Find companies:
Candlewood Suites
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

Candlewood Suites Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: management bought lunch occasionally
Easy days at work
Learned to clean efficiently
Worked with hard working people
hardest part of the job was a 12 room board
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guests were great, management wasn't.
Full Time Auditor (Former Employee), Lafayette, LAJanuary 19, 2014
Pros: guests
Cons: management, pay, coworkers.
I loved being able to talk with my guests and actually get to know them. After working in hotels for a while, I know that many of the guests are just passing through and you don't make much of an impression on each other. The downsides were from management/ownership. The owner is cheap and wouldn't pay his employees what they're worth or keep the place – more... up to date. The manager was too busy being concerned with her personal bonus check to make sure things were being run properly. At one point, she was even caught creating fraudulent business accounts to make the profit numbers look better. I ultimately quit when she wouldn't admit that she wasn't going to let me come back after surgery and the night she tried to get me to commit fraud for her by checking in fake rooms under real guests' information and businesses. My coworkers were okay as long as they didn't decide to show up late or not do half of their work load and leave it to me instead. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work very productive
Front Desk/Night Auditor (Current Employee), Bel Air, MDJanuary 19, 2014
Everyone work as a team to get the job done. My typical work day consist of checking in and checking guest out making reservation for up coming dates and taking payments. My coworkers are very nice very professional all around great people. I don't think i have a hard part of my job everything is pretty much in black in white and very easy to mange. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job i would say is the people i get to interact with on a daily bases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging
Front Desk Lead (Former Employee), Newport News, VAJanuary 15, 2014
I was head of the front desk. I was constantly challenged with new tasks daily and was always busy. I had the opportunity to do the accounting and daily bookkeeping for the hotel. I also was entrusted to do the daily deposits for the hotel. I enjoyed meeting the new people and talking with the returning customers. I did the training for new hires and – more... assisted the GM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job all i can say.
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Vicksburg, MSJanuary 15, 2014
i am a night auditor been with this company for four years & no where to move up here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candlewood Suites was amaizing work envierment.
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), HoustonJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: 5stars
Candlewood Suites had a great staff. Guest where so sweet in fact i still recommend there hotel. The hotel was very clean and always great temperature. Work was so fun i learned something new everyday. i
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee), Pear Land, TxJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: relaxed
Cons: no breaks
Typical day included multi-tasking, learned the hospitality industry, management was interesting, great co-workers, the hardest part of the job was shift work, and the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different people daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Lead Housekeeper (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: they want perfection
The management have their favorites, if you don't follow their traditions you won't last their very long.( Holidays)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable working conditions
Guest Service Representative/ Night auditor (Current Employee), Montgomery, ALJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: decent pay for a college student
Cons: unstable hours. no unity.
The job is pretty easy. The pay is pretty good. The owner is not the nicest, and pretty much lays pressure on the management. Which in turn, makes for a tense and stressful work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lonely job
Janitorial Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: being my own boss
Cons: getting drowsy
regular front desk (check in ,reservations ,answer the phones,) help with laundry wash dry and fold linens for next day housekkeping,re stock hotels minigrocery store,take out trash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice family oriented company
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXDecember 20, 2013
Pros: good location, set hours, fair employeer
Cons: standing alot, sometimes can be slow and quiet making for a long day
A wonderful place to work with a wonderful staff and clientele
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment, great in dealing with customer service.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INDecember 16, 2013
Pros: free pizza
Cons: short staffed
At Candlewood Suites you worked with the same people and took care of reoccuring guest. Everyone became like family. I learned how to negociate the sales of rooms and to effectvely get what people needed while still handleing my day to day responsibilities. The hardest part of the job was being there at times by yourself while otheres needed assistance. – more... I learned to multi-taks extemely well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!!!!
Night Auditor/Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEDecember 10, 2013
Pros: guests are very friendly!
Cons: horrible management!!!!!
Manager is terrible!! Seems nice to you in person and then spreads rumors about the employees when they aren't around. Management is terrible at managing. Firing employees without proper reasons! They say they'll give you a raise within the first 3 months of employment, that's a LIE!! They would rather fire someone than give them a raise even if that – more... person went above and beyond at times and went way out of their way to assist other employees to make sure they're shifts are covered and everything/everyone is taken care of, management doesn't seem to care about any of those things even if it is to help them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CRAZY BOSS
Night Audit/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Terre Haute, INNovember 19, 2013
I can say with confidence that EVERY Candlewood Suites hotel does not have a manager that will spread rumors about you and come to your house to fight you, but my experience makes me not was to to deal with the franchise at all anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management, awful co workers.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Kenosha, WINovember 7, 2013
This place was a disaster to work for! Manager was ungrateful. I did everything for this company and worked so many hours to cover everybody's shift, and it was unappreciated!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Front Desk Representative/ Team Trainer (Former Employee), Warren, MIOctober 30, 2013
Pros: discounted room stays
Cons: advancement opportunities were limited
During my shift, I operated as MOD. The job was fun and met a lot of interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great housekeeping staff to work with
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALOctober 29, 2013
Pros: love the travel
Cons: didn't like my boss because i had to do most of her job
I would gt to work around 6:30 am every morning to get my paper work done, Then I would get the house keeping papers fixed so they could get to work when they came in, I always tried to have a talk to them in the morning and tell them good morning and hope they have a good day.
My GM did not have children so she did not like it when some of our staff – more... had to leave and go get there children when this happen. I would go clean rooms so the other house keepers didn't have to work over.
The long hours I worked some times between 12 to 16 hours a day, I don't mine working long hours but I don't like doing my GM job.
The fun part of my job was how well my staff got alone with each other we all love to have fun and joke it made the day go by faster and it made it easier for them to talk to me if they has a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candlewood
Director of sales - Led sales calls (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 14, 2013
Pros: the clients i met.
Cons: no benefits
I set appointments to call on clients. The hardest part was this was a new company starting up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new everyday
Sales Coordinator/Assistant (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILOctober 1, 2013
Pros: able to do so many diverse things
Cons: there were none
Able to work front desk from checking in guests to booking reservations. Developed collateral material that helped increase the ease of guests stay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome hotel!
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 25, 2013
Meeting new people on a daily basis was probably the best part of the job. There was never a day that was the same.

About Candlewood Suites

Hospitality Properties Trust (HPT) rolls out the welcome mat for the road-weary. The real estate investment trust (REIT) owns nearly – Read more

Candlewood Suites Photos