involves making reservations and discussing the hotel to prospective guests. I also handle any problems – more... that might arise during my shift as efficiently as possible to ensures the guests are happy with their stay. I work under direct supervision of the management team and perform daily duties as assigned, but also any additional tasks asked of me by management. I have learned a great deal about what customer service means and how effective it can be. I get along great with my co-workers and communicate with them regularly about hotel related needs or issues. The hardest part of the job is being able to handle anything that might arise beyond what would be the norm for a given day. The most enjoyable part is getting to know our guests that are with us long-term, but also making all guests feel welcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to learn
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Durham, NCFebruary 21, 2014
Loved working with everyone there. I love to interact with the guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many Hats
Front Desk Rep (Current Employee), Clearwater, FLFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: only one working during my shift, alot of alone time and no one looking over my shoulder.
Cons: having to clean up behind grown folks. staying awake when everyone else is asleep.
I enjoy acting as MOD, manager on duty. I get to where many hats acting as a Maintenance Engineer, Lead Housekeeper, Police Officer as well as the front desk agent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
neat, but slow workplace
Night Auditor (Former Employee), Sierra Vista, AZFebruary 2, 2014
slow paced but very enjoyable job for the overnight worker. guest are friendly and the automated system for billing and coding helps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair slow pace
Front Desk Agent / Night Desk Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great guest and staff
Cons: hours benefits
great staff and guest slow pace mostly cleaning customer service and
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: management bought lunch occasionally
Easy days at work
Learned to clean efficiently
Worked with hard working people
hardest part of the job was a 12 room board
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guests were great, management wasn't.
Full Time Auditor (Former Employee), Lafayette, LAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: guests
Cons: management, pay, coworkers.
I loved being able to talk with my guests and actually get to know them. After working in hotels for a while, I know that many of the guests are just passing through and you don't make much of an impression on each other. The downsides were from management/ownership. The owner is cheap and wouldn't pay his employees what they're worth or keep the place – more... up to date. The manager was too busy being concerned with her personal bonus check to make sure things were being run properly. At one point, she was even caught creating fraudulent business accounts to make the profit numbers look better. I ultimately quit when she wouldn't admit that she wasn't going to let me come back after surgery and the night she tried to get me to commit fraud for her by checking in fake rooms under real guests' information and businesses. My coworkers were okay as long as they didn't decide to show up late or not do half of their work load and leave it to me instead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work very productive
Front Desk/Night Auditor (Current Employee), Bel Air, MDJanuary 19, 2014
Everyone work as a team to get the job done. My typical work day consist of checking in and checking guest out making reservation for up coming dates and taking payments. My coworkers are very nice very professional all around great people. I don't think i have a hard part of my job everything is pretty much in black in white and very easy to mange. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job i would say is the people i get to interact with on a daily bases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging
Front Desk Lead (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJanuary 15, 2014
I was head of the front desk. I was constantly challenged with new tasks daily and was always busy. I had the opportunity to do the accounting and daily bookkeeping for the hotel. I also was entrusted to do the daily deposits for the hotel. I enjoyed meeting the new people and talking with the returning customers. I did the training for new hires and – more... assisted the GM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job all i can say.
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Vicksburg, MSJanuary 15, 2014
i am a night auditor been with this company for four years & no where to move up here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candlewood Suites was amaizing work envierment.
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), HoustonJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: 5stars
Candlewood Suites had a great staff. Guest where so sweet in fact i still recommend there hotel. The hotel was very clean and always great temperature. Work was so fun i learned something new everyday. i
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee), Pear Land, TxJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: relaxed
Cons: no breaks
Typical day included multi-tasking, learned the hospitality industry, management was interesting, great co-workers, the hardest part of the job was shift work, and the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different people daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Lead Housekeeper (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: they want perfection
The management have their favorites, if you don't follow their traditions you won't last their very long.( Holidays)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable working conditions
Guest Service Representative/ Night auditor (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: decent pay for a college student
Cons: unstable hours. no unity.
The job is pretty easy. The pay is pretty good. The owner is not the nicest, and pretty much lays pressure on the management. Which in turn, makes for a tense and stressful work environment.

About Candlewood Suites

Hospitality Properties Trust (HPT) rolls out the welcome mat for the road-weary. The real estate investment trust (REIT) owns nearly – Read more

Candlewood Suites Photos