Canterbury Woods Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely love this company
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pacific Grove, CAJune 8, 2017
I have never had any problems. All I can say about this company is positive! This was my first job as a CNA and I would not leave this job if I wasn't moving away!
Pros
Bonuses, Amazing supervisors, the list goes on
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and successful work place.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYJune 5, 2017
I absolutely loved it here. They staff were pleasant. i love my boss. There was ways for advancement. Overtime was never a problem. The management staff was very understanding. If i could i would go back. They treat the employees like family.
Pros
Free lunch and staff appreciation
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYMay 7, 2017
Management was horrible especially the top dogs very sneaky with residents money.
I worked maintenance for 2ys couldnt believe the amt of people they fired just cause they didnt like them, must of been about 20 people,and 5 managers. Wouldnt go back if i was paid 100k a yr. Plus the HR lady is only for herself and the company not there employees.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Management and stealing like crazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large work family & not very stressful work
Server (Current Employee) –  Williamsville, NYMarch 24, 2017
I liked working at canterbury woods. I met a lot of people and didn't mind the job very much. A typical day of work would be coming in, taking residents orders and filling them in a timely manner. What i liked the most about the job was getting to know the residents and working with a lot of different people. what i didnt like about the job was grumpy and rude residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pacific Grove, CAJanuary 28, 2017
The residents make going to work well worth it. Every job has it's hardships; management at Canterbury Woods was one of them. They do not make you feel or treat you like an equal human being, merely a paycheck to them. They don't engage with you nor do they get to fully know you. Three college best friends all in management together is a recipe for disaster. Their employees should feel safe and cared about, but they don't.
Pros
Great co-workers and residents!
Cons
Not being helped, followed up on, or taken seriously by management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYDecember 12, 2016
There are some respectively good managers that will work around your schedule so that your personal life Dont interfere with your work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, clean, well managed facility
Nursing Supervisor/ Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYJune 11, 2016
Having worked other places in this field this place is top notch. A professional environment to go along with the professional residents who pay to be well taken care of and at this place they are. No expense is spared to provide quality care with knowledgable employees who care. I'm honored to have been one of the former supervisors at this great facility.
Pros
Everything.
Cons
None worthy enough mentioning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafe cashier
Cafe Associate (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYJune 8, 2016
Set food out for display and take care of customer needs.
No money transactions.
The people living their were colorful , knowledgeable and smart.
Management was dishonest.
Hardest part was no being able to have the residents be my friends, ot allowed.
Pros
Meeting new people and making friends.
Cons
A great deal of under handed deals going on with the residents money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place really great first job
Server (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYFebruary 20, 2014
well you meet great people great benefits free staff meals and you have fun
Pros
parking
Cons
no public transportation near by
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work for.
CNA (Current Employee) –  Attleboro, MAAugust 19, 2013
A typical workday starts by reading the log book, so I know what is going on with the residents anything i need to be aware of will be in this book. From there i set up my med books and I am on my way to start my med pass. I escort residents to meals and different parts of the facility and also assist them with their ADL's.
Pros
Free meals. Nice Break rooms
Cons
Not really to many staff could be a little nicer, easier to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Join their Journey
Memory Care Director (Current Employee) –  Attleboro, MAMarch 7, 2013
The most enjoyable part of this job is the moments that you receive from the residents, some of those moments are captured on photo to share with family. Working with Alzheimer's is very trying and rewarding at the same time, learning the right approach and giving support to the family along with the staff whom give a lot to them.

The hardest part of the job is juggling all that is required of you and time managing that so you do not get burned out.
Pros
build relationships with residents and their families
Cons
health benefits and the compensations for the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitstaff Server
Wait Staff, Server (Former Employee) –  Williamsville NYJanuary 3, 2013
Taking Orders From residents placing them into computers. Bringing food & Beverages to their tables.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Transportation (Former Employee) –  Williamsville, NYNovember 17, 2012
in my recent position i would transport residents to various appointments. The hardest part of this job was the scheduled pick-up times didn't work well.
Pros
almost free healthcare
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nie place to work'
Certified nursing assistant (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NYJune 4, 2012
I can advance if I wanted good environment and employers are good. clean place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Canterbury Woods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
4.0