CANTON Public Schools Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canton School Administration Offices
Special Education Compliance Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, MAAugust 4, 2017
The schools themselves may be fine, but the administration is awful. There is bullying and harassment. There is a lot of infighting and felt like I was back in junior high.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
bullying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST job
Classroom Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Canton, MAJuly 25, 2017
I really enjoyed this job. Working with young people can be very rewarding. I learned a lot from other staff members and from the students. The difficult part of the job was saying goodbye to students as they move on. I particularly enjoyed it when a student " got it". I truly felt that I had accomplished something
Pros
working with both traditional as well as learning disabled students
Cons
dealing with parents and families
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
3rd Grade Interventionist/Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Canton, MSMay 31, 2017
Canton Public Schools is a great place to work and grow. The knowledge gained is impeccable! I would recommend this district to aspiring educators any day!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Canton, MAAugust 31, 2016
Covering for teachers WHILE THEY ATTEND meetings. Organizing special ed students. Taking notes. covering the strategies room. available to be moved from class to class. work on projects with students. cover rti homeroom. cover homerooms. provide one on one support for students. Modify test as needed.
Pros
working with many different people
Cons
not enough hours, not compensated for covering and teaching class, forced to belong to union
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good and fun place to work
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSOctober 4, 2015
Good support from my co-worker, enjoy working with students at the schools, that if you show care and love to the students they will listen to you, and do as you asks.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average school district
Spanish I Teacher-Canton Public Schools (Current Employee) –  Canton, MSMay 26, 2015
I learned the importance of keeping students engaged in their lessons in order to produce successful students. I would typically bring the world around us and then allowed my students to create a knowledge base that would allow them to realize the role language plays in communication with others not normally around us. Through games and song, I taught my students how to enjoy their learning and allowed them to realize how even though they were playing a game they were learning how to make connections.
That to me was the most enjoyable part of my job. The "Ahhh!!!" factor.

Other than that, It was just another job.
Pros
student loans paid, decent money
Cons
less than desirable coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Electrician
District Electrician (Current Employee) –  Canton, MAMay 10, 2015
Job has many variable daily work schedules.One day could be rebuilding a fire alarm panel or rebuilding lights to troubleshooting cameras to Winter Snow plowing. Somedays getting town inspections for different things.
Pros
Have town truck while at work
Cons
low on Bennefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome students. Very poor administration...weak.
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canton, MADecember 3, 2014
I did love the students and faculty a lot. The administration was very poor. It seemed that everyone had their own hidden agenda..As an educator I was required to join a union which was pretty useless yet very expensive. The other staff members were dynamite, cooperative and helpful. No better students can be found anywhere. Too much emphasis on paperwork and meetings and not enough focus on the students
Pros
Blue Cross/ Blue Shield Wonderful co-workers. Students willing to learn
Cons
The Union Oppressive administrators
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Eighth Grade Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSApril 3, 2014
Warm friendly environment. The students are very respectful and manageable.
Pros
Great Administration
Cons
Compensation is Low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position gave me an opportunity to teach and coach.
Teacher and Coach (Former Employee) –  Canton, SDFebruary 5, 2013
My position was to teach American Government and begin a high school wrestling team.
Pros
it was a great working situation with a great staff.
Cons
the lack of support by administration in dealing with evaluations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning enviroment
Computer Technology (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSDecember 26, 2012
Enjoy working with children, educating children with the knowledge they need to make it in society
Pros
off for the holidays and summer
Cons
nclbh law
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CANTON Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6

CANTON Public Schools Reviews by Location