Find companies:
Cape Fear Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Cape Fear Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCNovember 7, 2013
Pros: great work enviromenr
Cons: not a lot of interaction with people
i enjoyed my job it was just temporary. i did it as a work study so it only lasted for the semester. the people I worked with were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Part-Time Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 3, 2013
I loved my job and I loved my instructors. I had a lot of hands on individual attention that helped me to advance in my career studies and feel confident. I would recommend this college to anyone who is considering getting a two year degree, diploma, or certificate. I felt like I was around family and that was important to me. My job was amazing and – more... I loved what I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking refresher courses and continuing education classes
Student (Current Employee), Burgaw, NCJune 29, 2013
I needed to become a better typist and become more comfortable in recording daily notes required for each patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace!!
Secretary (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCJune 26, 2013
I really enjoyed working for this company and also being able to have fun while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This College is Operating on Outdated Procedures
Student Development (Current Employee), Student DevelopmentFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: it's a state job with state benefits.
Cons: everything else.
Upper managemnt is out of touch with their staff. They do support their staff. This may be because they are too busy being worried about the security of their own jobs since a new president has recently been hired. This community college does not value its employees and does not foster family values among its employees. Rather it is the opposite. Certain – more... student development employees are required to report to work when the college is closed. This community college pays far less than other community colleges in the state simply because of its location near the beach. College functions which are organized on behalf of the student development department are disorganized, and based on college practices from 30-40 years age. It has become very evident that most upper management throughout CFCC is rapidly approching the point of retiring out of their postions, yet no opportunity for training or advancement has been made for this college's competent middle managment staff. This college of 10,000 full time students does not have any type of established police force. I have personally witnessed a student during registration disclose to everyone that he had just been released from prison and he was going to get his financial aid money as he slammed a door shut, shattering its glass. Contracted security will ignore calls for help from staff because they think they are receiving "prank" calls for help. There are not any identified campus safety plans whatsoever. The best part about my job in student development was helping the students that actually wanted to be there to get an education...not just to collect a big financial aid refund check. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Receiptionist (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCJanuary 18, 2013
Dealing on a daily basis with students and becoming part of their life is the best part of my day. I don't see what I do as work I see it as an adventure
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity
Secretary to VP (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCSeptember 27, 2012
I did general office work: letters, faxes, phone calls. i learned to be thick skinned working with my manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Technology Instructor (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCAugust 22, 2012
I love Cape Fear Community College! I learned how to supervise a small office staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with outstanding bosses
Academic Aide (Current Employee), North CampusJune 30, 2012
Pros: bosses understand a student's schedule and will not overwhelm you, being able to use my skills for future jobs, working with a student is a rewarding experience.
Cons: none.
◆A typical day of work includes getting to my student's class before it starts and getting out the materials I will need to take notes. During the class, I take notes for the lecture as I would in my own class while adding or fixing anything my student feels necessary. If there is an assignment or test during the class period, I write only what my student – more... tells me to and nothing more, as directed by my bosses. After class is over my student's notes must be typed in whatever format requested, edited, and sent as soon as possible.
◆I have learned from this job how to meet deadlines and work as an individual.
◆The managers are the best I have ever had. Very considerate, trusting, and kind. For example, I have to document my own hours and turn in my time sheet and they have praised me about being the only aide they don't have to call to remind to turn in my timesheet on time.
◆The hardest part about this job is attempting to keep up with some teacher's lectures that are scattered in nature. Having to type them later in an organized fashion without missing anything can be time consuming.
◆The most enjoyable part of this job is being able to utilize my typing skills, transcription skills, and interacting with wonderful bosses and students alike. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Student (Current Employee), Wilmington, NCMay 6, 2012
excllent community college with many campasses to better accomidate every student.