Capital One Employee Reviews

Found 2,408 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Branch Manager I (Former Employee) –  Howard Beach, NYJanuary 14, 2016
A typical day at work starts off with a huddle with my team mates to inform them of any new changes with policy and procedures, along with our monthly progress and where the branch stands. We would discuss any thing that my team mates need to discuss. Once the branch opens the doors I would go around doing quick observations of my tellers and bankers to see if they are following Capital One's customer service standard. Once completed I would review all the accounts that were opened up the day prior along with checking to make sure the branch's operations were being done correctly. I managed a team of 13, and my team was great. They learned to work as team and over come obstacles together. the most enjoyable part of my job was seeing my employees with a smile on their face when they were able to help a customer with an issue they had with a little guidance from me. Along with watching my teammates grow and move on to promotions was the best feeling.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Layoffs for almost 17 years
Customer Service Coordinator, Application Manager (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORJanuary 14, 2016
Loved that job, I am going to miss it for a long time. Every day is a challenge. Never Get Bored. If I hadn't gotten laid off I would never have left.

I have had the opportunity to work with many wonderful people. I hope I get to work with you again.
Pros
Coworkers, Managers
Cons
Reviews based Subjective Evaluation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work at
MORTGAGE POST CLOSING COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 13, 2016
The company has a lot of diversity which is one of its principles , always an open door policy with all management and its easy to work with others as each individual assists each other
Pros
alot of family oriented activities
Cons
fewc sick pay days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and expansive area, computers
Fraud Disputes Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJanuary 13, 2016
I loved Capital One, don't get me wrong; coming in for 5 days 1pm-10pm was a great job, great pay, benefits; but two factors always hit me hard. Call Quota wasn't something I was well prepared for, and looking back, I could have done 5x better, and plan to if I ever find myself back there. The only other problem I had was I felt like one of a million instead of 1 of a few. When there's so many people that work in the same area for so long with around 4-5 managers around, you feel like less of you and more like everyone else. You can easily become unnoticed, even when you've reached a goal and achieved something pinnacle to your job. Answering Phones and greeting people day to day, helping them solve all their problems (account management, disputes, fraud, tough merchants) made me really feel fulfilled.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Relationship Banker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 12, 2016
I loved working for capital one it was a start up branch the team was great . Goals were resonable and the incentive program wis fair .
Pros
incentive program
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate enviornment
Senior Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 12, 2016
Great learning opportunity. Good Co-workers. Exceptional work life balance and flexibility. Good benefits. Often had free lunch at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And Fun Workplace
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJanuary 12, 2016
A day at Capital One, logging into the virtual phone after signing onto the dual monitors and assisting customers with new and existing accounts. Also engaging with teammates in scheduled meetings that occur weekly. The hardest part of the job was learning to deal with each customer and their personality the right way. I enjoyed Capital One.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Corporate Environment
Fraud Recovery Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 12, 2016
Capital One is a very diverse and great place to work for a corporate setting. Typical day is work random fun and games and work again! Management is pretty easy going and the co workers make the job fun and the work hours go by quick. Hardest part is withstanding the cool temps from the ac.. keeping the computers cool, and I would say the best part is the fun and easy environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
xxxxx (Current Employee) –  xdddJanuary 10, 2016
Awesome management and good people.Work life balance is there.Appreciation for work done is frequent.overall good experience working at this place
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORJanuary 9, 2016
Capital One took care of their employees even after they decided to close states call center to outsource to foreign country.
Pros
Healthy cafeteria, monthly company funded team activities, good benefits
Cons
Digital driven philosophy leading to elimination of jobs.Deplete customer service experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days at Capital One
IT Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 9, 2016
My team worked together as and that was very impressive. At Capital One, the team I was working in created our own policy called "all hand on," meaning everyone needs to contribute bit by bit to meet the deadline for every project. I really don't remember having any hard time at work because every day was a great day for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Lead Teller (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDJanuary 8, 2016
Open branch, check logs, stock stations, review lobby, morning huddles. Set Goal for the day. Help customers, look for cues , satisfy customer's needs. Learn new products or benefits. Inform co-workers of any change in policies, or logs. The most enjoyable part of the job was enjoy the time working with my co-workers and helping customers.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
interruptions on lunch time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, diverse, loud and exciting coworkers
Inbound Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 7, 2016
The work place provided was very comfortable, competitive, and moral was mostly high. There was a committee that made sure there was recognition, functions, and celebrations throughout every month. Management was very fair and kept good track of our goal and objectives. It's a shame the departments closed and the division moved.
Pros
Team atmosphere
Cons
inside sales
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace I've experienced
Customer Service Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  St. Cloud, MNJanuary 6, 2016
This place literally has it all. Ping pong table, Pool Table, amazing break rooms and most importantly amazing coworkers and management. You are divided into sales teams and compete on sales and customer service every day. It's great being around so many people and not actually having a script when you're talking on the phone, you can be real with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a teller associate
Teller Associate (Former Employee) –  Galliano, LAJanuary 6, 2016
With any job there is tension that arises from customers or out of balance in your cash drawer, but with a talented manager to help smooth things out in his/her opinion or knowledge goes without a hitch. On a daily basis you are challenged with customers who just want simple guidance or fast and easy service to access their accounts with out any hassle. I have learned over the years that as a consumer and an employee to be acknowledge is key to making everyone happy in the end. The co-workers should always help each other out in a civil manner not delegate on time limits of how much a person knows. The most difficult situation I have came across is having an irate person blame you for their mistake. My most enjoyable part of being a teller was knowing that at the end of my day, I helped someone gain knowledge of how banking works and how much more they can accomplish at saving or investing.
Pros
excellent bonuses
Cons
making referrals quotas
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capital One
Fraud Account Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 5, 2016
Good place to work but no jobs opportunities. Great people, great hours for any lifestyle. They have nice party and events for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work with high focus on Customer Experience
Hadoop Developer (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 4, 2016
Capital One acquired HSBC's North America Card Business with over 50M Credit Cards in 2012.

Great place to work, better if you are at the headquarters in VA, but really took care of the employees in every way. Very transparent, and very high care for customers. Out of the 5 acquisitions I have been a part of, they were the very best in their customer focus.

Loved the people, loved the work, and added a ton of value to the organization! They are a great company, did the right thing all the time, and most of all made sure the customer experience was something to be proud of.
Pros
Very supportive of their people, associates person life, and customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive call center
Senior Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 3, 2016
it was a very professional environment. I really enjoyed the working for the company. The call volume was very large. Overall I enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive place to work
Senior Document Control Representative (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 1, 2016
The folks within Capital One are awesome, never worked a place where everyone got along so well and operated as a unit apposed to being totally separate
Pros
really cool management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever
Fraud Detection Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORDecember 31, 2015
I would still be working for them if the Tigard work site hadn't closed. They respect their employees and listen to us. The pay was great, as well as the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,485 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture