Find companies:
Capital One
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,641 reviews

Capital One Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Field Technician Unisys Technical Services (Former Employee), Fairfax VA. MD Lanham all over the USADecember 4, 2014
Pros: they do have their own cafeteria you don't have to go out of the building
Cons: must people came to your office to ask questions they never call.
Working at the Head Quarters as I was has been nice you deal with professionals individuals, you don't have to mention any explanation giving to workers twice once and that was it, not like other companies I have work that some people don't have any idea to what their doing.

The head quarters is located at County of Fairfax Virginia
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun culture
Project Manager intern (Former Employee), richmond, virginiaDecember 3, 2014
Fun culture but as an entry job it doesn't really challenge you too much. Communication could be improved, but at company this large they do alright.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, youthful, analytical environment
Sr. Process Manager/ Change Manager (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEDecember 3, 2014
Cons: under paid according to market value
Capital One is a analytical persons dream destination. Within the organization there resides many great thinkers who are looking to make a difference within their respective roles and projects. With this you have various pockets of strategic execution teams, exceptional data miners, and very strong technology team. The management structure is one that – more... allows you to lead and carve out your next steps within your career. That is the part of the job that I loved the most. The ability utilize my drive, knowledge, and natural skills to build a brand for myself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office culture, respective to employees and provides opportunites for developement and advancement
Senior Frontline Specialist (Current Employee), Glen AllenDecember 3, 2014
typically call center job. it was challenging to deal with unsatisfied customers at times but we usually had tools available to us to resolve service issues. members of leadership were interactive and very involved in daily operations. overall good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital one
Fraud Account Supervisor (Former Employee), tampaDecember 1, 2014
Pros: free coffe
Cons: no up ward advance ment dead in postions in the tampa office
My experience with capital one was a unique experience working in the fraud division I was able to see 1st hand how people commit credit card fraud. however the process in place to catch the bad guys impacts the normal customers on a huge scale I would say half of the time I was de-escalating a upset customer who was at Wal-Mart trying to make a 300 – more... dollar purchase that we declined. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Teller (Former Employee), Montgomery Village, MDDecember 1, 2014
Capital One Bank has a great culture and I enjoyed my time there. They give their employees the opportunity to interact with their customers and learn what is important to them. Capital One Bank encourages their employees to do well and gives their employees the opportunity to advance in the organization
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement limited based on State
Branch Manager (Current Employee), Sea Girt, NJDecember 1, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: no work/life balance; limited opportunities for advancement depending on what state you are in.
Medium sized company; with good benefits but very limited career opportunities depending on what state one is in. Work/Life balance almost non-existent for anyone in management role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy Customers
collections (Former Employee), owasso,okNovember 30, 2014
Loves working with guest while showing empathy and sympathy knowing that all customers is important no matter what the situation is. knowing that I can pass this on to the person that needs a job and to tell how wonderful the job is and how amazing the co-workers are and also the mangers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, career advancement opportunities, flexible work schedule for banking
Teller Manager II/ Relationship Banker (Former Employee), Germantown, MDNovember 28, 2014
Capital One has a lot to offer it's employees when working there. The career advancement was wonderful especially since the bank is continuing to grow. The management is fair and I learned a lot while working with them. The benefits especially the vacation/sick leave was wonderful even if you are just starting with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knolls Richmond
Sr. Operations Development Coordinator (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 26, 2014
Requires a HS diploma and thats what you get. No true leaders, poor management selection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXNovember 25, 2014
Pros: loved pretty much everything here
Cons: some late nights and weekends but expected in this industry
This is a great place to work, the worst move I ever made was leaving for a new opportunity, now I live in an area they don't have offices and I would love to work with them again, the auto side was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great comp
Sr. Post Funding Specialist (Former Employee), Plano, TXNovember 25, 2014
great company to work for with plenty job advancement opportunties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital One
Wire Clerk (Current Employee), Richmond, VANovember 24, 2014
Pros: educational assistance
Cons: promotions & development
A typical day at work:
• Training, management of primary job functions.

What you learned:
Learned to create spreadsheets & create reports.

Management
• It would be great to partner with management to create other developmental opportunities.

Your co-workers:
• I love my co-workers and I’m a team player.

The hardest part of the job:
• Repetitive – more... nature of my work.

The most enjoyable part of the job:
• Training and taking a lead role within my group. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee outings
Relationship Banker (Former Employee), Valley Cottage, NYNovember 23, 2014
Pros: great leadership/management
Great Company to Work for. They treat their employees well!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking Operations
Branch Balancing Process Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 22, 2014
In my current position I manage GL account reconciliations and maintain an audit compliant department. I manage a strong team of 8 associates who consistently meet management and department expectations. Together we ensure customers cash deposits in ATM's as well as branch locations are posted timely and accurately into their banking accounts. We also – more... assist retail associates with recovering outages and minimizing theft. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and fast pace
QUALITY ASSURANCE ANALYST (INTERNSHIP) (Former Employee), Wilmington, DENovember 22, 2014
Pros: great team, great working environment, and love the set schedule
I really enjoyed Capital One it was my first Career based job and I loved the fact that it was an 8 to 4 Monday to Friday set schedule .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Work Day
GCS Banker (Former Employee), Irving, TXNovember 22, 2014
Pros: gourmet breakfast & lunch, great pay
Cons: short breaks, management
A day at Capital One would consist of 100+ incoming calls from customers requesting information about their account. These calls could range from normal checking account balance calls to transferring IRA information. It was a very comfortable setting with alot of activities to do during break and lunch such playing pool, "nap" room, and customer appreciation – more... days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibilities high
Teller I (Former Employee), Napoleonville, LANovember 21, 2014
Learned about keeping information confidential, a typical day at work consisted of cashing checks and making deposits. Also, balancing drawer at the end of each day. Had amazing co-workers that helped whenever it was needed and made work fun and enjoyable!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for banker experience
FOREIGN CURRENCY TELLER (Former Employee), Richmond, VANovember 21, 2014
It's a great place to work to get into all different aspects of banking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with sharp people
Relationship Manager (Former Employee), Plano, TXNovember 19, 2014
Pros: job security and great working environment with lots of toys/technology
Cons: at times you can feel like just a number as this is a very analytical organization
This organization is filled with the best and brightest... once you work here everyone else will try to recruit you!

About Capital One

Capital One isn't just concerned with what's in your wallet; it's interested in your bank account as well. The company is best – Read more