CANTEEN VENDING Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and a salary that doesn't reflect the effort and hard work
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILOctober 18, 2017
the only enjoyable part of this job is the other drivers and my manager. the politics and general disregard for employees issues by upper management is appalling at best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Traverse City, MIOctober 16, 2017
I enjoyed my job. I had the opportunity to see parole violators become interested in working in a kitchen and possibly find work when they were released. I learned to deal with inmates who were not willing to put in the necessary effort that was needed by redirecting them and teaching them about the need for teamwork.

The hardest part was having to have a key to get in to and out of most areas of the building.

The culture was institutional and I tried to make it as comfortable for myself as possible.

It was enjoyable to hear from the inmates that they enjoyed my cooking and were appreciative of my attitude.

The management was fine. They were courteous and considerate.
Pros
free meals, good hours
Cons
restrictive environment, i.e. needed to call on corrections officers for transporting items and various other things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your a able body not a respected employee
Vendor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 7, 2017
I just didnt feel appreciate as a human being or a employee after a year and 2 months of loyalty to the company. Working long hours with no appreciation of what I had to do personally.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Mismangement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations of output from employees without the resources or support for average output.
Operations Controller (Former Employee) –  Muncie, INSeptember 12, 2017
I learned a lot about leading a team spread across three cities. I created a culture of respect and cooperation even though the culture of the company was close to the opposite. The most enjoyable part of the job were the staff I directly oversaw.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was not good.
Route Sales (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 30, 2017
Management was poor in Memphis. I worked for six weeks in Memphis and this manager was very bad at what he does. The manager I worked for in N.H. was great. I moved from N.H. to Memphis in 2002.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no place for advancement
Vending Technician (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 25, 2017
working at canteen vending was very stressful. a average day on the job consist of loading your truck with snacks and juices and drving to your location to fill the vending machines. it was very poor management on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canteen will work you to death
Delivery Driver/Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Tigard, ORAugust 13, 2017
They will give you long hours, then pile on more a little at a time. When you give notice you're quitting, they will immediately march you out the door like a criminal.
Pros
Free food & drinks
Cons
Long hours, no home life
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will discuss in person.
Fill vending machines (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 11, 2017
Will discuss in person. This company had just hired a new manager when i began working there.. He really didnt have a understanding of the job requirements...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company and Good Benefits
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 9, 2017
Canteen was a good company to work for. There was no work/life balance. I worked 17 hours a day and nights and weekends. Some of the management team was lacking severely in people skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARAugust 4, 2017
The physical part of the job was quite easy. The pay was very fair and you could actually make a career out of it. The people I worked with at the actual warehouse were some of the best around.
Pros
Good pay, benefits, flexible schedule
Cons
Having to deal with people..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good place to work
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Pine Bluff, ARAugust 3, 2017
I really enjoyed working there. They have great insurance and a great 401k. Management was good. I had to have knee surgery feb. 2017 and wasn't able to return to work til March 2017 went back to work and got laid off.
Pros
benefits
Cons
to many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, no guidance
Controller (Former Employee) –  Port Washington, NYJuly 22, 2017
Very rough expectations for a new hire right out of the gate. Could have used better training. I basically felt I was thrown to the wolves when I could have been trained better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vending Company
Route Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Addison, TXJuly 19, 2017
Long hours if you have a productive route with good accounts
Learned how to operate and balance a small business
Management was ok with the exception of a few
workplace was decent not a lot of contact with peers until end of day
Physically Demanding and Mentally demanding at same time
Being out on route networking with lots of people
Pros
pay
Cons
Company find was to cap a commission based job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not pleasent
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 18, 2017
Great pay and incentives bit the whole front office an all managers treat employees horrible... Wouldnt recommend working for this place unless you dont mind being treated poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incentive Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJuly 17, 2017
Would you like to work for a company that offers several incentives? It is commission pay with salary. Weekly pay and other offers. They do work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 19, 2017
Great job liked working there off weekends free food nice people paid holidays work by yourself no body breathing down your neck holiday party's I like it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly stressful yet manageable
Lead Relief Driver (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 18, 2017
I originally enjoyed the job because of the fact that you could run the route as you saw fit without much intervention by management.
After some changes on routes and in management, management became much more involved in what was going on on a daily basis. It ultimately made my job much harder while also less rewarding.
Pros
Union Position
Cons
Union caused us to keep drivers that were negatively affecting the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days easy work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hickory, NCJune 18, 2017
The days can be long depending on your route. The pay is commission and is okay for the hours worked and you do get compensated for weekends but no overtime. There is almost no way to advance unless you have been there forever and land an ave C job. The management was great and so were all my co-workers even though you work alone hardly see anyone. If you work fast your day is over early but you also start around 330am. Overall I enjoyed the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 11, 2017
Under paying
Management was horrible talked to employees demeaningly
Only acquired a 20 cent raise with my time there
I did acquired warehouse experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great customer interaction
Vendor/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, MEJune 7, 2017
you are on your own while stopping at customers. scheduling is not bad. holidays paid off. benefits are not horrible. supervisors are nice and talk to u like an equal.
Pros
great customer interactions
Cons
is there where and thats it and no room for improvement or raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CANTEEN VENDING. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9