Find companies:
Capital Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
37 reviews

Capital Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Branch Manager and Lending Leader (Current Employee), TNAugust 21, 2014
Helping customers meet their financial goals . Talking with customer on how we can help them make money, save money and make their money work harder for them. I learned about the loan process and underwriting. Management was willing to help when needed, Co-workers were the best. Nothing was hard about the job, and I loved helping my customers meet their – more... goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast-pace environment, fun
Teller (Former Employee), Naples, FLAugust 19, 2014
Incredible bank to work at, everyone is very team oriented and work together to succeed in our goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Network Administrator (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 28, 2014
 Gave technical support to over 900 users on desktop application and Network issues.
 Involved in bank wide conversion.
 Installed four 4.x Servers.
Maintained and administered 30+ 3.x Servers connected to two AS/400.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed speaking with clients to resolve their banking/escrow questions and speaking with insurance/tax office personnel to help our clients.
Loan Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: almost every month, we would have a pot-luck lunch and celebrate any birthdays.
Cons: being overworked and not having as much time to spend with family.
With the growth of the company, there was a lot of overtime needed to meet the demands...even coming in on weekends. Since I had been there so long, I was able to better serve the customers and they appreciated it. I was told I was their go-to person because even though I may not be able to help, I pointed them in the right direction. Some of the co-workers, – more... although adults, behaved like still in high school. The hardest part was managing 2000 accounts efficiently single-handed. The most enjoyable part was the appreciation expressed that I was able to help the clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst experience of my life
Teller Coordinator (Former Employee), FloridaJuly 4, 2014
Pros: going home..
Cons: working there..
All I have to say is that my time at Capital Bank was quite frankly the worst experience of my life. Good luck to future employees because they're going to need it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
prcoessor (Former Employee), fort Myers, flJune 27, 2014
Pros: benefits and co-workers were they best, some really great people
Cons: management unprofessional
Good company as far as salary and benefits but branch management hired her personal friends for supervisory roles and gave them a lot of power. Some abused their power and made life miserable for employees they didn't like. Very unprofessional place, branch manager was clueless about how to manage and motivate staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space focused on sales and continuing customer relationships
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCJune 26, 2014
Pros: good hours, holiday pay, wonderful customers
Cons: short staffed
A typical day at work would begin by pulling reports from the previous day, for example Overdraft Reports, NSF reports, and Teller Balancing reports. I have learned a tremendous amount at Capital Bank, especially this being my first job in banking. Management in my particular branch couldn't be better. The hardest part of the job is balancing different – more... tasks and completing assignments along with providing the customer in front of you the best customer service possible. The most enjoyable part of my job is the laid back atmosphere and the wonderful customers I see & help on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work, great people
Contractor (Current Employee), Salem, NCJune 19, 2014
This job has been really enjoyable. The people here are very helpful and nice. I would like to work here full time permanent if they had a position open.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to be off on holidays and weekends
csr (Former Employee), TennesseeMay 22, 2014
Pros: pto, holiday pay
Cons: everything else
This place just sucks. You will never advance internally here. Been here 3 years and have not had a raise yet. Been laid off and hired back making less then before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time here
Teller I (Current Employee), Graham, NCApril 16, 2014
They typical day is very busy from the time we hit the door, the customers are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sr. Commercial Portfolio Manager (Former Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 5, 2014
Pros: good community bank trying to go regional.
Cons: pro bank of america management they are trying to get regional
This is a community bank trying to go regional and is trying hard to keep up with old technology.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients say it best "not a real bank" but sure trying to be.
Personal Banker (Former Employee), miami flFebruary 6, 2014
I worked for capital bank in the southeast florida region as a floater. I was priviledged enough to see that it was not only one branch that was having issues, it was the whole bank entirely. Upper management has no idea what they are doing and the clients see it. They sympathize with the employees and know that the company is forcing them to be selling – more... robots instead of the humble servicing employees of the past. The pressure they put on the branch managers is ridiculous, thats the best part of capital bank all the Branch Managers are new for the most part and come from the Chase's and Wells Fargo's and were only hired for the assumption that they know how to sell. Which they don't these branch managers are used to having a significant amount of staff and walk in clients. This does not exist in Capital bank. There is 4-6 employees max in a branch, and don't be a fool a "Teller Coordinator" is a fancy way of saying your a head teller with ALL the work that goes with being an operations manager. The last straw with me and Capital bank was that every branch I worked at had a branch manager harrasing their Banker and tellers as to why they are not producing. Tellers have an immense amount of pressure to sell. The only reason I ever took the Banker job was because I was told by HR "No goals, no commission". Makes sense right? Pleeeaaseee in the six months I was their they changed the goals three times, and still no commission. The last straw with Capital bank was that a manager that had verbally abused every one of his employees, and those who were not ( floaters), went and fired a teller on the spot because she did not feel comfortable doing something he asked her to do with a loan. Which in banking anyone knows aside from a payment or cutting a check she shouldn't be held accountable for that. He went on to tell her she was "ghetto" and "When I say jump your supposed to say how high". Guess when human resources showed up, the day of? Nope even though the staff pleaded for them to come. They went a month later. Repulsive. And of course the BM is still their and the teller is still unemployed and has to live her life explaining to her son she lost her job because she didnt say "how high " when told to jump. Dont go to Capital bank the money and the offer is not worth it. They are going to ultimately sell the bank again regardless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized workplace
Universal Banker (Current Employee), Key West, FLJanuary 3, 2014
Works you like a slave with no breaks. Long shifts, and hardly any training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a so-so bank with limited opportunity
Bank Teller (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLDecember 25, 2013
Pros: great working conditions under metrobank
Cons: too much responsibility for teller under capital bank
Was a Teller for about 7 1/2 years at the Suntrise, Fl. location. Enjoyed my position immensely, great customers and great management under Metro Bank but whem Bank failed, Capital Bank took over and my position was eliminated within a years time. I am quite certain that because I was a senior citizen I was expendable. . My main beef was that nobody – more... stood up for Metro Bank employees during the takeover and a bank of a lesser quality(Turnbery Savings Bank) also a Capital Bank takeover got rid of employees as they wished. Metro Bank never really pushed for Teller's to bring in new business and I believe Capital Bank should have a business development officer for this purpose. Kudos for Charlie Brier and Staff and boos for "napoleon." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse place I ever worked
branch manager (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 13, 2013
Pros: lunch hour, good insurance benefits
Cons: high stress, low morale, unable to take time off due to short staffing
If you live in East Tennessee, do not think about applying here. Current management has no idea what they are doing, and it has ruined this bank. Every office is forced to work shorthanded, to levels where it isn't safe. This bank only cares about one thing, and thats money. They don't care about employees or customers at all. I can't begin to explain – more... all the things I saw from Capital Bank, but I can offer a warning. If they call you for an interview in East Tennessee, thank them for their time, and tell them you aren't interested. You will be much better off in the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
FILE CLERK (Former Employee), raleigh ncNovember 12, 2013
Pros: great enviroment
Cons: temp job
greet downstairs personnel. Quiet enviroment. Organizing loan and credit files for a audit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training does not help in everyday situations
Teller (Former Employee), Jonesborough, TNNovember 8, 2013
Pros: off on holidays, 17 days pto
Cons: constant threats regarding opening new accounts
The training this company provides does help you in everyday situations. I worked there 11 months and was let go because I followed the training I received and it did not correlate with the procedures that the company has in place. Selling accounts is a must. I was constantly threatened with dismissal if I did not have new accounts every week/month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about making a sale
Teller (Current Employee), Greeneville, TNSeptember 21, 2013
Pros: hour lunch; off on federal holidays
Cons: no breaks; you need a sales background; does not pay well
If you are the best teller (balance everyday, great customer interaction, friendly, helpful) it doesn't matter unless you got a person to open an account or referred someone to make an investment. You do not get paid for what you do. I've been with the company for over 7 years but make $3.50 less that a new part time person. This bank requires sales – more... people. The best part of the job is some of the people I work with. Management changes all the time and then they change the rules all the time too.There is a big turn around of tellers because no one wants to do sales. If you are not a sales person don't work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 19, 2013
Started with setting up tellers and their cash drawers. Review of several reports to include overdrawn accounts and contacting clientele and or Lenders accordingly. Servicing customers and prospects throughout the day by phone, email or in person. Excellent team work. The most enjoyable part of the job is assuring client satisfaction within policies – more... and procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balancing Cash Vault
Head Teller (Former Employee), Sunrise FloridaSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: sales awards
Cons: hold up, robbery
Asit customer with deposits and withdrawal, making sure they got full use of all banks products.

About Capital Bank

Capital Bank Corporation owns about a quarter of Capital Bank, NA, which  has more than 140 offices in the Carolinas, Florida, – Read more