Canterbury Park Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers and staff!
Assistant Cash Services Manager (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNDecember 29, 2015
Canterbury is a wonderful place to work and the money is great for what you do. Unfortunately once you hit a certain level there is not much room for advancement. There are a lot of regular customers and it feels like a family there. Between the customers and your co-workers this is the reason why most people stay so long at Canterbury. The hardest part of the job is lack of advancement and working with the different management styles. The most enjoyable part is the staff and the environment. Canterbury hosts events from live racing to concerts to craft shows. The environment is always changing and it keeps things interesting.
Pros
employee appreciation, people, laid back
Cons
advancement cap, inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The wrong place to work
Representative (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNMay 23, 2016
This place omg they dont care rude and the personnel ppl say that they are flexible and tbey give u hours that u cant work and wont work with you they just dimiss u
Pros
None
Cons
They dont care at all wont help u none of the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome experience
TV Analyst (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJune 13, 2016
There isn't a bad day at the office, getting the opportunity to work with athletes and stay apart of the game. would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Publication (Former Employee) –  Shakopee MNJune 24, 2014
A typical day involved dealing with large groups of people, listening to there complaints and praises. Coworkers were studious and enjoyable to work with. Lots of money handling.
Pros
free admission to park, discount on lunches
Cons
short breaks, small breakroom
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent weekend job
Teller (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJuly 25, 2015
You meet lots of people at this job and you are always working at a fast pace. You're always with co-workers and they were friendly during my time there. The job can take a toll on you though
Pros
Work with friendly people, Get to watch the races
Cons
Working outside on a hot day
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintanence of self betting machines, and customer support
Auto-tote Technician (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNMarch 3, 2015
Great work enviorment, learned a lot about customer service and horse racing. A day of work consisted of cleaning tote machines with refilling of paper for bet tickets along with anything that need to be replaced or fixed on machines that had broke.
Pros
meeting lots of new people, fun job daily with co workers, enjoyed working on electronics
Cons
down time on slow days.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the horses
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJune 27, 2013
I love Canterbury Park as a patron but working there was a dream come true. Management was amazing and I wish I could have worked there longer but it was a seasonal position.
Pros
amazing job
Cons
seasonal position only
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining place to work
Guest Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNOctober 27, 2013
No two days are ever exactly the same. Wonderful staff and great customers.
Pros
good benefits and great co-workers
Cons
it's not a real stable industry
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a casino-type envirmonment, but it's not a gamble!
Pari-Mutuel Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJune 28, 2012
Great seasonal job. You get in, work hard in a fast-paced betting environment, and hang out with great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, residents very special.
Executive Chef (Current Employee) –  Longview, WAFebruary 15, 2015
Manage a team of 8 to 10 depending on the building census. We offer 9 choices for dinner in the evening. Everything is made on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace for seasonal employment
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNNovember 9, 2012
started at 6 am with a team of four counting poker chips and cash from the card club balancing each shiftt
I learned state policy
Coworkers were enjoyable and fun to work with
The hardest part of this job was balancing
The most enjoyable part was how busy it would be during live racing season
Pros
watching live horse racing
Cons
off season was very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I have ever worked.
Dealer (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNDecember 12, 2014
They simply treat you like Family.
They want you to succeed and bend over backwards to help you do so !

I had to leave for health reasons but they worked with me right up until I could no longer do my job.
Pros
great staff
Cons
mn winters
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place of employment. Hostile work environment.
PM Cook (Former Employee) –  Longview, WAMarch 21, 2012
Not the ideal place to work. Hostile kitchen supervisor and unhealthy work environment. Not professional in the least bit. Employees argue and employers choose sides like teenage girls. My advice is do not work for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job!
CASHIER Took (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJuly 11, 2012
I worked with very great co-workers, my manager was great. The pay was low, but you made tips :) customers were always nice, if you love working outside this is a great job especially working at DA' LEMON. Made lemonade all day, was able to listen to own music, open and close alone. Great summer job for young teens.
Pros
tips
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work during the racing season.
Casino Surveillance (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNNovember 8, 2013
This is a fun place to work, only issue is too many family members working with each other, allows for unfair practices.
Pros
privatley owned gaming casino.
Cons
managers without formal training
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning resident apartments
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Longview, WANovember 29, 2013
I started my day with cleaning resident rooms I also worked with a co-worker, we worked in two's, the job was very enjoyable, I got the chance to get to know a lot of residents, the hardest part was losing one of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Pari-Mutuels Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNJune 6, 2014
great entertainment industry position! fun people focused oh working hard and having fun.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

Canterbury Park Reviews by Location