Capistrano Unified School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job
Language Assessment Testing Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAOctober 26, 2015
Going out to a different school each day. Some schools more organized than others. Pleasant staff mostly. Children cooperative generally. Repetition of job was oftentimes monotonous. Very easy job. Compensation good.
Pros
working with children
Cons
repetitive speaking was tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
colleagues were challenging
Substitute Student Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CASeptember 29, 2015
As an entry level position within the district, without much opportunity for advancement, the colleagues were not very motivated to be interactive or do their best.
Pros
be around my kids
Cons
short breaks or overlooked
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Instructional Facilitator (Current Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAApril 19, 2015
people and students are awesome to work with.I have learned to work with all sorts of students with all sorts of issues, each and every student is unique.I love interacting with the parents and getting to know them as well.
Pros
nice work invironment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cusd
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Former Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CASeptember 17, 2014
Great place to do substitute teaching. With a Kindergarten to 12th grade list, a different school and class setting everyday.
Pros
great schools
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Capo UnifiedJuly 15, 2014
Substitute for various classes ranging from elementary to high school ages. Specialize in mathematics
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, upbeat, clean and safe environment
Independence Facilitator (Former Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAMarch 4, 2014
Busy workday, feeling sense of accomplishment, working with students and teachers and parents
Pros
large company, busy schedule, good people
Cons
no insurance because called "per diem"
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous academic challenges for all students
Multiple Subject Teacher (Current Employee) –  San Juan CapistranoMarch 1, 2014
Teaching is a rewarding career, and we are able to positively impact the lives of the children we work with. We strive to address the needs of each child, so that they achieve academic success
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Counselor (Current Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CASeptember 30, 2013
I counsel middle school students, I enjoy working with them!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAJune 27, 2013
Teaching is very rewarding. I get to work with great young adults and influence their lives in a positive way.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most enjoyable part of my job
Independence Facilitator/ Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAOctober 9, 2012
I love working with autistic and down syndrome children. I also love animals.
Pros
sick days
Cons
poor at job placement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6

Want to know more about Capistrano Unified School District?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Teacher (Current Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAAugust 28, 2012
The people at Capo are amazing to work with! State budget issues are my only concern and the district has no control over that.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best school district I worked for, 2008 - 09 school year(s)
Substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAAugust 14, 2012
Capistrano Unified placed me on their K thru 12 substitute list around
May '08, I started getting calls to sub and found the enviornment very
condusive to learning. The students at all levels were well mannered
(most of them). The schools, classes and the students are far superior
to what I experienced at the four other O.C. & Inland Empire districts
that I worked for.

I continued to get calls after I relocated to Redlands but, unfortunately,
could not take the them because of the long commute.
Pros
well behaved students
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work schedule
Food Service Employee (Current Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAJuly 19, 2012
CUSD offers a fantastic work environment and excellent pay. Also, good benefit packages are available.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly work enviornment.
Account Clerk II (Former Employee) –  San Juan Capistrano, CAJune 25, 2012
I paid 1,200 full and part-time teachers as well as administrators. They were very easy to work with. I enjoyed interating with the Orange County employees as well.

I enjoyed working with the computer programers as we developed a computer system for the payroll department.

I would be happy to work there again!
Pros
i lived seven minutes from home. i had excellant benefits and work hours.
Cons
my favorite supervisor retired.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture