CANTON Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rural area
12th and 11th grade English; Oral Communication (Current Employee) –  Canton, MSMay 20, 2016
Middle school is a transitioning period. You must be equipped to move like they move and stay ahead of the game. i was humbled by the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Eighth Grade Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSApril 3, 2014
Warm friendly environment. The students are very respectful and manageable.
Pros
Great Administration
Cons
Compensation is Low
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average school district
Spanish I Teacher-Canton Public Schools (Current Employee) –  Canton, MSMay 26, 2015
I learned the importance of keeping students engaged in their lessons in order to produce successful students. I would typically bring the world around us and then allowed my students to create a knowledge base that would allow them to realize the role language plays in communication with others not normally around us. Through games and song, I taught my students how to enjoy their learning and allowed them to realize how even though they were playing a game they were learning how to make connections.
That to me was the most enjoyable part of my job. The "Ahhh!!!" factor.

Other than that, It was just another job.
Pros
student loans paid, decent money
Cons
less than desirable coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good and fun place to work
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSOctober 4, 2015
Good support from my co-worker, enjoy working with students at the schools, that if you show care and love to the students they will listen to you, and do as you asks.
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
NO BREAKS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome students. Very poor administration...weak.
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canton, MADecember 3, 2014
I did love the students and faculty a lot. The administration was very poor. It seemed that everyone had their own hidden agenda..As an educator I was required to join a union which was pretty useless yet very expensive. The other staff members were dynamite, cooperative and helpful. No better students can be found anywhere. Too much emphasis on paperwork and meetings and not enough focus on the students
Pros
Blue Cross/ Blue Shield Wonderful co-workers. Students willing to learn
Cons
The Union Oppressive administrators
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Electrician
District Electrician (Current Employee) –  Canton, MAMay 10, 2015
Job has many variable daily work schedules.One day could be rebuilding a fire alarm panel or rebuilding lights to troubleshooting cameras to Winter Snow plowing. Somedays getting town inspections for different things.
Pros
Have town truck while at work
Cons
low on Bennefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position gave me an opportunity to teach and coach.
Teacher and Coach (Former Employee) –  Canton, SDFebruary 5, 2013
My position was to teach American Government and begin a high school wrestling team.
Pros
it was a great working situation with a great staff.
Cons
the lack of support by administration in dealing with evaluations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning enviroment
Computer Technology (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSDecember 26, 2012
Enjoy working with children, educating children with the knowledge they need to make it in society
Pros
off for the holidays and summer
Cons
nclbh law
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CANTON Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

CANTON Public Schools Reviews by Location