Find companies:
canteen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
52 reviews

canteen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Lead Cashier (Former Employee), St. Louis, Mo.February 16, 2015
I worked at the Webster University site. Enjoyed talking with the staff and the students. Was off some during the months of June and July. Provided catering service in the down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canteen
Driver (Former Employee), Union, MOJanuary 11, 2015
Canteen is a commission paid job. I enjoyed it. I feel that they are a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with caring people
Caterer (Current Employee), Ridgeway, VAJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: understanding, intelligent boss, caring people, fair treatment.
Cons: hours for a "call-in" are not certain
A typical day will begin with cooking food for the catering event of the day, loading the truck and driving out to the event. We will then set up, serve the clients, clean up and return back to the commissary. We clean the kitchen before we leave for the day. The single biggest thing I've learned at Canteen is how important it is to be slow and steady with my work. Coming from a slew of fast food jobs, I set my pace at work to be pretty fast. At Canteen, I've learned to slow my pace just enough to keep productivity up, and keep small avoidable accidents down. I've become more aware and cautious since I began working there. The management is stellar, my co-workers are wonderful people. The hardest part of the job really isn't very hard. It would have to be the lifting involved, which is never more than about 50-60 pounds. I most enjoy doing the WHOLE job, start to finish, and knowing I am becoming capable of handling catering runs myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work doesn't even deserve a rating.
warehouse (Former Employee), san diegoOctober 11, 2014
Pros: you can milk the money durning training
Cons: poor conditions and environments. poor safety hazards.
Dont eat the food at warehouse. Or just in general. Rats and cocroaches infest the place, and I noticed I felt sick a few times, and more other than I ever did in a short period of time since I worked for this company ever since I ate some of the snacks a few times. They even ask for your sweaty work shirts back when they fire you. So it made me automatically think and possibly true, that those shirts I had were probably a former employees at one time. Work conditions are really hot and sweaty. I am so grossed out..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized and hostel work environment
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee), Pittston, PAOctober 3, 2014
a typical day at work consisted of cooking meals for 300+ people. I learned many recipes and ways of cooking. The lack of management was hard to work with and as a dedicated employee the struggles of not knowing what kind of mood your boss was going to be in was a hard thing to work with. the most enjoyable part of my job was the compliments from the customers when they enjoyed their meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours, Minimal Pay
Route Driver (Former Employee), Tupelo, MSOctober 2, 2014
Pros: free snacks and drinks
Cons: horrible managment
They expect you to do everything and get paid nothing for it, the co workers that used to work there were great. They were smart and quit while they could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Route Delivery Service Driver (Current Employee), Owensboro, KYSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: no healthcare for part-time employees.
ok place to work but not much room yet for advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work, where they provide all type of drinks and snacks
Route Sales & Driver (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 23, 2014
Great place to work with great benefits and rooms to grow.
the concept of the job is to deliver the best product to customers. we deliver all type of snacks including sandwiches, coffee, ice cream, and even sodas from our warehouse to the clients door
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice friendly place to work
UTILTY DRIVER (Former Employee), Macon, GAAugust 19, 2014
a typical day is making sure that the money is counted and the deposit is made daily and room is balanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALAugust 6, 2014
I did not like this job.
Unstable.
Horrible management.
Co worker are petty
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring work environment
production (Former Employee), fresno,caJuly 3, 2014
Pros: get off work early
Cons: can't miss more then 3 days of work even though if its a emergency.
I work only 3 hours a day only. For that three hours I pull commoissay orders. I didnt like it there but I had no choice. I needed a job to support my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Solid Company
District General Manager (Current Employee), Maryland Heights, MOJune 16, 2014
Pros: flexible schdule
Cons: people
Hours can be very flexible, but must be willing to work from home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for kastle systems
Unit Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 27, 2014
Best job ever.. if f there ever was one....got to travel. learned how to commute in and around the tri-state area meet alot of interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a fun and different experience and i do it all voluntary
Customer Service (Current Employee), MelbourneMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free food, good experience, good hours, fun workplace, fair brakes
Cons: no pay, stressful
A typical day would be rocking up and straight away service customers until the end. The manager there is a real nice guy and i work with co workers i am close to in real life. The hardest part would be when it gets really busy because it can get cramped and stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great enviroment to work for, at a college cafeteria.
Food Service Director (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAFebruary 17, 2014
Working early in the am to get ready to open a college cafeteria.
Each department have to work as a team to get better results.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Truck Driver/Sales Assistance (Former Employee), Long IslandFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: good health insurance
Cons: management
You are your own boss. You get pay based on sales. Driving around Long Island.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for self-starters
driver (Former Employee), bryan ohDecember 2, 2013
Pros: given freedom and trust
Cons: better logistics would help
The overall company is great, very solid with core values from the family. The branches farthest from the home office seemed to be problematic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive and fun workplace
FOOD SERVICE WORKER (Former Employee), Loma Linda, CANovember 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches, friendships, network, clean, safe
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, temporary
I enjoyed working for the Canteen. The day was fast and refreshing.
I learned how to cook, clean, and maintain in a fast-paced environment while I was taught customer service skills.
Management were very professional and detail-oriented.
Co-workers were inspirational to me and other employees.
The hardest part of my job was losing my job because of cuts.
The most enjoyable part of my job was having the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier (Former Employee), Abbott Park, ILNovember 18, 2013
Pros: opportunity
Cons: treatment from full time employees
It was a way to get into the door at Abbott Laboratories. Being a temporary employee the Abbott employees treated you poorly and made you do the grunt work, regardless of your qualifications and what you were actually hired to do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co- workers were good
Production Worker (Former Employee), Tonawanda, NYNovember 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hours
Very challenging, learn to move very quickly, hardest part was working 12 hrs a day,

1 2 3